2001 GMC Sonoma Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2001 GMC Sonoma SLE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance18520 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Some manufacture flaws

Faults:

The dashboards are warping or "humping" where the windshield meets the dash about 1.5 ft from the far right side. this is also going on in my 2001 jimmy, both vehicles share the same dashboard.

General Comments:

This truck seems to lack in towing capacity.

But handles like a sports car on the highway and is relatively quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2003

2001 GMC Sonoma SLS 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance14100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Less than average build quality at a price that is unjustifiably high

Faults:

The engine fan clutch assembly was terribly noisy.

Paint on the hood had lost its shine.

Engine has faint valve tap.

Anti-lock braking system engages when braking on a bumpy road surface.

General Comments:

The interior and exterior of the truck are attactive and comfortable.

However there are a number of squeaks and rattles when driving.

Many interior components look and feel cheap and easy to break.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

11th Dec 2009, 13:28

The brake thing is normal. You are driving a truck. Its suspension is hard. Therefore when you hit bumps, the tire can leave the ground and the brake locks the wheel. When that happens, the ABS kicks in. It's doing exactly what it's supposed to do.

2001 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

GM could do better, shop around first

Faults:

Bad fuel pump at 5000 miles.

Another bad fuel pump at 5005 miles.

Broken door handle for third door.

General Comments:

Vehicle is a little expensive for what you get.

With the 2.2 liter engine, long driving is painful due to lack of power.

GM should be ashamed about the gas mileage, I average around 19 mpg with a four cylinder, my neighbor averages 17 mpg with an 8 cylinder.

Reliability has been very good.

This is my second Sonoma, and probably my last Sonoma.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

8th May 2003, 12:07

22 months & 60k left hub replaced.

24 months & 73k right & left hub replaced.

25 months & 75K fuel pump replaced.

About $2,500.. Too much... And I don't think I'd buy another one.

17th Jun 2003, 06:56

I recently purchased my 2001 Sonoma SLS Extended Cab. Fortunately, it was certified by GM and I purchased an extended warranty. The vehicle is incredibly underpowered (2.2 liter engine) and I am always tempted to turn off the A/C before even driving up small inclines. Less than one month after my purchase the A/C compressor had to be replaced; thank God for the warranty! Overall, I am very disappointed with the vehicle and would not buy another.

2001 GMC Sonoma SLS 4x4 Extended Cab 4.3 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous carMazda B4000

Summary:

As GMC states...

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I have spent considerable time with this vehicle in off road situations and am always pleasantly surprised at its capabilities. Both on and off road this truck has generous power and a comfortable ride. I have owned 4 small 4x4s in the past from Toyota, Mazda, Nissan, and Ford and have found this truck to be at least the equal to (Toyota, Mazda, Nissan) or much better (Ford) than the others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2002

2001 GMC Sonoma SLS X-Cab Highrider 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

An overpriced, under designed vehicle

Faults:

Service engine soon light continues to come on due to a air ump that has repeatedly been replaced.

A clunking noise comes and goes in the front-end during some right hand turns.

The power windows due not seal properly when put up at highway speeds causing a loud wind noise. (design flaw)

The radio buttons started to wear out after about six months old. These are the same buttons that I saw completely worn out in a friends 1995 truck.

Mud-flaps do not fit on this vehicle. GM claims that the "fender flares should catch all of the mud and road wash". The truck already had serious paint chipping on the underside of the doors when it was six months old.

General Comments:

The truck looks and drives nice.

It is too bad that GM engineers and designers have not corrected the problems that have persisted with this model for at least six years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

2001 GMC Sonoma SLS 4WD CREW CAB 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Poorly engineered transportation

Faults:

The sending unit in the gas tank needed replacement when brand new. It took the dealership three tries to order and install the correct part.

The dealership misaligned the fuel door after repairing the sending unit in the gas tank. It took another visit to correct this problem.

The seals around the front windows were missing the clips that hold them in place. They would start to come off the vehicle in a stiff breeze.

There is also a loud vibration from the rear end while pulling away from a dead stop after the car has been running non-stop for about twenty miles. It has been in the shop twice for this problem and the dealership is unable to duplicate the problem.

General Comments:

With the heavy-duty suspension package and the 3.73 ratio rear end, this truck is generally a slow performer and it gets poor gas mileage. The sticker suggests 15 / 20. I have generally observed 12 / 17.

The ride is however good for a four wheel drive truck. And passengers in the rear seats say that there is plenty of leg room and the ride is comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews