2007 GMC Sierra Reviews

2007 GMC Sierra Vortec Max SLT 6.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Comfortable, roomy in crew cab, and powerful

Faults:

Leak in gas tank 1 week after purchase.

Driver's side door hinges seized up.

Interior door trim not secure to the body.

Front axle boot torn.

All above items were overlooked by the used car dealer I purchased it from.

General Comments:

Nice truck overall in SLT trim.

A lot of options.

Still getting used to size since stepping up from a car.

Should have gone just with the 5.3 motor, since I don't really tow anything. Just wanted the 367 horses in the 6.0.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2011

16th Aug 2011, 08:26

We have two GMC products, and both are having issues with starting. One, the Olds Bravada has anti theft issues, and the 07 Sierra on occasion doesn't want to start; no lights, no nothing...

2007 GMC Sierra SLT 6.6 Duramax diesel from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6.6 Duramax diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Very impressed

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this truck new off the lot in Sep/07, and have since put 70,000 kilometers on it. It has been rock solid reliable throughout that time, with not a single trip to the dealership required (I do my own maintenance).

I purchased it to haul a truck camper in the bed, with my boat hooked up to the hitch. It performs the task flawlessly. There is always power to spare, and the Allison 6spd automatic transmission is superb.

I'm a tall guy (6'4"), and this is the most comfortable vehicle I've ever owned. There is plenty of leg and head room available, without even requiring the seat to be pushed all the way back.

Originally, I wanted a Ford Super-Duty because I like the styling better. The GMC/Chev line was (in my opinion) the ugliest of the big three, but I decide to go with it anyway because of the reliability problems with Ford's 6.4 diesel, and Dodge's automatic transmission. And now I'm very glad I made that choice.

I can't say enough good things about this vehicle. I'd buy one again in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

2007 GMC Sierra 1500 Z-71 5.3L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51 miles
Most recent distance16800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Excellent all purpose vehicle

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have the Sierra Classic 1500 Extended Cab Z-71 4x4; 2007 being the last year for this body style.

This truck handles like a car and rides like a Cadillac. The interior of the extended cab has the comforts of a luxury car; I will probably never own another car simply for the lack of need thanks to the versatility of this truck.

The engine is very quiet and more than powerful enough; the flex fuel capability allows me to use the E85 Gas. E85 Gas is not as efficient as the conventional fuel, but this vehicle handles both fuels with no change in overall performance. There are no switches to throw; just gas and go.

I have equipped this vehicle with the necessary equipment for service in the volunteer fire service; not only does it look sharp, but its performance is superior to any other truck I have ever owned. Transmission shifting is smooth, and the power is unbelievable. I average over 16 mpg, which is outstanding for a vehicle this size.

It's a great looking vehicle that will still look top of the line for many years to come. I love this truck, and will run it as long as it will let me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

13th Nov 2007, 20:48

I have a 2006 GMC sierra 4X4 Z71. I loved my truck until the transmision went out. I paid a lot of money for this vehicle, my last six vehicles have been Toyota. I should have stuck with Toyota they never left me stranded on the side of the road.

2007 GMC Sierra Z-71 SLE 5.3 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

It is the sorriest vehicle I have ever owned and I will never buy another GM product

Faults:

Stereo rear speakers will not balance Doors squeak and wind noise Hood is so flimsy it 'oil cans' even on a smooth road GM service is nonexistent Seats are very uncomfortable after about 30 minutes.

General Comments:

Quality and fit are very poor especially for the price and customer service is nonexistent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2007

2007 GMC Sierra Classic 5.3 flex fuel V8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3 flex fuel V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Awesome truck, love it

Faults:

Nothing, this has been one awesome truck so far, of course it is brand new with very little miles on it still.

General Comments:

It is a sierra classic extended cab 2wd with the flex fuel 5.3 v8. The motor is very powerful and fuel efficient. I love the fact that I can buy home grown e85 fuel for it and support our local farmers by buying the e85 fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2007

20th Apr 2008, 16:17

I am the original poster. The truck now has 18,000 miles on it and still absolutely no trouble, still on the original brakes and tires. Fuel mileage seems to be going up as more miles are added. Will keep updating as more miles come.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 5 reviews