1993 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 6 of 23

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.0L Vulcan from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Safe, Reliable, and an Overall Value

Faults:

This car has had a few problems, but what can you expect from a twelve year old car. The biggest problem thus far was the cushions for the sub-frame being shattered and thus causing bad alignment and the subframe to jump when I accelerated.

I have had hose problems, but those were easily repaired.

The AC doesn't work, but this is no problem to me considering I never use it on any car.

It has minor rust problems which were easily repaired with some sandpaper and a little elbow grease.

General Comments:

This car has great pick up, a mechanically sound engine and transmission. It is in almost flawless condition inside and out and the only complaint I would have about it would be the wide turning radius. Otherwise has great handling and an excellent smooth ride.

I would buy this car again if I could.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2005

1993 Ford Taurus SHO 3.2L V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance141500 miles

Summary:

My wallet isn't big enough for this car!!!

Faults:

Well to begin, the power steering pump squeals whenever you step on the gas pedal. It's not so noticeable after the car has warmed up, but on cold starts the car sounds bad!!

The alternator went out 3 days after I bought it. The going price for an alternator is about $200!!! So I ended up buying one the following week. But after installing it, I found out that the wiring from the alternator, battery and starter was worn out. So I paid to have the wiring re-done to insure complete recharge.

Unfortunately the car wouldn't start after a 30 minute drive in any direction. I thought I had caught the problem at the oxygen sensor. I replaced that 2 weeks after having the car.

I fooled myself by thinking the sensor would solve the problem with the car not wanting to start after being driven over a long distance. Well, I was told to check the starter. The starter holds a lot of heat and can seize up if too hot; which would cause it not to turn over after being shut off.

My calipers froze up resulting in a complete brake overhaul!!!

The radiator had a crack in it the length of the radiator so I replaced that.

General Comments:

Yes the car is quick and comfortable, when it was brand new it probably was great.

In the month that I've had the car, it has sat in a garaged being fixed for one reason or another. I really enjoy the car to death, but I don't think I can afford anymore repair bills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

5th Oct 2005, 13:32

I own a 1993 Ford Taurus and I have not had one problem. It has 3.8 V6 and the car sounds like it is brand new. Besides the front leather seat is tore. The car runs on how you drive. You drive it hard of course you have problems.

3rd Nov 2005, 17:23

I also own a 93' SHO... it is a great car! It currently has 93,000 miles and feels like it only has half-of-that!Most SHO's develope suspension 'problems'...due to the the weight power differential. Clunking struts are notorius with SHO's. I hate to break it to some people... but most car's, over the course of their lifetime will develope some problems!

1993 Ford Taurus SHO 3.2 ATX from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 ATX Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

Ricer Eater

Faults:

Power steering pump pulley wobbled to the point of grinding, I'm currently in the process of replacing the pulley.

The soft button EATC is crap.

My transmission sometimes upshifts at odd times.

Plug well seals, cam seals, intake gasket and spark plugs. The upper 60K tune-up needed to be performed.

02's were bad.

Biggest problem of all; it seemed 'dangerously slow' when I first purchased it, which was very odd for a SHO. That was the reason why I got it for a low price. Ended up just needing the MAF to be blasted out with some carb cleaner because it was dirty.

General Comments:

I have to admit, when I first purchased this car, mechanically, it had seen better days, but the interior was immaculate for a 13 year old Ford. No tears in my seats, all my power windows and seats worked perfectly, stereo worked perfect, which was amazing in a Ford with 167k miles.

It had a few common SHO centered problems, such as oil in the plug wells, and was running VERY rich, which was resolved by about $250 in parts from a local Autozone, and a good day's labor with a local SHO enthusiast, who was nice enough to help me. The parts included plug well seals, cam cover seals, plugs, wires, intake gasket, and O2's. After those parts, and 2 cans of carb cleaner run through my EGR with the intake off, and the MAF, it was like the years just melted away on this car.

It is a 1993 ATX 3.2 liter automatic, which was a horrid year for the automatic transmission, hence the sloppy shifting under WOT sometimes (not slipping luckily), but is easily remedied with a newer transmission computer (D4U1) purchasable on eBay, or from a local SHO vendor. I'm replacing mine next week, along with installing a tuner chip to help get every last drop out of the engine.

Currently it's stuck in my street because of the power steering pump/pulley. Of course it's a Ford part, soiling the gem of Yamaha design in the engine bay.

Big Pros: Serious performance, renowned for long engine life if taken care of, 'King of the Sleepers', practical performance to a tee.

Big Cons: Not a car to be taken lightly. If you plan on owning/maintaining a SHO, you have to become a member of your local SHO community, and learn about your car, because when an SHO needs help, your mechanic will most likely not be there to help you.

One last side note:

I'm only 18, this is my first car, and I love it to pieces, despite the challenge and cost of owning it. Sedan insurance, sports car performance. And there is nothing more satisfying than annihilating V-6 Camaros and Mustangs, and seeing the look on their faces as a Ford Taurus casually passes them doing 110.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2005

3rd Sep 2005, 10:04

You like it now, wait till you get your hands on an MTX...

My first car was a Taurus GL, second was an 87' Jimmy, then I bought another Taurus. I payed less for both my GL's combined than I did for the Jimmy, and they're both running great with the 400,000+ miles between the two. (where as the Jimmies Tranny died)

I dream of owning an SHO, ATX or MTX, and it's nice to see another SHO enthusiast.

I'm 19 by the way.

28th Sep 2005, 20:48

Hey. Enjoy the car. I have a '95 ATX with just over 100k on it. The Taurus SHO is one of the best performance values around. Sure the cost of repair may be a bit higher than others, but the initial purchase is also much less. My SHO is completely loaded, even has the moon roof and I paid under $2,500 for it.

2nd Nov 2005, 07:57

Hmmm you title your comment "Rice eater" and the best part of your SHO is made by Yamaha... a JAPANESE Company. Without it's "ricer" technology it would be just another slow Taurus in the way on the road!

8th Dec 2005, 00:39

I am 19 years old and I just purchased a 1993 SHO. I will admit they are fast, but don't let it go to your head. The trans. in these cars suck, but all in all it is a good car. On the up side, mine has I think 157,000 miles on it and is in immaculate condition, and I only paid $600 for this speed demon of a car.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews