1985 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1985 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

A great bargain for the 300 dollars

Faults:

Fuel pump died when got, since replaced.

Replaced all spark plugs, wires, cap and rotor.

Alternator was fixed at 104000mi.

Takes a while for oil pressure to build up.

I replaced the thermostat just last month and now runs like brand new.

General Comments:

This car has been really good to me and has not had any serious problems.

I think this car has a lot of pickup for its age.

It is really reliable and will last longer than many new cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

1985 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance100700 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Radiator had to be replaced. Other small ignition problems, volt. regulator, alternator, starter relay.

General Comments:

This car is a blast to drive! I have made some performance upgrades, but even in stock form this car really goes! In my opinion one of the best vehicles ford ever built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

1985 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

If you want a fast car buy a Mustang, but if you want a slow car buy a Honda

Faults:

Considering that the car was driven like it was made to be the only thing that went wrong was the passenger side head gasket blew September 30, 2002. Other than that the car has ALWAYS held up to the abuse.

General Comments:

I am the second owner. My father purchased the car brand new in 1985. Right now it is all stock except for the rims which are aftermarket. It is quicker than a lot of stock Mustangs that I raced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1985 Ford Mustang GT Cobra 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A fun car to drive

Faults:

Put new heater core and a 3 core radiator right after I bought the car. Other than regular maintenance the car is maintenance free.

Replaced dash and arm pads. NOT one of Ford's better ideas as they all crack and dry up.

General Comments:

Car has awesome power for a stock motor. I used to own a 475HP Torino that used to run in the low 12's, though not as quick it is impressive. Car is a hoot to drive, get lots of thumbs up signs!! Car is in almost show room condition and I do put it in car shows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

1985 Ford Mustang LX 5.8L Windsor from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.8L Windsor Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99837 miles
Most recent distance132944 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A wild ride only affordable to run on weekends!!!

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car all in all it runs great,

The original 302 blew the head gaskets. Other than that it ran great!

General Comments:

I put a 351 Windsor in it on 10/2/02 it only had 72313 miles on it.

It has a FMX transmission in it which has been pretty durable throughout its abuse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

1985 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 V6 carburator from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 carburator Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Like I said, the look of a sports car with the ride of a luxury sedan

Faults:

Nothing major has happened with this car, just the normal wear and tear that occurs when you buy any used vehicle. I wouldn't trade it for anything. Well, maybe a 2002 Ford Mustang!

General Comments:

A beautiful car with a smooth ride. It accelerates like a dream. It has the look of a sports car with the ride and feel of a luxury sedan. And boy listen to that engine roar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2002

1985 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Fun to drive with a sports car feel

Faults:

Nothing major. Replaced the battery, TPS and alternator.

General Comments:

A good car for anyone who wants sturdy transportation with a little excitement.

Accelerates quickly and really likes to go. Fuel injection is good with none of the problems of carburettors of years past.

For a 16 year old car she runs daily and doesn't leak anywhere.

Ford needs to go back to rear wheel drive with the rest of its cars. Compared to my front wheel drive Audi, this car steers much lighter (as the whole drive train is not over the front wheels) and stops quickly.

To sum it up: A great car without the thirst of the V-8, but still with some fun in driving with the V-6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

23rd Jan 2002, 22:59

Just an update on this pony. She now has 150,000 and still running as good as ever. Buy one of these and you will be a happy owner. They just run and run.

28th Dec 2003, 23:11

Another update: She has 160,000 miles and still is going strong. I change her oil regularly and don't beat the car to death. Buy one and you will be able to get to where you are going. We have a 2001 Chevrolet we bought new and it won't start at times and GM says "tough, that's the way the theft ignition system works. Just let it sit with the key on for 20 minutes and it will start again" Never had to do that with the Mustang.

9th Oct 2004, 20:20

Just passed 166000 and still going strong.

Ignition lock cylinder is being replaced, but a 166000 who can complain!

I think if you change the oil regularly in one of these mustangs they will go forever.

7th Aug 2005, 10:31

Just passed 175000 miles and still going strong. I drive this little pony about 250 miles a week and never a problem. New ignition switch was installed last October and we're off an running again. Never touched the engine, transmission, brakes our such in 43000 miles I have owned the car. Wish I could find another with low mileage and buy it.

1985 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car.

General Comments:

This car is quick, and throws you back in your seat, it sounds great and looks mean, I have recently added a few performance parts to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews