1983 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1983 Ford Sierra Ghia 5 door 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Solid and durable

Faults:

Auto gearbox water ingress requiring a rebuild. This happened twice (once in my ownership) and water got in via the oil filler tube.

Front shocks and rubber bushes in the steering.

Head gasket blew at 160,000 miles.

Plug leads don't last long.

General Comments:

Generally reliable and can be worn out unobtrusively.

No significant rust at all in 17 years! Early cars c. 1983 have good build quality and high quality steel bodywork.

Single OHC is engine easy to work on and service.

Comfort levels are high in the Ghia model.

Still drives smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

1983 Ford Sierra Ghia 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

A reliable old friend who won't let you down

Faults:

Electronic ignition module replaced, 1993.

Third gear became noisy, replaced with a five speed box, 1990.

Front brake discs replaced 3 times due to warping, 1990.

Replaced valve seals, 1995.

Steering rack replaced, 1998.

General Comments:

Originally cost me £3600.

A great car, it just keeps on going and going. I only hope my next car is as good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2000

20th Jan 2001, 15:08

There is usually one cause for discs warping: binding brake pads.

Remedy: remove the pads, carefully scrape the alloy oxide off the caliper where the pads slide, and smear these surfaces with a thin coating of copper-based grease. Greasing the pad locating pins is also a good idea. Avoid getting grease on the discs or brake pad friction material.

1983 Ford Sierra XR4i 2.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
Engine and transmission 2.8i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Current mileage - 86k miles.

Track control arm bushes replaced, gearbox overhauled, exhaust system replaced, leaking radiator, clutch pedal rachet.

General Comments:

This vehicle must be one of the most underrated of the Ford range. Ignore the boy racer looks and image, this is a truly addictive car. If you see one for sale, take a test drive and you will see what I mean. Not to be confused with the sanitised XR4x4 (1985 on), which was both slower, less purposeful looking and had the added complexity and expense of 4x4 - if a BMW is the Ultimate Driving Machine, then why have they never gone down the front wheel drive or 4x4 route on their flagship models? I rest my case... :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2000

11th Dec 2000, 19:24

I have Sierra XR4i 1992 2.0 DOHC from Spain. I am very happy, it is faster because I have modified the motor and vehicle.

30th Apr 2005, 06:30

I need pictcer of Ford sierra XR4i 1990 to 1992.

1st Jun 2005, 16:43

I've had several XR4i's, I agree they are totally underrated and under valued, great cars, and at the time Ford were building them, they were the fastest production car the company had ever built.

However I do not agree with your comments about the XR4x4 version, I now have a late model 2.9 4x4 version, it is slightly slower in a straight line, but more than makes up for this in the corners or when the weather is bad.

Who knows why BMW don't make a 4x4, but they are by no means the closing authority on car design, lagging behind many manufacturers in many design areas.

Check out any motor sport where different drive systems are allowed in the same event and see where the 4x4's come in the points and you may be more forgiving.

The XR4i is still one of my favorite 80's Fords, becoming more and more scarce and overshadowed as it is by the Cosworth versions its likely to stay in the shadows unfortunately, one day we will wake up and wonder where they have all gone I'm sure.

19th Jul 2005, 12:29

Hi. I have got hold of one, and I agree that it is a very addictivating car and the more You drive it, the more You need to take another spin. Mine has not been modified and just by the looks and sound, it has become a "head-turner". No matter where I drive it, someone comments the car. This is very satisfying ;-) Also a lot of BMWs want to race when they see the car, so someone has not forgotten this car's potential even though it is more than twenty years old. At least this is the case here in Denmark.

23rd Jul 2006, 07:01

X3's and X5's have 4wd.

2nd Jan 2009, 14:10

My 84 XR4i is a fully restored and tuned midnight blue rust free beast, and if you don't own one, get one and it will be the best thing you will ever own.

3rd Jan 2009, 12:36

Taking the air box top off will cause car to splutter and a low drop in speed.

1983 Ford Sierra 1.6 petrol from Bulgaria

Year of manufacture1983
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

I have owned this car for 4 years. In that time the following has gone wrong:

1. The vacuum system for hot air.

2. The fuel pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 1999

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews