1992 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1992 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance254000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Beyond reliable

Faults:

Back power window switch went bad, replaced by the warranty.

Brake pads, muffler etc..

General Comments:

Long lasting car. It had never broken down on me for as long as I've had it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

1992 Geo Prizm DOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission DOHC 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance125458 miles

Faults:

A few alternator problems around 60,000 miles. That's pretty much it. Absolutely the most reliable car on the road.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and fun to drive. Not the flashiest car on the road but I wouldn't dare get rid of my Prizm. With 125,000 miles it out performs every new car I've test-driven.

So, I've decided not to buy a new car, but to keep the Geo going. The mechanic who does all the work on it says that it will go another 125,000 miles with proper care!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

1992 Geo Prizm 1.6L VIN (5) from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6L VIN (5) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance111198 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A long lasting strong car

Faults:

Well, so far only the distributor went out about a year ago and there was a fuse problem, but no biggy.

General Comments:

My dad got this 92 Prizm back then for himself........ now I'm about to turn 16, and I will be driving it. I love it, it's a nice car, the interior is just like new, and the outside paint job is nicely shiny and deep blue. Lots of other Geo Prizms of my year have dull paint jobs and no wheel covers.

I like this car, it's a really great dependable car. Even though it's only a 1.6L it's still got some kick, and when I run some fuel system cleaner through it, I should notice a difference since it's a 16 valve (2 intakes and 2 exhausts), it should show an improvement.

Man, you should see it after I got done fixing it up, it looks AWESOME!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

15th Aug 2003, 13:05

I would like for you to explain to me how 16 valves mean 2 intakes and 2 exhaust. Please email me at ls3mach@yahoo.com.

31st Aug 2006, 20:56

He meant per cylinder, though with even numbers it's kinda assumed. Enjoy the car kid I have a 92 corolla (same car and engine) its just passed 125k and is still able to get 36-7 mpg highway this is a lifelong friend treat it right.

7th Sep 2010, 17:38

Best of luck to you and your Prizm, fellow teenager. Drive carefully and get all the maintenance on your Prizm done on time.

Alan.

1992 Geo Prizm 4 cyl. DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cyl. DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Summary:

Finest car ever made!!

Faults:

The alternator went out twice and that's a common Geo problem. That's it!!!

General Comments:

The 1992 Geo Prizm will not die!! That's great because I do not want it to. The DOHC and 5-speed transmission make it very peppy and it drives as smooth as any new car. I have made some cosmetic improvements but the car is fairly attractive all original. Freat car, I would definitely buy another one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

27th Aug 2005, 18:38

I have a 1992 Geo Prizm that I bought 3-4 years ago for my daughter... I live in Northern Vermont... The car has 135000 miles on it... Other than taking the dent out of it and putting 4 new tires on it, it runs like new... Best car made... GM made a great car...

Crusty old feller.

8th Aug 2008, 15:14

It is with great sadness that I retired my '92 Prism this past Monday. I bought it used in 1994 with 33K miles on it. When I let it go, I'd put on a total of 167K. Sure, I had to make repairs on it from time to time; the exhaust manifold seemed to go a lot and I had the alternator problems other reviews had mentioned - but overall I feel like this car served me very well considering that I drove it nearly every day that I had it. I can only hope that my new car will hold up even remotely as well.

1992 Geo Prizm 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing major, it has 120,000 and all it needs is back shocks.

General Comments:

This has to be the best car I've ever bought. It has held up way longer than I ever imagined it would. I'm almost positive that it will go another hundred thousand miles with no problem. GO GEO!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 1999

23rd Jun 2006, 15:42

1992 Geo Prizm - Very Dependable Little Car

Fantastic car!!! It has low mileage, (89,725). I don't drive very far (city limits - Anchorage), yet I use it 7 days a week. I religiously keep up with the oil changes and regular maintenance every 3 months. All the mechanics have made comments on the excellent condition of my car and the cleanliness I've maintained. The only problems I've had: Transmission/Differential rebuilt, CV Axles (2 times), Radiator, Head-Gasket, Alternator (2 times), and Battery. I only attribute this to Alaska's adverse weather conditions. I love my Geo and will keep it until it absolutely quits. GO GEO!!! I LOVE you!

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews