1976 Ford Thunderbird Reviews

1976 Ford Thunderbird 460 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 460 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

A true classic

Faults:

Only needed a tune-up when I bought it.

General Comments:

I love this car! It rides like a dream, and has power to boot. I get a lot of comments on how beautiful the car is. This car is the best thing ever built by Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

6th Feb 2005, 22:03

My parents bought me a 1976 Thunderbird on my 18th birthday..black with burgundy interior. WOW what a car. I so wish I had kept it. I have had many cars since, but nothing compares to that car. It did suck tons of gas, but was a dream to drive and ride in.

I keep looking at ads hoping to find one the same color and in good shape... oh to get rid of the SUV!!

1976 Ford Thunderbird 460cid 4bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 460cid 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

One of the best cars Ford ever built!

Faults:

Had to replace all 4 tires due to dry rot. Replaced Landau top and headliner soon after purchase about $185. Replaced all 4 disc pads on brakes. Put on dual exhaust when muffler went bad ($485). Seats and carpets are badly worn. Replaced dash and door panels from salvage yard due to cracking. Repaired Tilt on Steering column. Needs a/c compressor replaced and recharged. Needs minor body and major paint.

General Comments:

This is a really good car that sat in the sun for 5 years and wasn't taken care of. It was a one owner, custom built vehicle, and I am working on putting it back in it's original condition. It has only 88,000 original miles on it and is not by any means worn out, in fact, it is just barely broken in. It just needs some tender loving care, and a dose of spit and polish. The care runs like a top, gets up and goes and still gets 12-18 mpg so I don't complain too much. It cruises like a dream on the open road and levels out the bumps on the lesser roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

16th Apr 2004, 07:10

12 to 18 miles to the gallon? I am lucky if I get 7. What kind of carburetor do you have on there? Mine is an aftermarket Carter 750, with a manual choke.

25th Feb 2008, 20:01

I have a 76 (great car) Thunderbird/460 with 54,000 on it. I have averaged 12-14 on rule country roads and 16-18 on the highway. One trip last summer hit all the lights right on rt.31 (speed limit 55 mph) going from Honesdale PA. to Hanover NJ. and when we filled up I check the mileage and still find it hard to swallow (even had my wife check it) 20+ MPG! The car is running the stock carb.

19th Mar 2009, 22:13

Have a 76 that I bought 10 years ago, haven't done a thing to and it gets 10 on the highway. I know that it needs carb work (factory carb on it), and a full tune-up. It has 83,00 miles.

1976 Ford Thunderbird 460 Carter Competition Series 750 Carb. from North America

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 460 Carter Competition Series 750 Carb. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles

Summary:

I love this car, I can't imagine driving anything else

Faults:

My TBird was my parents before I decided to restore it. I have only done a partial restoration but the engine is completely rebuilt. I repair things as they go wrong, which is quite often.

General Comments:

This car rides beutifully! It is extremely comfortable and is extremely fun to drive.

It takes very long to warm up in the morning, and gets horrible gas mileage, about seven miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

11th Feb 2003, 09:08

Yeah, I got one too and it's has the same problems warming up in the mornings - it's a total pump fest on that gas pedal!

23rd May 2004, 22:37

On starting the car in the morning make sure that the choke is working or coming on after you depress the gas pedal. Two or three pumps should suffice. There is a module on the side of the carburetor that you set the choke with. If the choke does not come on it will be hard to start and the fast idle will not be coming on so it will want to stall. Chokes quite often need to be set for summer or winter driving. The choke increases the amount of fuel being delivered to the motor as it needs more when it is cold. As the motor warms up so does a metallic spring in the choke housing and it backs off the choke. You will have to step on the gas to get the fast idle to kick down.

1976 Ford Thunderbird 7.5L 460 V8, 4 bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 7.5L 460 V8, 4 bbl Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carAcura Accord

Summary:

Expensive comfort

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Needs a carburetor rebuild badly - very hard to start in the morning.

Misses and stalls until warmed up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews