1995 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2 from North America


This truck is rugged and reliable


Prior to the expiration of the warranty I had 2 universal joints replaced. After the warranty expired I had to replace the fan clutch, and at least 2 more universal joints.

I think the constant velocity joint in the two section drive shaft is getting bad now. I get a high freq vibration at about 49-52MPH.

The drivers seat broke at 170000 and was replaced by one from an 1986 junker.

I endure an external leaky cylinder head that oozes antifreeze into the last two spark plug holes. I cure that with a bottle of stop leak every 40,000 miles.

I have one speaker intermittently failing.

General Comments:

At 217000 miles plus I am very pleased with the little truck. I average around 25 MPG.

I have the original clutch, rear brakes, and until just the other day the original spark plugs.

Although not as smooth a ride as my old Dakota the reliability is worth the trade off.

I sometimes tow a boat and trailer with this truck. The ratio of the 1st gear is lower than that of the Dakota making the clutch last longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

5th Apr 2005, 08:09

Can anyone tell me how much it would be to replace a universal joint?

1995 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2L from North America


Reliable truck, great for customizing!


Thermostat housing has blew through recently (71,000 miles) and was very cheap to fix.

The battery does not hold a charge well.

Very tough to install custom audio system due to the size of stock stereo, and very little space behind seats (regular Cab).

General Comments:

This is a great little truck. Very reliable, great for the working student. I have not had problems with lines/oil pans in the 72,000 miles I have racked up on it. I did change oil every 2,000 miles and only used Mobile1 oil. This is a fun project truck also, I had a blast custom modifying it. I recommend it highly to anyone looking for a good reliable truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

1995 GMC Sonoma LS 4.3 V6 from North America


A great work truck


The transmission failed at around 200000kms.

The rear end is too light for the V6 engine; therefore, it fishtails in the rain.

The Bench seat's headrests are too low.

General Comments:

This truck is an great work truck, very versatile.

The frame is really strong. It withstood a 50km/h impact with only damage to the bumper and tailgate.

The engine is great on hills.

For a truck with over 313000kms it has very few problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

1995 GMC Sonoma SL 4.3 from North America


A great small truck!


When I first purchased the truck the four wheel drive light remained on all the time while driving in two wheel drive. The dealer replaced the four wheel drive engagement switch. I later replaced it again at around 90,000 kilometers.

The rear main seal leaked and was covered under extended warranty.

At around 60,000 kilometers the intake gaskets began leaking coolant and now at 170,000 kilometers they are leaking again.

The bearing in the alternator got very noisy and had to replace the battery and the alternator.

I have a starting problem which I am still unsure of what the cause is. I replaced the central fuel injector and the fuel pump and I still have a problem with fuel getting to the engine on cold starts.

General Comments:

Overall I still love the truck. As much work as I have to put into it, I feel it has served me well. The truck has great pep and generally handles well in all weather conditions. It is also great off-road truck and aside from the problems I will run the truck to no end!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

1995 GMC Sonoma SLS 4.3 EFI from North America


This has been a very mechanically sound truck


The vehicle is on its fourth battery, but I feel that is the nature of Florida.

An outside manual mirror has fallen off every fifty thousand miles. I am preparing to have to put the fifth mirror on the truck.

The oil pan had to be replaced at 100,000 miles, either due to the plug threads failing or sloppy mechanics at the dealer changing the oil. I have lifetime oil and filter change in the purchase deal.

General Comments:

I have a 1995 Sonoma, currently 142,000 miles. Thus far, it has been a very mechanically sound vehicle. The engine has performed marvelously. Does not have the first leak of any kind.

I have experienced minor problems. It is on its fourth battery, but I think that is the nature of batteries in Florida.

Alternator replaced.

The left rear speaker on the standard AM/FM radio quit early on.

When I bought the truck, the dealer threw in lifetime oil and filter change. On schedule, every 3,000 miles the oil has and still is changed. At 100,000 I had to have the oil pan changed because the threads for the plug gave out or were stripped by a careless oil changer. That cost $500 in labor. They have to drop the lower half of the front end to change the pan!

My one real complaint is every 50,000 miles, I lose one of the outside manual mirrors. They are weak; they bounce to a point where they break off. I am about to lose the right side for the second time. I have replaced both sides one time already. This will be the fifth outside mirror on the truck. I sent an email to GMC, and was basically told it was not a recognized problem, and they just did not give a hoot.

Has anybody else had this problem? I have noticed that the design of the mirror was changed in 1997 to a stronger housing. Does anybody know if this newer style will fit on the '95 model?

As I said previously, this Sonoma has been a very good mechanically sound truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

21st Mar 2004, 21:13

I am the owner of a 94 sonoma. I have lost both the left and right side mirror once. The driver side was lost to a speed bump at probably five miles per hour and the left was lost to a friend who barely leaned on it. They do seem to be a little weak.

12th Apr 2004, 18:20

I am the owner of 1995 Sonoma. I have put 138,000 miles on her, and the driver side mirror and the passenger side mirrors haven't fell off yet, but I think that both of them are going to before the next oil change.

6th Jul 2004, 11:36

I also own a 1995 Sonoma and both of my mirrors are about to fall off. I agree that the structure of the mirror housing seems to be a little weak. What can be done about this?

30th Jul 2005, 02:14

The battery is a systemic problem with the 1995 Sonoma. Note that newer models have their batteries wrapped. This is to reduce under hood temperatures to the battery. I am on my 6th battery. Get one with a long warranty because it is going to keep happening. My ignition key does not move into the off position all the time. The result is the door continues to buzz and if not moved to the off position by hand (without the key in) it will drain the battery. Is this a problem with yours too?

Rear speaker went out in mine too. I know it really shakes on that plastic panel.

30th Jul 2005, 02:18

Oil pan replacement.

The oil pan is aluminum and if the drain plug is overtightened then the steel drain plug will beat/strip out the oil pan threads. Your dealer made a mistake. The drain plug has this composite washer that must be replaced about every third oil change. You should carry one with you and hand it to the dealer on every third oil change. Why you ask? As this washer deteriorates, the drain plug could leak slightly, so what does the installer do? They over tighten the drain plug and eventually strip those threads.