2002 GMC Jimmy Reviews

2002 GMC Jimmy SLS 4.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

So far so good

Faults:

So far no problems.

General Comments:

Although I can't comment to much on long term reliability as I haven't even put 10000k on it yet, I really like my Jimmy. It has a very nice ride, and I personally love the interior, and exterior looks, although the interior is typical GM hard plastic for the most part. As far as performance goes, the 4.3 is a very good engine, with good performance.

Overall I'm very happy with it so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2009

2002 GMC Jimmy SLS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Its not my favorite ideal car but for the money you can buy one used its AWSOME

Faults:

Wheel bearing, rear brakes, muffler, ball joints.

General Comments:

This is a wonderfull vehicle, front end parts are known to wear because of the design and I knew that going in, but otherwise it drives great decent on gas, good pulling power and gosh darn it I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2008

2002 GMC Jimmy from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

So far no major problems

Faults:

Stupid Question I know, but I can't find the rear washer fluid tank to fill it up and the owners manual has no reference to it. I can't imagine it would be under the hood. Could some tell me the location of the rear washer tank so I can show her?

Thanks,

Jim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

7th Jan 2010, 17:18

I don't know if your vehicle would be the same, but on my Infiniti QX4, the front/rear windshield washer fluid is shared out of the same reservoir under the hood.

2nd Jul 2012, 03:08

It is the same tank if it is the same design as mine (1997 GMC Jimmy). It has two electric pumps; one for the rear washer and one for the front. The washer nozzle itself might be clogged. Hope this helps.

2002 GMC Jimmy SLS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

OKAY - but just OKAY

Faults:

Oxygen sensor has been a problem since day one. Replaced by dealership twice - still kicks on the check engine light.

Had to replace transmission at 164,000 km (just after extended warranty expired) - all highway driving.

Fuel gauge has not worked properly for ages,

Highway gets about 500 km to a full tank, In Town less than 300.

Driver door whistles and leaks slightly always has.

Nice looking car, nice riding car, just lots of little problems.

Steering wheel covering is crumbling.

Car heat up well even at -30C - plugged in of course.

Recently added a Kia Sorento to our household and will replace this with a Nissan Pick Up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2007

2002 GMC Jimmy SLS 4X4 4 Door 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

A nice family SUV

Faults:

Windshield leaked.

Tires needed to be balanced.

Front Deferential Seal went at 20,000 km.

Exhaust rattles at high temperatures.

Door Seals needed to be replaced due to the doors not being aligned properly.

Fuel Gauge Sensor needed to be replaced.

Rear Tailgate motor replaced at 15,000 km.

Rear Tailgate Trim replaced - dealership broke it when they tried to replace the motor.

When temperatures are below -2 - windy noise/knock from engine.

Timing Belt replaced at 10,000 kms.

General Comments:

I like the ride of the Jimmy, the 4x4 works wonders in the winters in the heavy snow.

Very roomy - tons of room with two car seats and strollers.

With all the problems, I still love this Truck!

Price of Jimmy's are too high though, not very affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

5th Mar 2006, 15:24

The 2003 Jimmy and it's multitude of annoying and expensive problems is only a part of the reason no North America vehicles were chosen in the top 10 this year by consumers. I've been a GM supporter and owner since the 1960's, but this will be my last. The quality is poor and the service deplorable.

20th Feb 2007, 09:56

I own a 2002 jimmy I have had little problems so far, sometimes 4x4 switch goes wonky and fuel gauge being replaced twice and still not reading properly I still loves this truck.

29th Jul 2007, 18:01

I own a 2002 Jimmy and overall I am pretty happy with it. I think the drivers door is not aligned properly as I get a fair amount of wind noise. My biggest problem is that the Cruise Control has stopped working... anyone else have this problem?

2002 GMC Jimmy SLS 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance46000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Very comfortable vehicle to drive

Faults:

Both front wheel bearings went at 18000 k's. (under warranty)

4x4 electric motor went at 24000 k's.

(under warranty)

Catalytic converter went on it at 41000 k's. (under warranty)

General Comments:

This S.U.V. has an abundance of power and provides an excellent ride.

The reliability end of it is what I have my concerns about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews