1990 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9L from North America


Best vehicle I have ever bought.


The AC never worked well from the day I picked it up from the Dealer.

Nothing major happened until I reached around 170,000 miles, then the transmission broke down. I can't complain about that.

I still own this Truck and I am very pleased with it's performance over the past 13 years.

General Comments:

For Dependability you can't beat the 2.9L engine. I have 248,678 miles on it now and it still starts right up, even on a very cold morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

1990 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9L V6 from North America


This little truck is tight...I'd buy another if it was as good as this one!


At 90K miles, changed clutch and slave cylinder.

Transmission developed a leak, still can't find the source!

Original radio/cassette player still works, but the lights don't...don't know what station I'm listening to or which way the tape is running, also had to replace the rear speakers.

Front end vibrates a bit when coming to a stop.

At 135K miles, oil pick-up screen got clogged and lost oil pressure.

Windshield leaks on upper drivers side, enough to stain the headliner.

General Comments:

Being a "backyard mechanic", I don't consider any of these faults to be major.

This little truck has been very reliable, from towing my 16' boat, to some mild off-road adventures, to being an everyday driver. It was well worth the 8,000 dollars I paid for it!

On the down side though, the rear end is a bit light in the snow, even in 4-wheel drive, and the seats are uncomfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2002

25th Jan 2004, 19:23

About the lights on the radio. Try flicking the casette door a couple of time or inserting a casset several times. This worked for me, I went about two years before I figured it out.

11th Mar 2005, 00:03

I owned a 1990 Ranger I put a 3inch body lift and an 8inch suspension lift so I could run 36inch super swamper's, all I can say is what a tuff truck I put it through some hard trails and it never let me down. The lights on the radio never worked so what it CD's now. The only problem I really had was the lug nuts coming loose I think it was the tires being so big.

16th Jun 2005, 22:01

What was done about the Oil pickup screen?

1990 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 from North America


The only way to kill it, is to roll it over a cliff


Not a whole lot has gone wrong. The water pump gasket failed in June of 2000. Due to the complexity of the job, I went ahead and replace both the pump and the gasket. The "check engine and anti lock brak lights remain lit constantly. The mechanism inside the recline of the drivers seat has faied. I am on my second clutch.

General Comments:

Eternal reliability! I have never owned a vehicle that was so reliable. My truck uses no oil between changes. The paint looks new. (I use pro gold every spring) I drive the vehicle from Portland to Lake Tahoe and back 4 times per year. No trouble climbing the 7,000 ft summit. I will get 300k out of this truck. No problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

1990 Ford Ranger Custom 4X4 2.9L from North America


A fun and reliable truck


Transmission seized at 160,000 miles. Replaced with a remanufactured tranny along with a new clutch.

Water pump began to leak at 165,000 miles.

Paint is in really bad condition.

Immediately replaced the Firestone Wilderness tires with Futura tires.

Head gaskets leak oil on a regular basis. Oil pan gasket leaks oil too.

The emergency brake and anti-lock brake light remain on when the motor is running.

General Comments:

I really like this truck because it is highly reliable and fun to drive.

The 4WD works on demand every time. I'm constantly driving from Los Angeles to the Eastern Sierra Nevadas and I am to yet to get stuck.

Cab is a little tight for long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

24th Oct 2002, 11:40

Yeah the same thing with the brakes happened to me. the rear anti-lock light stays on. Also I think the parking brake only works on one wheel. I have a ticking noise on mine too. I also dislike the push-button 4WD. But I have to agree, it is a very fun truck to drive.