1989 Ford Orion Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1989 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6 i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

As good as a XR3i, but cheaper on insurance

Faults:

Starter motor went faulty.

Oil switch leaked (common fault).

Boot central locking mechanism stopped working.

General Comments:

The car drives well, could do with a turbo engine to make it a bit quicker.

I got rid of the standard Ghia front seats & replaced with Impreza STi seats to hold me in round tight corners.

Very reliable car, I'm planning on keeping this car for a while.

Would definitely buy another Ghia again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1989 Ford Orion EFI Ghia 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It was my little big monster, very fast and devilish

Faults:

The sunroof refused to open.

Constant oil leak.

Car was too low to the ground, so I had to drive over speed humps slowly.

The electric mirrors didn't work.

Central Locking didn't work.

General Comments:

Very fast car, I really do miss it.

The exhaust was a bit noisy but I didn't mind.

It got me from A to B quickly.

The trip computer was extremely useful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2001

14th Sep 2001, 13:06

I've got this car and I would not change it for anything. I was think of getting a new car, but I just got the RS Bodykit for it and it's given it a face lift, now it's OK good, sounds good, and the performance is there as well.

1989 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6 EFI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

A superb motor

Faults:

Oil rings needed to be replaced as there was some blue smoke on start up.

The main chip that controls the EFI system became faulty, but was proved to be an intermittent fault.

The shocks, and bushes are due to be replaced.

General Comments:

I'm very impressed with this car, the performance and handling is good. It is slower than my first car, BMW 525, but way faster than the Nova.

I've seen 135mph on the clock, which isn't that bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

23rd May 2001, 08:26

You'd never get 135Mph out of that standard, I had my one with a turbo, and it done 140 Mph so dream on. GET YOUR SPEEDO CHECKED MATE.

28th May 2001, 06:01

Although the other comment was a bit blunt, he does have a point. I've got the 1993/1994 Orion Ghia, with the 16v 1.6i ZETEC engine and she only goes 116mph top speed, which is the claimed highest official (non-modified) top speed of the vehicle anyway.

Even the 1.8si version of the same year (again Zetec) only does 130mph (or something VERY close to that)

12th Jun 2001, 14:03

I've had 125MPH from a 1991 1.8 Ghia, with 105 HP.

21st Sep 2001, 02:47

Read a report from What Car circa 1986 where they road tested new XR3i. The indicated speed from the speedo was 132 mph... but actual speed using measuring equipment was... approx 115mph as per the manufacturer, so dream on, speedos only have to be accurate up to 70-80 by law to a close %, above that the accuracy can't be guaranteed...

3rd Oct 2001, 09:36

I've had an Orion 1.6 EFi. I got 123mph flat out at about 5800rpm, my mate has the MFi 1988 and he had 126mph on the clock. Now I know they're not accurate, I have an RS Turbo now and that's been off the clock! But a standard Orion, 130+ with a Ferrari pushing you!!

29th Jan 2007, 15:09

As he said: It was ON THE CLOCK, not according to any other measuring devices.

1989 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired83616 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A competent and quick car

Faults:

After I had had the car a year all the following happened within 3 months of each other.

Timing belt snapped - new engine (with uprated head gasket & internals).

Gearbox internals disintegrated!! - secondhand gearbox.

Suspension collapsed on the driver's side - new Jamex 60mm suspension kit.

General Comments:

After I had sorted all of the above problems & added several more upgrades (Peco BB4 exhaust, K&N 57i air filter etc.), the Orion was one of the most fun cars I have driven, it sounded and cornered spot-on but could have done with a bit more grunt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2001

1989 Ford Orion 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maestro

Summary:

I got a bargain

Faults:

Leaks like an old boat, pools of water under the passenger seat and in the passenger footwell.

Heating fan not up to the job of clearing condensation first thing on cold wet mornings.

Some rust on the rear wheel arches.

Replaced the starter module.

Exhaust needs constant attention, badly designed and appears to hang very low.

Attracts car thieves.

General Comments:

Very sturdy and reliable engine, idles very smoothly although in very wet weather it may chug a bit.

Likes the open road and it has plenty of power to overtake.

I like the car in the Summertime but in the rainy season, I'd prefer to leave it parked up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews