1989 Geo Metro 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Love it, would not change a thing?

Faults:

Wheel bearing at 226000 miles.

General Comments:

I paid $150 for the car, so I did not expect much. But to my surprise, it ran great and I average 43 miles per gallon, with a high of 55 miles per gallon on the open road.

After driving the car about seven years, I wanted to make changes to it, to make it look different. I WENT WITH THE RATROD, GASSER LOOK. GO TO (geometroforum.com) Go to pictures and check out the 89 Geo Gasser, and tell me what you think.

I love my car, it is a lot for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2009

31st Mar 2009, 00:14

I had a 93 Metro 4 door hatchback. Loved it, sure wish I could find another one like it. Check out teamswift.net too.

1989 Geo Metro 1.0L from North America

Summary:

This car has been reliable, has never failed, and is still going strong!

Faults:

Replaced the catalytic converter twice.

Replaced both rear wheel bearings at about 150,000 miles.

Had to have the door hinges re-welded.

The heater/defroster system has always been disappointing.

General Comments:

We bought this car new in '89, and it has been the best cost-per-mile car ever! It has 205,000 miles, and we still use it every week, putting about 200 miles a week on it. It still gets 55 mpg, and has the original brakes, clutch, alternator, starter. In fact, nothing has ever gone wrong with it except the things previously mentioned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

12th Mar 2007, 16:51

I had a 1990 Geo Metro and I loved it. It managed to last until 268,000 miles and the engine gave out. Nothing was ever done to this car except the timing chain was changed several times through the years. The end was rough for the car it had so little power in those last months I could barely stay in traffic I also had the 3-speed transmission so it made it even worse. One day I got in started it put it in reverse and BANG that was it. I later bought a 1997 Metro that has been just as good as the 1990 model.

1989 Geo Metro 1.0L from North America

Summary:

Cute little car

Faults:

The coil is out in this car when I picked it up for free so haven't had a chance to drive it yet.

General Comments:

For a 1989 the body looks good. the seats are a bit warn, but still in decent shape for a 1989.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

1989 Geo Metro from North America

Summary:

Good everyday driver

Faults:

It has it's little tune up things, but so far it has been a good car, and easy to fix!

General Comments:

You none believer's of the turbo 1.3, pick up a chilton manuel sometime, its in there!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

1989 Geo Metro from North America

Summary:

A loved member of the family

Faults:

Seats are wearing badly (they are very old), linkage between transmission & shifter has worn, but has been replaced.

General Comments:

This is the only car that has ever lived up to 50+ MPG without being a hybrid! It has never burned oil nor has it run too rich. The plugs wear out and never foul. It has been a "regular use" car and is now our "emergency back-up" because we know it will run when we need it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

1989 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Summary:

Excellent value and fun to drive!

Faults:

Driver side front bearings.

Water pump.

Timing chain.

Heater core.

Seats are very worn; replaced.

Shocks and struts are very worn.

General Comments:

Bought this car 4 years ago for $750 and put 82,000 miles on it. Last 3 months, I put 5,100 miles on it. Always gets 44 - 47 miles per gallon. It is absolutely FUN to drive; it's quick and nimble, except over 70mph, or going up a mountain, then it's a little slow.

Very comfortable seating for a car this size. I'm 5-10 at 235 pounds.

Just bought a '91 model LSI and a '94 model 4-door. These little cars are just too good not to have around!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

16th Apr 2005, 22:33

The 1989-1994 Geo Metro is a very economical small car, however I don't suggest them they are very dangerous on todays roads, the first Metros didn't offer any kind of side impact protection, so basically anything on the road can hit one and total it, I would think twice about buying one of these cars even more so If I had children. In 1995 the car was redesigned and air bags, side impact protection and, optional anti-lock brakes were available so I suggest if you want a Metro you look into the 1995-2001 models-