2004 Ford Territory LS petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Does what I need comfortably and at the right price


I have enjoyed the Ford Territory 2004. Things that have gone wrong were mainly due to the mileage that the vehicle has done.

The Territory has currently a blown driver's side indicator bulb. I looked under the bonnet to see if I could replace the bulb. Does anyone know how to get access to the blown bulb to replace it, as I can't see how to do it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2016

2007 Ford Territory TX 4.0L from South Africa


Excellent SUV for families


No technical problems experienced during the ownership period to date.

General Comments:

Excellent long distance traveller for South African conditions. Fuel consumption on long distance trips is a constant 11,6 L/100 Km at 100-120 Km/hr.

Also comfortable ride quality for local conditions, even on rough roads in Southern Africa.

More spacious inside than other equivalent SUV types. The price was very competitive when purchased. Unfortunately it's no longer available in this country.

Excellent car service received from the local Ford dealer over the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2016

2010 Ford Territory SYII Ghia 4.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Good, mostly reliable, basic family wagon


Brake light affected traction control.

Sometimes won't start. Dealer recommends foot on the brake to clear.

Transmission failed - Limp home mode at 65k (reco replacement cost $2500).

General Comments:

Pseudo SUV

Leather seats are great.

Good people carrier.

Large and mostly comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2016

2012 Ford Territory TX 2.7 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand


First On Race Day


Power windows played up. Had to pay for repairs as my local Ford dealer said this was normal.

Broken driver's seat.

General Comments:

I drive 50000 km a year on average, and this is the best vehicle for the job. Always starts first go, even with a flat battery. Good fuel economy. I average 850-900 km per tank. Good suspension on rough roads. Good driving position. I regularly drive all day non stop in this vehicle.

It is hopeless on any road that is not hard packed. I've had it stuck on wet grass before. Great for towing. It's a pity Ford won't be producing this vehicle after 2016, as I would get another one tomorrow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2014

2005 Ford Territory SX Ghia AWD 4.0 petrol on LPG from Australia and New Zealand


Good concept, let down by poor finish


Front door seals fell out continually until glued in with industrial strength glue. They are not a good fit.

Clip holding tailgate trim has broken off on a rough dirt road. Dealer can't even find them on the micro fiche, meaning I will have to take car in and pull it apart in front of them. I imagine it is a common problem.

The ESC sensor crapped itself the first time it was ever activated on a slippery boat ramp. $800 later.

Some suspension mount also crapped itself at around 100K. $400 to fix.

Rattles and squeaks everywhere.

General Comments:

Goes like the clappers. No real drop in performance on LPG, although consumes 25% more. LPG install means that the spare needs to be stored inside.

Have had numerous Holdens and Fords over the years, and the Holdens always give the impression of being better put together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2011

2004 Ford Territory TX 4.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


It's good and bad, but not ugly


Suspension faults.

Window control broken twice.

Boot latch replaced twice.

Door seals leaked/replaced.

Boot seals leaked/replaced.

Suspension bushes replaced twice.

General Comments:

Very nice car to drive.

Expensive to run.

Always something wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2011

2005 Ford Territory TX RWD 4.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Really like it, great car for families with 3 or more kids


Nothing yet. Next service due 62000 km.

There was an existing problem with the right wing mirror not working, dealer replaced switch before car was handed over.

Still looks almost new at 55000 km.

General Comments:

We bought our Territory TX RWD 7 Seater 6 months ago as our Subaru Outback was too small (just had our third kid).

Chose the Territory as I couldn't do a people mover. Didn't bother with the 4WD version as I don't go off road. I've also heard the RWD is a slightly better drive.

We looked at a Santa Fe and liked them, however they're not as wide internally as the Territory and it's still hard to get 3 x kids seats along the back row, the Territory is mint though, tons of room for the kiddie seats!

We love the space in the thing, with the 7 seat option (which we use a lot when cousins / mothers in law etc join us for a trip) it's a brilliant way to move people around in style and comfort.

The car is hard to fault, good looks, nice smooth engine, brilliantly smooth transmission (ours is the 4 speed), good handling for a 2 ton SUV, nice interior, all good.

People complain about the fuel economy, however what do you expect from a 2 ton SUV with a 4.0 ltr engine? We average 13.5l/100km around town, and we got 11.7l/100km on a trip from Auckland to Taranaki and back recently. Not bad at all, and well worth paying the extra few dollars in gas for the extra space!

Overall, love the car, hopefully it proves to be reliable as I don't want to change it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2009