1996 GMC Sonoma Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1996 GMC Sonoma SLS Extended Cab 2.2 liter 4 cylinder 5 speed from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4 cylinder 5 speed Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carIsuzu I-Mark

Summary:

This pickup is an under powered dog

Faults:

Head gasket leaked anti-freeze (repaired under warranty).

Left side of the driver's seat starting to wear at the back (feels like part of the bracket underneath).

General Comments:

This engine is way under powered for this pickup (my mistake, should have bought a V6).

Major pain to replace the flasher modules (remove most of the dash).

Generally good service around town or light hauling. Painfully bad performance on the highway. Forget the A/C in any incline. Get going down hill if you want to pass anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

29th Mar 2007, 15:48

You're not giving the Sonoma the credit it deserves for the type of truck it is. If you want power, then get a sports car. It's a truck, it SUPPOSED to be slow. Not that I don't care for speed, though. I used to have a 1998 white V6 Camaro Coupe and I hated it because I wished I would've gotten an 8-cylinder Sports Car instead. And I would rather have an 8-cylinder Sports Car with that performance rather than a slow pick-up truck.

But I still like it for the time being. I just like you have a 1996 GMC Sonoma with a 2.2 4-cylinder engine. Yes, it's slow, it hey, it's got that extended cab for extra room and more room in the flatbed than what a Cevy S10 has. The Sonoma's flatbed is about 3 or 4 inches longer. And look at its good gas mileage with a good tune-up. It's a little better than what the V6 model has.

1996 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28066 miles
Most recent distance52100 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Decent transportation, nothing more, nothing less

Faults:

Driver's side seat is wearing out.

Anti-freeze was found leaking in engine on 10/08/00. It was fixed under warranty.

Needed back brake shoes and pads at 33,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall it is not a bad truck, but the engine is too sluggish on the freeway.

The air conditioning is not as cold as I would like it.

The factory radio had very poor sound quality. I replaced it with an Alpine system.

I think I will buy either a Mercury Grand Marquis or Buick LeSaber next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

31st Jul 2001, 16:14

The reason your A/C isn't cold enough is mostly likely that you have R-134A Freon which isn't as cold as R-12 Freon. R-12 is bad for the ozone so the goverment taxes to the point where it costs 100 dollars for a pound of R-12 where as R-134A is less bad for the ozone so it only costs around 5 bucks per pound.

1996 GMC Sonoma 2 wd 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Distance when acquired43500 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyage

Summary:

Too many repairs

Faults:

U-joints, 2 ball joints, A/C compressor, turn signal component, windshield wiper motor, brakes.

General Comments:

Very concerned on having 2 ball joints break within 6 months of each other, could have been a deadly accident.

Like the feel of the truck, but consider it dangerous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

19th Mar 2004, 09:26

I agree completely and have even more horror stories.

I have fixed everything in my 8 years of ownership and keep getting sucked in believing "well, I might as well keep it" because there are so many new parts. I'd never get another one.

21st Oct 2007, 23:18

I also had a U-joint problem, producing a heavy drag and finally costing me $177 to repair.

1996 GMC Sonoma 2WD SLS 2.2 4 Cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 Cyl Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

The best vehicle I've ever owned

Faults:

U-joint went out. Repair cost was a little high, because of the way it's designed.

The air vent fins needed to be replaced when I first bought it. Really, hardly any problems!

General Comments:

Great, functional little truck.

Only criticisms: No guts on an uphill incline if you don't build up momentum first :) and the shift pattern is not conducive to downshifting, especially if you need to do so quickly.

I'd buy another one in a heartbeat, but want 4WD and extra cab!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews