1990 GMC Sierra Reviews

1990 GMC Sierra from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

The Best Truck

Faults:

Stalls. Not gas efficient. Brakes.

General Comments:

Great Truck. Very reliable, and very tough.

We will run this truck until it dies, if it ever dies.

Great for the price.

Even though gas is expensive its very safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2008

1990 GMC Sierra SE 5.0L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Tempest

Summary:

Cheap and reliable

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this truck for $300 in the summer of 2006. It was treated very badly by the previous owner. There were oil leaks, rusted brake lines, and the rear-end was shot. We put about $500 in parts into, including new brakes and lines all around, a used rear-end, and some minor body work around the door pillars and fenders...

Once all the problems were fixed (which are no fault of the truck, they are all just stuff that should have been fixed by the previous owner) the truck has been great. It is a joy to drive, handles well on snow and ice (provided I put some weight in the back) and is not too bad on fuel consumption.

I've been driving it for about 4 months and have no problems, except for a heater blower motor that seized when the temperature went down really cold a few nights ago. Once the temp went up it worked again.

It has over 250,000 km on it; I can't tell the exact amount though because the odometer hasn't worked since I bought the truck...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2007

22nd Mar 2007, 08:18

I am checking in... it is the spring of 2007, and I am still driving this truck... nothing has gone wrong with it yet, with the exception of replacing the distributor cap because water was getting into the cap and making it run poorly on damp rainy days... The distributor cap cost about $20 and the engine has run smoothly since then, as well as experiencing a dramatic increase in gas mileage because the engine was missing on some cylinders. Other than that it has worked perfectly. I strongly recommend these trucks.

10th Aug 2009, 14:25

Thanks for the input. I was thinking of buying a truck off of my friend. It's a 1990 SLE Sierra. He wants 500 bucks for it with 238.000 km. The body was done a while back and it needs some TLC due to blisters. Needs an exhaust from the sounds and look of it from the cat back. Seems peppy. Thanks for your post. I feel I should grab this deal.

1990 GMC Sierra SLE 305 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance319682 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

This was the most reliable truck I have ever owned

Faults:

Alternator has gone out twice.

Rusted cab corners.

Sagging headliner.

General Comments:

This is a very tough truck. I have had this truck over 120 mph more times than I can count.

The fluid and the filter in the transmission has never been changed (oops) but it still shifts perfect.

The interior is very roomy and also very comfortable.

With 319,000 miles on it the engine still ran ok, but it smoked like crazy all the time, but it has never left me stranded.

I recently pulled the engine and transmission, and I am currently building a 400 horsepower engine for it, as well as rebuilding the transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

1990 GMC Sierra LX 5.7 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance209000 miles

Summary:

More than well worth it

Faults:

Driver's door doesn't latch properly.

Seat has busted at the seam.

Runs crappy when it's really cold out. (Haven't traced the problem for that)

Ball joints and stabilizer end links replaced at about 175,000 miles.

Gas tank started leaking at about 205,000 miles; Wasn't too difficult to slap a new one in.

Transmission grinds while shifting into reverse, unless shifted to fifth gear then reverse.

General Comments:

Able to tow full sized car 150 miles with relative ease.

4-wheel drive works great.

You can fit a ten inch sub perfectly behind the seat.

Paint looks remarkable after 15 years.

Very little body rot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

1990 GMC Sierra from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Previous carGMC 1/2 Ton

Summary:

Good price for a beautiful truck

Faults:

Head Gasket had to be replaced.

Seats have a rip in the side where stitches have let loose.

Door handle on the inside has begun to rip.

Drivers door doesn't catch properly.

General Comments:

Four-wheel drive has performed well.

Sounds beautiful driving down the highway.

Good price for condition it was in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

1990 GMC Sierra SLE 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance199000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

This GMC can hang with the Big Dogs

Faults:

Heater Core 140,000

A/C clutch 130,000

Alternator twice 120,000/125,000

Tensioner pulley twice 120,000/125,000

Idler arm 180,000

Fuel pump (inside gas tank) 160,000.

General Comments:

Do you believe this truck? My wife has driven this truck 100,000 miles in the last 9 years and it only left her stranded once. Fuel pump which had to be replaced by dealer. Other than that it has been a gem. No engine or transmission work ever. Not even spark plugs. It blows a very minor amount of smoke at start-up which is valve seals. Other than that it's just oil changes at 3000-3500 miles. I have put about $1500 in repairs in a 13 year old truck in 9 years. Maybe GMC A-Team was on duty to built this one. We went to R-134 refrigerant about 70,000 miles ago and still cools fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

1990 GMC Sierra 1500 5.7L 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145652 miles
Most recent distance178912 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sierra

Summary:

Durable and dependable after all these miles

Faults:

Radiator went out at 150,000.

Wheel bearings replaced at 154,000.

Water-pump had to be replaced at 160,000.

Fuel-pump died at 178,000.

General Comments:

At 178,000+ miles, vehicle still starts every morning and gets me from point A to B in comfort.

Interior is still very comfortable and quiet with only the armrests showing signs of aging with cracks.

The only problem I have with this truck is the gas mileage. But with it having 178,000+ miles on with no overhauls, and it still performing like a rock, it's a problem I will gladly live with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews