1993 GMC Jimmy Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 GMC Jimmy 4.3 Vortec from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Distance when acquired199000 miles

Summary:

Headache Inducer

Faults:

I've same problems as most everyone else on here. My current problems I think is with the CPI. It will start then immediately stop, then I won't be able to start it again for a few hours only to have the same thing happen again. I won't buy another older SUV from GMC or Chevy again.

General Comments:

To those who are having issues with the EGR valve I have a fix that has worked well for me may help those who have the electronic controlled EGR valve. Try first replacing the original EGR valve gasket with a new gasket that has a small screen in one of the openings. I put mine in and have not had a problem with the EGR since and it has been over a month. O'reilly's sold me mine and I'm sure you can get it just about anywhere. But as far as I know this redesigned gasket is for the electronic controlled EGR. Good Luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

1993 GMC Jimmy SLE 4WD 4.3 VORTEC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 VORTEC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Good 4WD vehicle

Faults:

First, the rear defroster hardly ever works, even after having it "fixed" at the GMC dealer 5 times.

The valve stem seals are worn and it smokes when first started.

The brake master cylinder went, and now the brake booster is bad, but until it gets hard to stop, I'm not replacing it.

General Comments:

This is my first SUV vehicle. I had to get it because I got a good deal, trading my 1989 Mercury Sable with a bad transmission for the 1993 Jimmy. I'm not too disappointed with it, but the darn rear defroster should work because I don't have the rear wiper option. The 4WD works AWESOME and goes like a tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

1993 GMC Jimmy 4.3 vortec from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Rusty, but trusty... find one from the south!

Faults:

Gas pedal was sticking- cleaned out throttle body.

Jimmy is rusting out on me!

General Comments:

This truck is fairly responsive-I like the power of the vortec motor. Unfortunatly they are very prone to rust. Water must get trapped behind the plastic trim around the wheelwells because as I was driving down the road the trim flew off due to rusted screws. The rocker panels are also very prone to rust. Push button 4wd is nice, works great to launch my boat and gets decent mileage on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2005

21st May 2011, 16:27

Not the south. Those vehicles have plenty of rust. They DO use salt and the humidity doesn't help. Look out west, like New Mexico.

1993 GMC Jimmy from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Transportation

Faults:

The driver side door latch stopped working as well as the back trunk window latch making it difficult to keep them shut.

General Comments:

This car drives just the way I want it to and handles good on and off the road.

However, the seats aren't that comfortable making it hard to drive for a long duration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

20th Oct 2005, 23:28

My GMC Jimmy has 196,000 plus miles and is still running very strong. I can't complain one bit about this vehicle. Sure, it has some minor problems, but the vehicle is 12 years old. Minor problems include cruise control inop... rear wiper motor inop...4x4 transfer case inop, but these items can and will be fixed with ease. I am very happy with this vehicle. The only complaint I have is that the speedometer and gas gages are hard to read (red lines).

1993 GMC Jimmy SLT 4.3 vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carGM Jimmy

Summary:

This vehicle is a mechanics nightmare, full of problems that never end

Faults:

Fuel pump died twice in one month.

Starter died twice in less than a year.

Alternator bearings seized up.

Upper and lower ball joints were replaced six times.

Idler arm was replaced.

Pitman arm was replaced.

Gas tank rotted out.

Body mounts rotted and fell off.

Seat belts wouldn't lock in.

ABS brakes do not stop the vehicle, but buildings and telephone poles work better than the braking system!

Needs new tires about every 10 months.

Windshield was pitted bad when purchased, but not covered in the extended warranty.

Ignition switch broke.

Tailgate lock broke.

Severe body rot.

Catalytic converter smells like rotten eggs.

Vacuum switch on transmission supposed to fix ABS issue, but ABS still does not stop vehicle.

Oil plate (not the pan) broke off.

Valve stem seals are worn.

All four shocks were replaced by us not covered by extended warranty.

We have to get the four wheel alignment done about every 10 months (vehicle is used for paved roads 98% of the time).

Both front brakes lines had to be replaced.

Inner and outer tie rod ends had to be replaced.

Rear defroster solder connections were broken off when purchased.

Had to cut off the receiver insert for tow package cause of rust.

Door handle springs keep breaking off.

Power window motors are slow and need assistance when opening windows even with lithium grease inside the tracks.

Door hinge pins in the front need replacing about every two years.

Plastic vents on end of front doors keep breaking off.

Heater core went and was not covered by extended warranty.

General Comments:

General Motors Corporation is quick to complain about the payments being a day late, but have no sympathy for the consumers who buy these vehicles that are full of problems.

The 4.3 liter six cylinder engine is responsive and about the only good thing in this "Stupid Useless Vehicle".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

25th Jun 2004, 06:06

"We have to get the four wheel alignment done about every 10 months (vehicle is used for paved roads 98% of the time)."

This is usual. I have always had my alignment checked every time I bring my Jeep in for service (every 3,000 miles or so). Mine is mainly driven on paved roads, but every now and then I get the urge to take it off-road. Get yours checked often by a mechanic you can trust and I promise you will not have a single problem.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews