1989 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1989 Geo Metro xFi .9L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission .9L gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135 miles
Most recent distance181345 miles
Previous carnone none

Summary:

Best daily driver ever for commutes and errands

Faults:

Replacexed wheel bearings, battery, alternator & tires (8). that's it And of course using Mobil 1 (5k chgs) and valve drive belt.

General Comments:

Most efficient car ever owned. Still gets 50 mpg after 180k miles. Running cost, including damages (killed 2 deer) maintenance, and upkeep and depreciation (cost $5885 new is under 8c per mile and getting better. Has hauled bricks, TV, plastics parts, machine molds and race tires (8 at a time) without complaint.

Do have Suzuki GTi suspension - raced the GTi in IMSA Firehawk - and seats so I have no trouble beating traffic, interstate or not. And I don't have to buy batteries. Suzuki ought to offer this car again. I've owned over 130 cars and this is the only one more than 2 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2004

1989 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145400 miles
Most recent distance147098 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A surprisingly tough little powerplant

Faults:

Water pump started leaking when I was trying to blow the motor (it just won't die) Replaced timing belt.

Body is pretty much gone.

General Comments:

I got this car in exchange for a tuneup. I really had no intention of keeping it for too long, just having some fun with it and junking it, This car refuses to die, so I figured I would keep it because it runs so good and gets killer gas mileage. I never figured a 3 cylinder could take so much abuse (numerous attempts to blow it up) This car is ultra reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

27th Feb 2004, 10:15

My father rebuilds engines. One time a guy brought up a Geo Metro cylinder head that had two burned exhaust valves, rendering two of the three cylinders useless. That leaves about 20 cubic inches of usable power. It was running before he decided to fix it! I just thought that was a little comical.

19th Mar 2004, 11:58

I have an 89 Geo Lsi - owned it since it was new. This car is amazing and has NEVER let me down. I use it as a second car now and will never sell or trade it in...EVER!

1989 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103500 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Nothing will kill this car

Faults:

Replaced the brakes and muffler.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned. It gets great gas mileage (approx 50 MPG). This car WILL NOT die! I currently use it as my daily driver. I would feel comfortable driving this car cross-country!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

21st Sep 2005, 13:23

Wait until I get my big redneck truck and run over your tiny little Geo! Woohaha.

4th Oct 2005, 19:50

The Geo metro is the nicest reliable car that has ever been made. From the gas mileage to the reliability. It is the best starter car.

1989 Geo Metro 1.3 lt from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 lt Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles

Summary:

A perfect bargain

Faults:

I have had to replace the following:

Water pump

Coil

Radiator Fan

Alternator

Battery

All of the plastic pieces are broken (door handles, window cranks, glove box)

General Comments:

This car looks bad, but runs great. I have put $0 into it for the past 6 years. It runs well for a daily work car. I have definitely gotten my money's worth out of this car. I would recommend this car to anyone on a budget who needs a reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

1989 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 Single Over Head Cam 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Single Over Head Cam 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance87500 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A great car with excellent gas mileage

Faults:

The exhaust pipe before the muffler keeps breaking.

The dome light doesn't turn on when the door is opened.

The gears always grind when the transmission is shifted into third gear.

The doors don't lock or unlock from the outside.

The car only has one side mirror.

General Comments:

The car has great acceleration.

This car gets great gas mileage.

The parts for the car are very cheap.

It gets me from place to place very quickly and cheaply.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1989 Geo Metro LSi 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carToyota no previous car

Summary:

Economical and down right adorable

Faults:

Dash cracked from the hot desert sun, got a dash cover and every thing was wonderful.

O2 sensor went out in '94 so it was replaced to pass smog.

Rug on passenger side has started to separate. Still that's not so bad for an almost 15 year old car.

When not aligned properly, it shakes violently over 50 MPH.

General Comments:

I love this car and plan to keep it forever. Yeah, it's small and starting to take much more work to keep it road worthy, but this car got me a through a lot! And it just so darn cute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews