1987 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Ford Sierra L 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

Be very very careful when having the cam-belt changed..

Faults:

A few niggles to start off with - needed new brake pads, which were cheap.

3 weeks and 1800 miles later, at 147500, the cam-belt snapped, despite only being (incorrectly one presumes) fitted at 146000. Got £400 pay-out though.

General Comments:

A heap.

M.O.T was due very soon, and it needed £200 of welding so I suppose the belt snapped at the right time!

Swore I'd never buy a Sierra again, so my next car was... another Sierra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

24th Feb 2005, 07:01

On a 1600 Pinto engine the valves and pistons "miss" if the belt snaps. Had you installed another £15 cambelt, the engine would have almost certainly started and run fine, and rattled on for a good while longer.

It's an easy job on these cars too as it's right at the front of the engine bay with hardly anything in the way.

1987 Ford Sierra GL Sapphire 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Cheap thrills!

Faults:

The carburettor went at 111000 so I had that done, but that was it.

Oh, and it leaked water into the driver's footwell, but I never found out where from!

General Comments:

Very quick and not too heavy on fuel.

Did 22000 miles in 6 months and I expected it to let me down on a daily basis, but it didn't.

Bought for £225 - sold for £295 six months later - not bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

1987 Ford Sierra L 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carTalbot Alpine

Summary:

The best family car ever made

Faults:

Nothing really, it has begun to leak a bit recently and the automatic choke sticks in the mornings so the engine revs by itself until it is warmed up.

General Comments:

This is a fine example of a rear-wheel drive family car. Mondeo's, Vectra's and other car's like it fail because of their poor front-wheel chassis.

The L model is basic though and a Ghia is worth considering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1987 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carFord Capri 2.8i

Summary:

Cheap hot rod

Faults:

I am forever blowing cylinder head gaskets on these 2.8 engines.

General Comments:

Very comfy relaxed car and good for teaching little boys in their Novas a lesson or two.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

6th Feb 2007, 10:59

Me to I keep having this problem with my 2.8 still goes, but it keeps forecing the water out of the exspantion tank.

1987 Ford Sierra L 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A cheap and cheerful workhorse with easy home maintenance

Faults:

Water pump seal gave up resulting in complete engine failure on the motorway (my wife didn't notice until it siezed). Got a complete replacement engine fitted for 170 quid from a breakers.

Alternator bearings went. Replacement alternator from a breakers cost a tenner.

Accident damage last year required a new wing, bonnet, front bumper, macpherson strut and some metal bashing.

Front ventilated discs warped and replaced. Replacement discs have now warped as well - seems to be a common problem, possibly caused by a sticking caliper. Rear wheel slave cylinder started leaking and was replaced.

Wear in the steering rack, but not at MOT failure level yet. Some rust on the rear sills but not too bad yet. Plastic wheel arch liners help.

General Comments:

Cheap to buy and spares cheap and readily available plus loads in breakers. Can carry loads of junk (fitted a motorbike in the back once), although the high rear sill makes access awkward.

Not much fun to drive, a bit sluggish and not particularly economical, but makes a good cheap workhorse. Rear drive layout and simple design mean home maintenance is not difficult.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2000

1987 Ford Sierra RS 500 Cosworth 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

Turbo oil feed pipe failure when standard. Lots of things when modified.

General Comments:

Massive street cred. BIG turbo lag, but otherwise devastating performance. 2.4 litre 600 bhp conversion means this is a total supercar killer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 1999

11th Dec 2000, 15:59

I have owned my RS500 for 3 years. It is very frightning to to drive, I'm producing 580bhp and I'm on my third T4 Garret.

23rd Jan 2001, 09:59

Well I've got a 700 horsepower RS500 so there!!!

4th Jun 2004, 12:28

Excellent well done I only have a 88 4x4 at 200hp still keeps with scoobys.

6th Jul 2005, 02:17

I don't see why anyone would mod an RS500 to the extent of putting a totally different engine in it. These are rare, collectable cars (only 500 ever made) and concours examples are still changing hands at near the original list price. A Ford with "inflation only" depreciation over nearly two decades - who would have thought it?

Had you done this conversion on a standard Cosworth, it would have probably added to the value, but on an RS500 you've devalued your car significantly, and of course made it one less of those 500 now on the road as Ford intended. Besides which, changing/converting the engine like that wipes out most of the unique features that made the RS500 special in the first place.

A pointless and costly mistake.

1987 Ford Sierra Ghia 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

Water pump replaced, starter motor overhauled. Nothing else in three years.

General Comments:

I am paid mileage for business use and have used this car for the last three years servicing it myself, spending very little except normal wear & tear items.

I must be one of the few motorists making a decent profit despite the taxman. I paid very little for the car, which is comfortable, fast on motorways & surprisingly unthirsty and forgiving of my crap driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 1998

1987 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.8i petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Chassis has done 140k miles, so it has;

Recon engine £600

Recon gearbox £85

New steering gear £600

New rear suspension £100

Needs new ABS sensors

Air Con bits packed up

General Comments:

Great car - both for long hauls and wet-field-fun. The high mileage on this one has taken it's toll though. However, the bodywork & running gear are still OK. The Air Conditioning bits cost about £600 - £800 to replace, so it would need to be a very hot summer!

Suspension bushes need replacing quite regularly (annually) - only about £50.

I've had the car for 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 1997

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews