2003 GMC Sonoma zr2 V2 2.3liter from North America


Amazingly good


Busted the gasket and 4x4 doesn't work.

General Comments:

Amazingly good except for gas mialege. She definently loves to suck the gas down. Also amazing off-road even with just 2 wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

2003 GMC Sonoma 4.3 from North America


This truck drives good and is a good value


Brake pads went bad at 15000 miles, and I had to replace the rotors as well.

Transmission line broke and all of the transmission fluid drained out while on the freeway. Covered under warranty.

Passenger window makes really bad noise when rolling up. Dealer couldn't find anything wrong and would not replace it. Now the noise is louder and not covered under warranty.

Belts are showing bad wear as well.

When at an idle, a loud buzzing/crackling noise comes from dash.

General Comments:

The truck has very nice design qualities and I like the interior setup.

It drives very well on the freeway with very little road noise when windows are rolled up.

Very smooth suspension over bumpy roads.

4.3 has impressive power, when computer wants to calculate shift points correctly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

30th Mar 2006, 14:42

I also have a 2003 GMC that had the buzzing/ crackling sound in the dashboard that was happening at idle. I noticed that when I put my foot on the gas pedal it would stop or speed up. Dealer knew immediately that the gas pedal cable was installed wrong and was rubbing on something at the engine. They moved it and VOILA the noise was gone.

2003 GMC Sonoma ZR2 4.6L from North America


If you need a stock small off-road-capable truck with no acceleration, this is for you


Muffler and heat-shield rattled.

General Comments:

My last truck was also a GMC Sonoma with the same motor, 4x4, but a 5spd and no offroad package.

The last one had good acceleration (for a 200k miles v6 pickup).

This ZR2 can barely get out of it's own way. Very poor acceleration no matter what the conditions.

The last truck got 22MPG, this one gets 16MPG if I'm lucky.

I want my 215,000mi (when sold) 94 Sonoma back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

2003 GMC Sonoma SLS 2wd zq8 4.3 Liter from North America


A sports car with an extra large trunk


Transmission line broke at 20,000 miles, leaked out all fluid, had to be towed to nearest dealer and repaired under warranty.

One faulty tire at 5,000 miles, dealer sent me down the street to their supplier and fixed for free.

Faulty thermostat at 27,000 miles. Under warranty.

Brake sensor went bad at 32,000 miles, again no charge under warranty.

General Comments:

A fun truck to drive with the combination of the 4.3 liter engine and the zq8 sport suspension package, pretty quick and handles tight.

This truck takes well to some of the reputable bolt on performance products out there such as aftermarket air intake systems and exhaust systems.

A good compromise to the Chevy Extreme because you get the same performance and suspension package with out the low rider, ground effects look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2004

22nd Jul 2006, 22:53

I love my little 2002 ZQ8.

To me it it's just like its cousin the Corvette - minus large V8. It is a great truck to drive.

The only thing that went wrong was the AC compressor killed itself at mile 1500, left outer control failed and the driver's seat bracket broke apart at 71,000 miles.

Things that happen outside my control was some idiot plowed into me at 45mph and toasted my bed, tailgate and bumper at 64000 miles while it was parked in a parking garage. The frame was not damaged.

2003 GMC Sonoma SLS ZR2 4.3 liter V6 from North America


A truck that needed to be refined


Engine has been using 1 quart of oil per 2,000 miles since new. Dealership claims GM is designing their engines to intentionally use oil, because dealership says the engines last longer that way. Also have been told by dealer that I am too fussy about oil consumption. No leaks found by service department. Have owned a large number of GM products previous to this truck. None used oil. I change my oil and filter every 3,000 miles, so am adding approximately 1.5 quarts between oil changes. Currently asking GM to take this truck back on trade for another GM product of my choice. Also had a front axle seal leaking. Replaced by dealership under warranty.

General Comments:

Plenty of power.

Relatively poor gas mileage for a small truck.

Disturbed by oil consumption issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

31st Dec 2007, 18:06

Odd... bought my '03 Sonoma 4x4 Crew Cab, 6 cyl, with 127,000 km (79,000 miles). It didn't use any oil till last summer, when pulling a 22' lite-weight travel trailer through fairly rugged hills, in fairly extreme heat. Then, it used a half a litre of oil, but that's all it needed on 5,000 km (3,000 miles). After that trip (this is written 5 months later), even though I did some more normal trailering, no more oil used. I drive it pretty aggressively and have 167,000 km (c 100,000 miles) on it... does not use oil. Your dealer is blowing smoke.

2003 GMC Sonoma 4x4 Ext. Cab SL 4.3 V6 from North America


Buy it if you like to hang out in the dealer service department


Flickering radio display on the way home from the dealer. Incorrectly programmed dimmer control module, fixed after replacing radio twice.

Passenger window won't close all the way if vehicle is moving, due to air pressure pushing window against weatherstripping.

3rd door handle hard to operate, doesn't seem to line up correctly win driver door.

Broken gears in 3rd CD player, wouldn't take CD's. Only had truck a couple of weeks so far.

Delay wiper module died. About 20,000 miles/6 months.

Transfer case switch failed and sucked fluid into the vacuum system. About 30,000 miles/9 months.

4wd actuator in front end disintegrated. About 30,000 miles/9 months.

Heater/AC controls failed as a result of transmission fluid in the lines. Entire vacuum system replaced, HVAC control head replaced about 5 or 6 times, fails within 2 weeks. Not successfully repaired to date.

Broken gears in CD player again. Wouldn't eject CD. About 40,000 miles/14 months.

General Comments:

Costs way too much to be so unreliable.

I'm switching to Toyota at the first opportunity.

Very glad I bought the 100,000 mile extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

8th Apr 2006, 08:51

I've had the same issues with my 2003 Sonoma. The climate control has a service bulletin on it. Still unresolved after several repair attempts.

My passenger side window doesn't close completely when traveling, or closes with a thunk.

Oh, and how about the gas overflowing when you're filling the tank!

Warranty covered rust on the edge of the bed and in the door sills.