2002 GMC Sierra Reviews

2002 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

There is a design flaw in the transfer case

Faults:

Transfer case and transmission went out the first time at 98000.

New transfer case went out again at 56000 miles later.

General Comments:

Truck was built to tow/haul/plow. Has been used very lightly to do all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2011

2002 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

I know my next truck will be a GMC whenever this one quits

Faults:

My first wheel bearing at 189000.

General Comments:

This truck will tow anything, haul wood and drive in deep snow anytime.

It handles great, and I still have the original battery, the truck stays outside all the time in all kinds of weather, I keep it clean and looked after, and it still looks like new.

Very quiet to drive, a lot of power when needed, and braking is great, changed brakes at 92000 kms and they are still good now.

A lot of city driving; fuel mileage is 22 mpg when you treat it nice, mostly averages 19-20 mpg, but the way this things works, mileage is a minor thing to worry about.

My next door neighbour has a 03 Ford 150 with 75000 kms, and has more front end and leak problems, and he is kicking himself he did not buy a GMC.

It's great for taking the grand kids in the back, extended, they don't play with the doors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2010

2002 GMC Sierra SLT 5.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

The worst vehicle you can buy

Faults:

Tow haul button the first day I had it.

Clunk when I turn the steering wheel. Told it was a U joint in the column.

Two blown heads due to micro fracture Castek heads. Look it up.

Two broken shackles.

Rusted brake lines.

General Comments:

I have owned GM products my whole life. I will never buy another one. I am telling as many people I can to steer clear of this brand. I have owned 10 GM products, and this one is the worst I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2009

27th Nov 2009, 14:17

Our GMC is flawless at 80,000+ miles. Never a single repair. It even still has the original brake pads.

Now our Honda... THAT was a real nightmare! No domestic we've ever owned could hold a candle to Honda as the world's worst vehicle. Sorry you got a lemon, but it must be VERY RARE. Neither of our two current GM vehicles (2001 and 2003) has ever required a single repair.

2002 GMC Sierra from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance205146 miles
Previous carChevrolet K2500

Summary:

This truck is awesome, I'm keeping it until it doesn't want to run anymore

Faults:

The only thing that was wrong with this truck was a transmission cord that broke, but that was only a $100 fix at 201,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is awesome. Handles very well in the snow 4x4. I snow plow every winter. I beat the hell out of this truck and yet only 1 thing has gone wrong with this thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2008

2002 GMC Sierra sl V6 vortec from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 vortec Automatic
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

Overall the truck has been wonderful!

Faults:

Radio lights quit working.

Coolant Leak.

General Comments:

I have owned this truck for 6 years now and have put 130,000 miles on it with No Problems other than a coolant leak at 125,000 miles. Strictly had routine maintenance such as oil changes completed. Truck still drives wonderful!

I would certainly purchase another GMC truck, that is if gas prices were lower!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2008

2002 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 vortec from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.3 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carGMC 1/2 Ton

Summary:

A must own by any truck person

General Comments:

This truck is great. If you are kicking it around, do not hesitate to pick one up.

On mine I have 145000 km and it is still super strong.

I love my truck and wouldn't consider anything else; lots of power, and great on fuel for a truck.

I have the Z71 and it looks great with the fog lights on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

2002 GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT 6.6L Duramax diesel from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.6L Duramax diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance165900 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

One very awesome truck!

Faults:

A fuse had a loose connection so truck would not start. Took 2 days to find the problem.

General Comments:

I have the 2500HD SLT Extended cab, long box truck. Charcoal exterior and grey interior. It has the 6.6L Duramax diesel engine.

This vehicle does not have a quick off the line, but once you get going you are up to over 100 KM/H in no time.

The previous owner spent a lot of money on this truck as it has twin turbo's, 4" exhaust, Dual boost gauges. It is loaded with all most every option that was available at the time. As well as a sliding tunnel cover.

The leather seats are very comfortable and the seat heaters are awesome when it is cold out.

One of the downfalls of this truck is the leg room in the back seat. That is, there isn't much room if the front seats are 3/4 to 100% of the way back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2007

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews