1997 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1997 Ford Probe GT 2.5 DOHC V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17689 miles
Most recent distance92682 miles

Summary:

Remarkable

Faults:

Some things wrong with the car are:

1. The Air conditionaing and heating vents are cheap and fall apart to easily.

2. The frame-less windows aren't the best, the rubber window sill needs to be replace after so many years.

3. The center console needs to be made better.

4. In general A lot of the parts inside the car feel cheap.

5. The leather seats aren't of the best quality. (They crack to easy)

6. The factory paint is awful, and will have to be re-painted after about 6-7 years. (Scratches easily)

General Comments:

I have always wanted a Probe and will most defiantly keeps this one until it dies.

Don't get me wrong, this is a great reliable car, and the steering is exceptional. However, it lacks build quality, and durability. It is VERY responsive and quick (GT, V6) but, whatever you do don't get an automatic, 5 speeds are much more reliable and add to the sporty nature of the car. The looks of the car are ingenious; this car never goes out of style.

All in all the probe is a great car. Defiantly a 9 out of ten.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

18th Mar 2005, 07:35

This reviewer is defiantly stupid.

1997 Ford Probe SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Diamante

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Where do I start!

Both rear axles needed to be replaced.

The shocks that hold the hatchback up no longer work.

No air conditioning - approximately $1500.00 to get fixed.

Clutch went out - no estimates, not fixed; just happened.

General Comments:

Although the car looks sharp and sporty I'm still trying to find the power that everybody seems to be ranting and raving about! In the SE model there are absolutely no extras. No power windows, power locks... I don't even have rear defrost.

The one good thing I can say about this car is that the gas mileage is excellent, by far the most gas-efficient car I've driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

24th Jan 2005, 08:15

If you wanted power you should have gotten the V6.

As it is, sounds like you got a strippo base model (hope it was cheap!). If you can afford it, you should trade it in for something you like.

Life's too short to drive crappy cars, even ones that get good gas mileage.

24th Jan 2005, 11:29

I have a 93 Ford Probe SE and I have all power.

But I do agree it's no worth the money.

My car has many simple problems that is expensive to fix or hard to find because they have discontinued the parts.

2nd Apr 2005, 12:58

The Fprd Probe does not have rear axles.

It has McPherson struts.

14th May 2005, 14:34

If you find it hard to get parts, try a Mazda dealer, as the Mazda MX-6 shares most mechanical parts with the Probe and most are still stocked.

1997 Ford Probe GTS 2.5 DOHC Quad Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC Quad Cam Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A Budget Sleeper that will surprise those around you

Faults:

Transmission blew out at 126k miles. Mechanic. said this was EXTREMELY common for probes with the auto. anywhere after 50k.

Slight water pump leak, dumped some stop leak in and its been fine for 2 months now.

General Comments:

This is my second probe. first was a turbo 89 5 speed. I got 325k miles out of it. I have always loved the fluid design of the newer probes so when I saw my GTS I HAD to have it.

The first gens ARE faster, but are rather square and ugly compared to second gens. the ride is smooth and tight, YES you feel every bump, but not like someone is hitting your butt with a hammer... you can feel the road contours well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2003

1997 Ford Probe GTS 2.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68 miles
Most recent distance76 miles

Summary:

A great sports car!

Faults:

The things that have gone wrong with my Probe are all from the dealers working on it for "Routine" things. I took my car to two dealers, and I got it back with more problems then it went in for. I had to take my car to one dealer 6 times before they finally figured out what was wrong. And it was the 02 cartridge. I said Well, I am not wasting my time with you people anymore, I will handle it myself. It is crazy having to take it back so many times.

General Comments:

I love my car. I want to keep it forever. It is an all around terrific car. A lot of people like it too.

Hell, my Dad wishes it was still his...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews