1990 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Ford Thunderbird std 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Has everything combined to make a wonderful car

Faults:

My engine blew up at 123000 miles.

I broke the rear axle at 132000 miles.

The front passenger ball joint was replaced at 134000 miles.

Currently I am needing to fix the oil pan at 143000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car even though it seems like lots of things have gone wrong with it. This is mainly because of the abuse that it takes from my driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

1990 Ford Thunderbird 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

A great bargain for the price, very reliable

Faults:

Not much really, I replaced the engine in mid-2000, which was the result of the oil pump going out and locking a bearing.

New transmission, caused by getting stuck in the snow and burning it out.

A water pump, because it sat on the dealer lot for 6 months and was not started regularly.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. This is the first Ford I have ever owned and I love this car. It is so reliable, fast, fun, and economical.

I normally get 30+ miles to the gallon in this car. I have beat Mustangs, Camaros and numerous pick-ups.

I have done maybe $800 in repairs on this car over two years and I think that is great.

I don't see why everyone else has so many complaints about these cars, things are naturally going to go wrong with any car you get (yes, they do eat front brake pads), but if you are looking for a car that is very low maintenance, a bird is for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

16th Oct 2004, 10:08

Don't forget about comfortable seats.

1990 Ford Thunderbird Super Coupe 3.8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Warning; If you drive it, you will buy it

Faults:

Not much - high miles, but the drivetrain was fully rebuilt with performance in mind. Take care of them and they last for ever.

General Comments:

This was a one owner car from Kansas City and it looks and performs super. With the 340 HP and 5 speed I had to go with 18 inch wheels just to hook up.

Replaced the JBL system with a ground pounder system.

I almost like it better than my Saleen Mustang. I just love my SC, can ya tell?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

11th Oct 2001, 23:18

Wow, 340 HP, I bet it hauls ass. Sounds nice.

22nd Jan 2003, 17:07

As a Super Coupe owner, I can stand by 210hp.

--BUT!--

We have great support team. Super Coupe Club Of America www.SCCOA.com

http://www.magnumpowers.com Superchargers and inter-coolers

http://www.edelbrock.com/

http://www.supercoupeperformance.com

Without touching the engine, you can hit 350+hp. After that, go to www.coymiller.com and have the stage III engine rebuild for 480hp+.

My SC has been checked from Ohio-DOT at 465HP @ 2600 rRPM, 580lb torque @ 4200 RPM. Coy Millers SC runs 10's 1/4 mile (4500lb stock T-bird). FORD stated in 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95 our Thunder SC can outrun any Mustang we produce, but the Cobra may run even with it.

My SC can outrun Vipers, and I get 27 MPG from my V6 supercharged on 92/94 gas. Check the car out, it's a great buy for the money...

10th May 2003, 10:17

I'm 16 years old, just bought my first car, a 1990 SC. 3.8 supercharged, anyways 210 hp buddy and 315 lb/feet of torque. Oh I just love it when that supercharger kicks in....

25th May 2004, 09:59

You have to remember that 25hp and the same or a little more torque is lost between the crank and the rear wheels.

19th Jul 2004, 12:03

OK...first of all. Your SC does not have 340hp. 215hp is more like it. Mines modded out, and I'm probably only at 260 hp at the most. Anyway... your SC also can't beat Vipers. I don't think so.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews