1996 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 10 of 14

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired52400 miles
Most recent distance62388 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Great used car when found with low mileage

Faults:

The only problems that I have had with this car are things that come with mileage, such as dirty worn down plugs and wires and a battery. Other than these minor nuisances I have had no trouble with this vehicle.

General Comments:

This car is a really responsive semi-big body vehicle. The v-8 is good and with minor changes becomes much better. If you take the pinched dual exhaust off and replace them with a flow-master cat back system and buy a k and n filter you will be very pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance91500 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Excellent performance without the price

Faults:

The only problem with the car is the gas gauge doesn't work properly. It's something that is very time consuming and expensive to fix. Estimated cost of repair for the problem is 250$.

Traction control on wet roads tends to be a minor problem.

General Comments:

I've driven several Thunderbird and Cougars, which is basically the same car. Thunderbird tend to always deliver excellent performance, whether it be the 3.8L V6, 4.6L V8, or the older 1990 Thunderbird SC. All come through with power, reliability, and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

28th Jul 2005, 22:18

I own a 96 t-bird with the V8. I am experiencing the same problem with the gas gauge not working nor is the odometer. I have about 175000 miles and the car is still going strong. What was wrong with your gas gauge and who fixed it. I replaced the fuel pump and floater which is all one piece and that did not fixed the problem. I know the dealership is going to charge me all my body parts to diagnose the car and fix it. Can you give me some advice.

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A fast broke down piece of crap!

Faults:

Brakes are very bad. Rotors are warped. Pads go out too quickly.

Slammed on brakes and broke motor mounts. Only 1 remained. The engine shifted when they broke and broke some vacuum tees and ripped all of the vacuum hoses off of the car.

Suspension makes a clicking noise when I turn the wheel or go over a bump.

Paint is bad, I always have to wax it in order for it to look decent.

Alternator has gone out numerous times.

$500 brake job because rotors were below allowed thicknesses.

$652 to fix the motor mounts and vacuum hoses.

MAFS went back and had to get replaced. The new one went bad as well and I figured out that it was only covered in dirt and couldn't read the airflow.

General Comments:

I generally like the thunderbird. It is a fast cars. I have done some modifications to it (i.e. flow-master mufflers, 73mm C & L MAFS, K & N Filter). It can keep up with Modified Mustang GTs.

I bought the car after I totaled my truck. I miss that truck.

I have a trouble dealing with the power and spinning the tires and I go through tires about every 3 or 4 months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

7th Sep 2006, 20:49

"I have a trouble dealing with the power and spinning the tires and I go through tires about every 3 or 4 months."

Try not mashing the acclerator from every stop.

24th Aug 2007, 19:34

I have had mine for a long time, and I like to run it hard and go fast, and I've had no problems.

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25132 miles
Most recent distance80067 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Good car for the money

Faults:

At 46,000 miles the intake manifold cracked.

Numerous problems with the cruise control shutting off when the car goes over even small bumps. Adjusted the brake light switch to fix this.

At 72,000 miles another intake manifold cracked and the dealer would not cover the cost to replace either of them.

Engine pings pretty bad when I put the hammer to it.

The only other problem that I have had with my Thunderbird is that the mode select control knob for the climate controls keeps breaking, and the only place to get another is the Ford dealer.

General Comments:

I do enjoy this car, despite its problems. The engine has great power, but could always use more.

I really wish Ford would have come up with a better design for the intake manifold problems.

During the first year of ownership, my wife and I put about 30,000 miles on the car, for the most part I would consider them trouble free with the exception of the intake and cruise problems.

The cabin is very comfortable for the long hauls that my wife and I have made and there is nothing like cruising at night with the moon roof open.

For such a big car it handles very well and seems to hold the road in corners and has a positive steering feel.

I should have bought the Thunderbird next to mine with traction control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

22nd Aug 2002, 14:27

I also bought a 97 with sport option. Shortly after purchase I received a letter from Ford informing me of problems with intake manifold cracking. If this condition occurred I was to present the letter to the dealer for free replacement. Too bad your dealer was not up from with you about the factory program.

26th Oct 2002, 10:59

Same problem of intake manifold cracks. It cost me a new intake manifold ($ 250 part + 3 hours labor).

Amazing: the area where the crack occucred is now made of aluminum instead of plastic. I am disappointed that this issue is not taken as a recall.

Anybody who could provide information to claim reimbursement of this part will be greatly appreciated!

Smarseil@yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 47 reviews