1988 Ford Orion Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Ford Orion 1600E 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Quick luxury mini limo

Faults:

2 wheel bearings.

Replaced original distributer @ 114,000.

Driver and passenger seats need re-trimming.

Corrosion on the drivers door.

General Comments:

This car is pretty quick considering it is so old, but I will have to move onto something sportier.

The boot space is massive, easily handles holiday luggage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

1988 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles

Summary:

Quick, reliable, comfortable, understated bargain

Faults:

Fuel filter split (clutch lever was rubbing on it).

Water hose split.

Faulty fuel computer (instant/average MPG readings faulty).

General Comments:

Excellent car. Original engine/head/gearbox/clutch and still going very strong at 153000 miles. Replaced rear arches before I brought it, absolutely standard car. Would almost touch 60 in 2nd, 90 something in 3rd, 115 in 4th, on a long straight I had the speedo on 132mph. Used no oil, I serviced it every 6000 miles (serviced by myself - just oil/filters, everything else was changed/serviced when I felt it was necessary). Economy wasn't so good, but it was driven hard (averaged 28-32mpg, less around town).

Cam followers were slightly worn, ticked slightly whilst warm and at tickover. Sounded sweet at tickover when cold, idled at around 850rpm. If you get one, wind down the window and boot it in 2nd, changing to 3rd at around 4000rpm. Sounds sweet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2000

14th Feb 2001, 03:54

You never got 132MPH, there's no way that an old banger like that did 132MPH when a Fiesta Turbo just does 130MPH. I had my Orion with a XR2 engine doing 130MPH, but I spent a lot of money on it.

28th Feb 2003, 19:46

Ever heard of speed meter error? my friends sierra "went" to 135mph, but my police calibrated speed meter only went to 120mph when following. oh and the 1.6i is more powerful then the XR2 engine.

1st Oct 2004, 16:20

I hate to drat on your chips, but there is a fault with these speedometers, my 1.4 Orion was being overtaken by trucks while my speedo was showing 100 mph. Try giving the dash a sharp Whack every now and then. Worked with me!

13th Dec 2008, 16:11

"You never got 132MPH, there's no way that an old banger like that did 132MPH when a Fiesta Turbo just does 130MPH. I had my Orion with a XR2 engine doing 130MPH, but I spent a lot of money on it."

Notice I said "on a long straight I had the **speedo** on 132mph"? Where did I state this was a totally accurate representation of the actual speed of the vehicle?

"What a load of rubbish, my orions got a cam, filter, exhaust and a chip and with half the mileage, goes like stink but doesn't get anywhere near 132mph mate!!"

As above. And I should point out that mine also had a cam, filter, exhaust and chip - they all did!

"I hate to drat on your chips, but there is a fault with these speedometers, my 1.4 Orion was being overtaken by trucks while my speedo was showing 100 mph. Try giving the dash a sharp Whack every now and then. Worked with me!"

The speedo was as accurate as any other car. It certainly wasn't out enough to be overtaken by lorries whilst reading 100mph! 60mph on the clock and it was going faster than lorries...

"In oder to achieve such speeds, you will need something in the range of 200bhp."

Totally untrue. A 167bhp Mondeo will nudge 140mph, likely 150mph on the clock. A 130bhp 205GTi would do a solid 130mph, again, likely more on the clock.

1988 Ford Orion LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Faults:

Ball joints, heaters stopped working, steering linkage, handbrake cable snapped, shocks.

General Comments:

This has got to be the dullest car I have ever driven, the low driving position made for an un-nerving drive on motorways, people always say "get a Ford or a Vauxhall cos the parts are cheap"...... I've had every Ford car now..... and I've hated them all. Reliable though...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 1999

1988 Ford Orion L 1.6 carb petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6 carb petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

I bought this car 2 years ago, and since then I've had to replace the brakes all round, all the shocks, the exhaust, the rear tyres, the battery and the driveshaft oil seals. The rear wheel arches are rusting badly and I had to have the floor welded at the last MOT. The gearbox is about to give up along with the driveshafts.

General Comments:

Despite the fact that the car has covered nearly 100,000 miles it starts first time (after replacing the battery). It's a really good car on motorway journeys and it is very easy to work on. Parts are cheap and easily available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

1988 Ford Orion Ghia I 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

At 109,000 miles, requires new gearbox bearings. Brakes need attention. Rear C/L Modules not working.

General Comments:

At 109,000 miles, IMMACULATE BODY AND CHASSIS, no RUSTING, no corrosion. Engine rattles slightly (probably cause I thrash the pants off it!), but purrs like a kitten. RS body kit gives it that sexy look. Overall, my dream car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

30th Aug 2001, 12:07

A good car. Yes, I like it a lot. It's precious.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews