1987 GMC Jimmy Reviews

1987 GMC Jimmy Sierra Classic 5.7 liter from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired142566 miles
Most recent distance142876 miles
Previous carChevrolet Colorado

Summary:

I think I have a jewel in this ol' Jimmy

Faults:

The paint job from the factory was never that good on these units. Mine has the same ol' flaky, peely and patches of bare metal that you always see.

The plastic dashboard has erupted into the normal dash you see on these. Open wounds, but nothing falling out.

One portion of the headliner has fallen out.

General Comments:

I got a really straight body with no wrinkles, dings, dents, or scrapes. Really solid.

The engine is a replacement with only 3,000 miles on it, and it is super strong!

Transmission works impeccably, with no leaks.

No cracks, spots, or dings in any of the glass. The rear glass does not roll all the way down, so the back door does not open. I think it's a really minor problem.

The interior has been very well taken care of. Not but one little tear in the driver's seat, and it has been hand-sewn shut. The blue carpet has faded into grey, except where the original floor mats have covered it, and it is royal blue underneath.

The four-wheel drive is tight, and the transfer case has no leaks around it anyplace.

Need to be careful, as with any high ground clearance, but it doesn't feel unsafe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2012

21st May 2012, 09:20

Flaking paint, dash falling apart, headliner coming down, rear hatch won't open - Yup one heck of a jewel indeed! :)

1987 GMC Jimmy S-15 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A great vehicle for the snow!!!

Faults:

When I first bought this vehicle for $250, my brother in-law and I pulled the transmission and engine, and replaced both.

The transmission was rebuilt and the engine was brand new.

About a month ago the starter went out.

The belt squeaks although there seems to be no reason for it. I am not worried about that.

The plastics are starting to break in this vehicle.

The window gets stuck after I roll it down.

The 4 wheel drive doesn't like to lock on, sometimes it takes about five to ten minutes for it to switch over.

Nothing major since I replaced the transmission and engine.

General Comments:

I thought this vehicle would be fun to drive, and easy to get around in the winter snow. We haven't had any snow since I bought the vehicle, so this is the first year (we've actually had snow 16") to be able to try it out. I had no problems getting stuck in the snow unless I was in 2WD, in that case I just popped it into 4WD and boom I was out.

It doesn't have top speed, but once at speed can manage it well.

Cornering needs to be taken slower than most vehicles.

Braking is great, I do not drive this all the time, but when I need a change up from my truck or my jeep, I usually drive this or my van.

The interior is nice and not too worn (I expected worse). It is very comfortable for those long drives.

I would like a little more space in the trunk area, but it works.

Maybe there's a better place for the spare than hooked to the tail-gate.

But overall it suits me just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

1987 GMC Jimmy Full Size 5.7 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

A very powerful, all-terrain vehicle

Faults:

When I first purchased the vehicle, I had a crack in my exhaust manifold.

Tires were worn down.

General Comments:

The vehicle, is very clean, has a very good paint job.

The cabin is very clean, no tears in the seats, carpet, or carpet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2003

1987 GMC Jimmy S-15 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A good truck when it runs properly

Faults:

My exhaust manifold is cracked. That can be replaced with headers (just another cost).

It doesn't lock into four-wheel drive. This makes it now a two-wheel drive truck.

I have a transmission leak. I have yet to get it fixed (usually sits in the driveway now).

It has a terrible squeaking noise coming for the drivers side.

My passenger side window keeps coming off track. It has been fixed several times, but it still keeps coming off track.

General Comments:

The car runs great when it is working properly, and I would love to drive it more.

The truck has too many problems to drive it on a regular basis.

If the four-wheel drive worked it would probably be a fun truck to go off-road in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

6th Aug 2005, 20:16

My 1987 Jimmy is making a beeping sound constantly while driving. Do you have any suggestions?

13th Jan 2006, 13:14

I have had problems with my 4 wheel drive jimmy for a while, the problem is that the vacuum system for the 4 wheel drive doesn't work and it won't engage the actuator to lock in the front end. I solved this by pulling the cable at the actuator end, and clamping on a pair of vise grips. This engages the front end, and gives me 4 wheel drive. It's kind of a pain in the butt to keep doing it, but it works.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews