1985 Ford Sierra Reviews

1985 Ford Sierra GL 2.3 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 2.3 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A reliable car if ever there was one

Faults:

Clock stopped working at 80,000 miles.

Front passenger door lock broke at 96,000 miles.

Ignition failed at 109,000 miles.

Automatic gearbox became increasingly stubborn and awkward during final few months of ownership.

General Comments:

A very reliable, comfortable and solid family car which gave me five years of sterling service. Was also cheap to run and backed up by a great dealer.

An absolute bargain at six years old for just £2,500 from a private seller. By the time I sold it, the Sierra was eleven years old and I sold it to a work mate for £700. He kept it for six years, when it failed its MOT due to rust and headed for the scrapyard. By then it had 166,000 miles on the clock, but its engine was still running as sweet as a nut.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

1985 Ford Sierra Ghia 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Almost Perfect

Faults:

Window motor on front passenger's door failed at 95,000 miles.

Left side rear passenger door handle broke about six months before I sold the car.

General Comments:

Apart from two minor faults, one with an electric window and another with a door handle, the Ford Sierra was a perfect car. Its 2.0 engine gave decent economy and strong performance. Its rear wheel drive chassis gave superb ride and handling. Its spacious and comfortable interior was like nothing else I'd ever been in. The dealer service was also good.

It cost me £2,100 when it was seven years old, and two years later I sold it to my brother-in-law for £1,000. He kept it for six years until rust finally got the better of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2005

1985 Ford Sierra L 2.0 from Norway

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Cheap, reliable and steady

Faults:

It always starts and keeps running. No problems at all.

General Comments:

The car has served me well. I've put on some lowering springs, replaced the front brakes, as well as dampers both front and rear, though this wasn't really required.

Top speed is a bit low, but acceleration is quite good. Fuel economy is not very good, due to the over-sized wheels I've put on, I guess, and me being a little heavy with the right foot.. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

1985 Ford Sierra L Estate 2.0L petrol from Norway

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance274000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable, but needs maintenance

Faults:

Last week the generator started making a terrible noise, got a "new" one from a 1986 Sierra.

The clutch replaced 3 years ago at about 200 000 kilometers (?).

Poor handbrake cable.

Front door locks are a bit worn-out.

General Comments:

It's a reliable car.

Because it has been well maintained, it's in good shape considering its age.

It's not at all a luxurious car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1985 Ford Sierra L 1.6 SOHC Pinto from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Pinto Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired208000 miles
Most recent distance267000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

A reliable and practical work-horse

Faults:

An irritating intermittent fuel starvation fault was caused by the pick-up strainer in the tank partially collapsing.

One rear coil-spring broke.

Excess play in steering rack developed rapidly.

Brake servo replaced due to leakage although still working.

Due to the high mileage, many of the 'expendable' parts were replaced as a matter of course, e.g. clutch and cable, brake seals, exhaust system and battery; along with the major service items.

General Comments:

This car served us reliably and economically despite its very high mileage. We acquired it with approx. 110,000 miles on its second engine, in good mechanical condition.

In 5 years and 59,000 miles, it neither broke down nor failed to start, although at first we experienced occasional stalling until we traced the fuel fault mentioned above.

The simple, practical, rear-wheel drive design of the Sierra makes it an ideal car for DIY maintenance.

The Pinto engine, in particular, is robust, reliable and easy to look after.

The Sierra estate is a good all-round work-horse with sensible load-carrying capacity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

1985 Ford Sierra S 2.0L injection from Norway

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance225000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Unreliable, cheap and fun car

Faults:

The camshaft had to be replaced at 180.000km.

Gearbox replaced at 200.000km.

Seats are badly worn.

Front wheel bearings are worn.

Front brake discs are worn.

Bearing for the steering axle is worn.

Slip-clutch on the cooling fan behind the radiator has stuck.

Eats front tires.

General Comments:

The car is quite quick for its age and size, and handles quite well. It's rear wheel driven, and as such is very predictable and forgiving if you push it past its limits.

However, not the most reliable car I've had, it doesn't run well when cold, and has a habit of stopping from time to time, probably just a minor problem, but annoying anyway...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

17th Nov 2005, 08:57

I have this car for 11 years and it is quite good, especially engine, of course it is very simple car, but it is ford sierra S.

1985 Ford Sierra L 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

Reliable, solid, comfortable old beast

Faults:

Nothing except tyre wear and warped brakes which is damn good for the amount of miles it has done.

General Comments:

Very, very, very, very reliable if it's topped up with oil quite regularly. It always starts.

It's extremely comfortable and refined.

It has fun rear wheel drive handling and not bad performance for the size engine.

Very cheap parts and insurance.

Good fuel economy.

Very solid, only hints of rust which is good for a 16 year old car.

Best car in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

4th Sep 2002, 07:40

Wow! What kind of daily routine do you have to clock up such a mileage? We once owned a 1986 Ford Sierra 1.8L Manual Estate. We bought it brand new and reluctantly sold it 8 years later. This was because it drank petrol like there was no tomorrow. Apart from that, our car was a loyal companion, and the only problem we had was when the exhaust pipe fell off! Therefore, I totally agree with your comments about how good the Sierra is.

11th Nov 2004, 14:55

Totally agree. I have a 1985 sierra xr4i and I do not want to get rid of it. I love my car even though I cannot find the whale tail spoiler. I will never sale it.

Please email me if it happen you to know where can I find the spoiler. I am from Venezuela.

1985 Ford Sierra L 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Rusty piece of crap

Faults:

Practically everything (rust is also a problem)!

General Comments:

Apart from the rust (which is so bad the door needed replacing!) and all the other problems, the car has reasonable performance and is quite comfortable.

But the fuel economy is crap!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews