1989 GMC S-15 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 GMC S-15 Siarra Classic 4.3L V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

It is a great truck!

Faults:

Battery, Fuel Injecter, motor is going out, air conditioning, front brackets on passenger side is broke.

General Comments:

It is a great old truck, I wouldn't have buy another vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2006

1989 GMC S-15 N/A 2.5L Iron Duke Four Tech from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Iron Duke Four Tech Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110 kilometres
Most recent distance156 kilometres
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

The 1989 S15 pickup is a great tough truck that has a few problems but nothing is perfect.

Faults:

I highly recommend to never buy this truck with the stock charcoal grey paint job it has a bad record for peeling off.

Had problems with some of the plastic interior pieces breaking such as the climat control cover.

General Comments:

Touch truck takes pot holes well when you don't see them and are not able to dodge them in time.

Not too bad on gas with the 2.5L I can drive it for two weeks with a full tank before the next fill up.

The 2.5L is great with fluids never have had an oil leak etc.

The 2.5L always started right up on the coldest winter days without being plugges in!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2006

1989 GMC S-15 Sierra Classic 4.3 V6, 262 cu in from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6, 262 cu in Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Hardcore little truck

Faults:

Nothing has failed without first meeting a curb at high speed.

Digital dash is testy with the odometer.

Had motor rebuilt 40,000 ago. Trans is fine. Just did CV joints. Feels like it will last for another 100,000.

General Comments:

Very tough.

Ridiculously easy to find parts for.

Lots of company and fan support.

4x4 is awesome.

All round sweet truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

1989 GMC S-15 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles

Summary:

Best small truck you can buy

Faults:

The head gasket blew out at about 125,000 miles. I replaced the engine myself. I found a used engine with 80,000 miles on it for $100.

The interior in deteriorating. The dash has some cracks in it, the headliner has fallen, and the carpet is heavily worn.

Cabin size may be uncomfortable for taller drivers.

General Comments:

This has been a very reliable vehichle. Besides the engine, I have never replaced any part.

The interior is very comfortable.

It is fun to drive and handles well for a pickup truck.

I own 2 other s-series trucks and both have been very good to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

1989 GMC S-15 Sierra Classic 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Crude, but decent, does the job

Faults:

Head gasket blew, requiring expensive repair.

Alternator failed.

Air conditioner operates erratically.

General Comments:

This truck had served me pretty well. It has decent power, nice interior, the paint still shines up nicely, and the four wheel drive system is easy to use. Typical of the early S-10/S-15 trucks, it's pretty crude. The ride is a bit jittery, but not intolerable. The motor is the early Vortec V6, throttle-body fuel injected, without counterbalancer, so at low RPM's, it has a shudder typical of a Harley-Davidson motorcycle. It's weird, but not detrimental.

The A/C system has developed a habit of shutting off in hot weather. Need to have the dealer fix that headache. The seats are a bit uncomfortable after a long ride, lacking good lumbar support.

The nice thing about the S-10/S-15 trucks is that they are plentiful and cheap. Getting parts for this truck is easy, and almost any mechanic can work on them. A similarly aged Japanese pickup would have cost me twice what I paid for this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2002

3rd Mar 2004, 20:49

Yeah, the S-15 is a decent little truck. What's surprising is how many of these old first generation S trucks (1982 thru 1993) are still on the road; I see dozens on a daily basis. Most are well over 100,000 miles on down the road; like mine, they have peeling paint and show their age, but these little beasts are tough and hard to kill. I found some aftermarket suppliers that now have restoration stuff (all the lenses, dashboard stuff, suspension parts, body panels, etc.) so I can start restoring the old truck.

29th Jun 2006, 22:30

One problem with the S-10 and S-15 trucks is the heat load generated by the 4.3 liter Vortec motor. The original thermostat is set to open at 195 F, which allows underhood temps to get up around 200-230 F over time. This is HOT, and can wear out a lot of stuff due to the thermal stress. I learned from frying my transmission that going to the 180 F thermostat will save wear and tear on the truck. Also, there are plastic fender sections that can be removed next to the shock mounts to allow better airflow through the underhood area.

13th Oct 2006, 08:54

My S-15 is not on the road right now, but I am getting ready to rebuild the whole truck! It is a great truck.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews