FSO Polonez Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1991 FSO Polonez 1.6 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Summary:

Very nice car for hard work, but no luxury

Faults:

Nothing serious, sure it had some repairs from time to time, but after all it still in good shape.

General Comments:

Advantages:

Very respectful engine (1600 cc / 16 valves / 4 Cylinders) that runs perfectly since 1991.

Big and comfortable car of large storage area with the ability of folding the backseats (never used it).

Body is strong, well-build and reliable.

The car is high enough for rough roads and with fair suspensions (dampers).

VERY low running cost which is a great advantage.

Disadvantages:

Fuel Consumption is HIGH... which is a major disadvantage for me.

Had some troubles with the electrical system, but it was fixed with no major replacements.

Had troubles with the brakes, but also done with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2007

1989 FSO Polonez GLE 1.5 from Poland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 kilometres
Most recent distance426000 kilometres

Summary:

This not a bad car. I like it because is comfortable

General Comments:

Good brakes (4 disk), but problematic with the hand-brake.

Body corrosion!!

Inside it's very comfortable, not bad materials.

Acceleration is poor, but when you drive it, you can do it all day. This car likes long journeys.

It's slowly, very slowly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2006

1983 FSO Polonez 1500 1.5 from Colombia

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carrenault renault4

Summary:

Incredibly still working, heavy noisy, but has something different in design than other cars

Faults:

Transmision shaft got a bit noisy, wibrations at 80 km/h.but I changed for new and now is OK.

Engine oil pressure is less than 4 bar, but the car has already 250000 kilomters.

General Comments:

This car has very soft suspension and doesn't hold properly in corners, but this is normal car not for fast driving, anyway the engine is to small for that heavy vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

1991 FSO Polonez from Finland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10

Summary:

Miserable

Faults:

Engine.

General Comments:

Miserable quality - in the end, they were selling these "two for the price of one" in Finland.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

1997 FSO Polonez 1.6 GLi 1.6i with LPG from Poland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i with LPG Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 126

Summary:

Nice car for young people

Faults:

There were no problems with this car except regular (every 15000km) electricity generator troubles.

General Comments:

This car is cheap. In Poland you can get it for about 5000-7000 z³ (about 1200-1700USD). Of course you can get cheaper ones, but... believe me they are scrap. Generally it's slow (max 140km/h) but it rides, I have never stopped on the road because of some damage. The running costs are low, especially on LPG. And the service is everywhere, especially in Poland.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1st Aug 2004, 13:52

I had an FSO Polonez 1,6 SLE built in 1990. It was a very nice car, quite reliable, spacious and comfortable. The 1,6 engine provided 86hp which was just enough for every-day use. It could drive fast, but it also needed more and more fuel then. A radio and soft-adjusted suspension made the Polonez a good choice for long-distance trips around Poland, although it was never a good car for abroad journeys. The suspension did not allow, however, to drive fast through tight turns. I thing that, for a car in the early 90's, it was a good choice - cheap, spacious and solid car, which could be repaired in any garage in Poland. I am happy to read some good reviews on the FSO POLONEZ.

14th Jan 2005, 08:12

I owned seven FSO Cars between 1980 and 1998 and never had a problem with any of them... six were Polonez and the last one was the diesel Caro. I miss them.

5th Sep 2005, 06:35

A very cheap car for young people. It's easy to repair in your own garage. I like my FSO Polonez 1.6 GLI. 120000km with no problem; the car still drives very well.

6th Jul 2007, 19:23

I owned a Polonez (sadly now departed) which took my family and I for over 150,000 miles around the UK including Channel Islands, Devon (4 times). Western Isles and, God knows how many other trips along the way. The only thing that went wrong was the voltage regulator when only 2 wks old (fantastic dealer backup on that one!!).

If you want something pretty for posing in DON'T have one of these, if you want a reliable, comfortable workhorse that puts up with all the crap you throw in it's direction... get a Polonez.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews