1993 GMC Safari Reviews

1993 GMC Safari from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Indestructible

General Comments:

This van cannot be stopped. We've used it for a work van. Had it for 6 years. Has 260k miles on it. We've never even changed the oil in it. I swear I think it just might outlast me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2007

26th Sep 2009, 17:38

6 years and you haven't changed the oil? I don't think your van is going to outlast anyone.

1993 GMC Safari XT 4.3L (vin w) from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3L (vin w) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

Durable family or work van

Faults:

Catalytic Converter at 150,000 miles

Oxygen Sensor at 150,000 miles

Intake Manifold gasket at 165,000

Water Pump at 165,000 miles

Rear Axle (used) at 183,000 miles

Brakes due to business use

Motor mounts due to business use

Front shocks

Tires due to business use.

General Comments:

Thank god I am a G.M. man! In 2002 I bought a 1993 GMC Safari XT van with 149,000 miles on it. Today it has 184,000 miles on it. I use it on my newspaper delivery motor route everyday in bad driving conditions. Dispite understandable problems due to the age of the vehicle, it has definately served its purpose. The 4.3L V6 engine, and automatic transmission just won't quit. I know people who had various vehicles with the 4.3L V6 engine go over 200,000 miles, and still running! This is one reason I bought this van. I hope to buy another Astro or Safari van in the next two years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

25th Oct 2005, 19:09

I have a 94 Safari for sale if you are interested, it runs great and has no major problems, I am just ready for a truck. email flachick2@yahoo.com if you are interested.

27th Jun 2006, 13:15

I have a 93' Safari XT I use for a newspaper motor route as well mines up over 350 000 now since I've been using it for that for years. I have never had any serious trouble with it. I've had some minor transmission work done and I've had to replace the oxygen sensor and throttle position sensor. and aside from brake, exhaust and tie rods/pitman arm its still running and looking like it did when I got it.

1993 GMC Safari XT 4.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance526561 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Best vehicle I've ever owned

Faults:

Have had three ball joint failures.

Bolt holding driver's seat back vertical broke.

Transmission interlock failed, making it impossible to shift out of park.

Passenger's left armrest broke off.

Serious paint peeling began after five years.

General Comments:

This van runs like new after half a million miles.

The engine is original and has never been opened for service.

However I had to install a rebuilt transmission after 350,000 miles.

Aside from the problems mentioned above, all this van has ever required is normal upkeep and occasional replacement of worn parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

1993 GMC Safari from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Perfect fit for our needs

Faults:

Problems with shifting out of park.

Air conditioning died at 80000 miles.

Rebuilt transmission at 105000 miles.

Electric rear hatch is stubborn.

Electric windows have failed.

General Comments:

We're a family of 6, and tow a boat, so this is the only van that meets our needs.

Remarkably, the Safari has been very reliable for us. A few early out of lot problems.

We plan to replace with the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1993 GMC Safari SLX 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance322000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A dependable people mover with very few problems

Faults:

I replaced the transmission at 275000km.

I replaced a rad hose on it.

I replaced the water pump once because of a very long trip.

General Comments:

It has done me very well ever since we got it. I have Krowned (rustproof) it since I got it and the body's solid. My family's getting smaller so I'll be getting a car or something that gets better gas mileage. My van gets maybe 23-24 miles per gallon, I would have wanted better than that, but still this van is made for for towing and I don't do a lot of that. From the success I had with it, it sure makes up for that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2003

1993 GMC Safari XT 4.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance237534 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

Very expensive lemon!

Faults:

1st day of ownership - doors would not open (electric locks malfunction).

2nd day of ownership - car would not go into gear (the interlock switch has a bad design and this is a problem on every hot day to this day).

3rd day of ownership - dealer will replace the flywheel.

4th day of ownership - car at the dealer waiting for parts.

5th day of ownership - dealer replaced two front tires to resolve front end vibration (this problem remains to this day).

6th day of ownership - the car would not start (I am out of town) had to be towed in to a GM dealer. GM provides a rental car.

7th day of ownership - car at the dealer waiting for parts.

8th day of ownership - car at the dealer waiting for parts.

9th day of ownership - transmission blows out most of the transmission fluid car had to be towed in.

10th day of ownership - car at the dealer having the transmission serviced.

And, this was just the beginning!

Since than, I have had to replace several tires and two rims in an attempt to fix the vibration, which by the way, was never fixed to this day, I guess this car was design to shake.

In the third year of ownership all the front end components had to be replaced and I am told now that they are gone once again.

For some strange reason this car needs a new muffler every two years. The local muffler shop is just loving me since they warranty the muffler, but the labor and the rest of the components are not covered by their warranty.

The transmission was rebuilt in the forth year and the transmission fluid lines to the heat exchanger had to be replaced in the second and forth year.

The coolant lines to the rear heater had to be replaced in the forth year of ownership.

Rear shock absorbers do not seem to last more than a two years on this car, I wonder if it is those plastic rear springs.

The air-condition went after four years.

Various sensors and sending units all went, one at a time, after three years. The temperature gauge is no longer working, although the sensor is fine. The switch for the rear heater broke after three years. It is funny how all of this just lasted past the original warranty.

The trim and finish only lasted about three years, after that everything is cracking, curling up and generally looking really bad, and why should I be surprised, they still use vinyl covered foam on this car's doors (1940s technology).

The paint is de-laminating in many places and it is completely gone where the tail pipe hits the fender on large bumps. This car has more rust in more places that I actually feel unsafe driving it in fear of it falling apart as I drive down the highway.

General Comments:

Overall, I have spent more than half of the original cost of the car, on repairs. And, not routine maintenance type of repairs, but just plain lousy quality of parts and bad design kind of stuff. Can you imagine my frustration when you have to spend first 10 days of owning a new car at the dealership? They were not even sympathetic.

Would I buy another GM product? Not in this life time. They have great commercials, but they do not have a product to back them up.

I put 389,000 km on my Chrysler Mini Van and not a screw fell out of it. I put over 430,000 km on my full size Ford van with similar positive experience. I got a brand new Honda from my Honda dealer after 4000 km, because it had bad looking paint that would require repainting and I did not want a repainted new car, now that's positive car experience. I will buy another Honda any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

27th Sep 2002, 21:27

You may have gotten a bad van, but that doesn't mean all of them are the same or that all GM products suck. Our van is going on 300,000 miles one the same engine and we haven't spent nearly as much as you say you spent on yours. We haven't gotten our money's worth out of it and now it's time to let it rest, but it's done it's job and has never let us down.

1993 GMC Safari 2WD 4.3 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

A nice looking vehicle with lots of mechanical problems

Faults:

This vehicle is junk. I have had all kinds of trouble with it. At 60000 miles the valve seals burned out, costing $840.00 to repair.

Now I am having trouble with the fuel system. The pump went out and was replaced, now it is not running again.

I recently met the fellow who owned it before me, and he bought it new and had trouble with it too. At 28000 miles he had the fuel pump replaced. The fuel regulator,and the fuel injectors. And the transmission had to be repaired sevral times when he had it.

Now it has 74000 miles on it, and should still be running fine, but I can`t trust it. It will just stop dead.

G.M. did something wrong when they made this vehicle, it is nothing but a headache. I can`t wait till I save up enough money to get rid of it and buy another vehicle. Any vehicle!

I regret selling my old 1978 Bronco, when I bought this van. At least I could trust it.

I know several other peaple who have had trouble with these vans. I wish I'd have know that when I got it.

It is a nice looking vehicle and rides fine, but the 4.3 engine is junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews