2006 Holden Astra Reviews

2006 Holden Astra CDX 1.8 Ecoteh from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Ecoteh Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance144 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

The best small/medium car around

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. The car has plenty of pick up which I thought it would not because of its heavier weight, but it goes along nicely. The on board computer takes a bit to get used to, but once you master it is amazing the things it will tell you. The one touch indicators also take a bit to get used to. The Astra is the best value for money compared to the competition it has space and handling. The fuel economy is great as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2006

2006 Holden Astra convertiable from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45 kilometres
Most recent distance7800 kilometres
Previous carHolden Astra

Faults:

Very small sun visors.

No interior light or mirror.

Have had a problem with the paint chipping on thr front, but is being repaired under warranty.

Great service supplied by chch dealers.

General Comments:

Great all round car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2006

2006 Holden Astra CDTi 1.9 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance160 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Diesel powered rocket

Faults:

Nothing (yet :)

General Comments:

I was going to buy a 2.0 TDI golf, I already have a 2003 Passat that I bought new, so it’s not as if I am new to the VW badge.

What was attracting me to the Golf was the 320 Nm or torque and a generous 103 kW. I did quite a few miles test-driving the Golf. I wanted to get the Golf, but the interior (boring grey on grey) and exterior (looking like a corolla) were depressing me. I also thought the ride on the golf was a bit jiggly. And the demo car had some squeaks and rattles…my Passat had the same squeaks and rattles…what was I going to do I seem doomed to buy a boring, squeaky car with a great engine.

Enter the Astra, 320 Nm torque and 110 kW, looks better inside and out, goes harder, handles better than the Golf (IMO) and had a better ride quality…for about $8000 less (after haggling) than the similarly equipped Golf. This car put a smile on my face and hardly dented my bank account. You have a national network of Holden dealers to back it up…I mean how many VW dealers are there around Australia…there is only 1 in Adelaide where I am.

I love this car.

Nothing is perfect –

This diesel engine is a little noisy at idle (although you get used to it after a couple of days). At any speed over 30 km/hr the engine has a smooth grunty sound. At 80 you are struggling to hear the engine any more.

This has to be the Holden of the decade.

Welcome to the future Holden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2006

2006 Holden Astra CDTI 1.9 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

The best-kept secret in the Australian car-market!

Faults:

We had problems with sales staff (initially condescending and disinterested until a male returned with the buyer). When will we be able to buy on-line from the manufacturer, and bypass these sharks?

There are some mild paint blemishes on vehicle and it has limited passenger storage spaces. Don't even think of adding after-market electrics, such as sound-systems or driving lights since the vehicle systems are proprietary and tightly integrated.

General Comments:

I largely agree with the previous reviewer on this car. Ours was bought as a replacement 'shopping trolley' / commuter for my wife's Pulsar, with a view to upgrading a little for holiday trips (My other vehicle is an RA Holden Rodeo Turbo Diesel Crew Cab). We had also considered Subaru and VW models.

I am an unabashed diesel fan and this little beauty did not disappoint me. I have not felt acceleration like that since my beloved V8 Torana. It does low 8's for 0-100 and the published top speed is 208kmh.

The cars are built in Belgium and Germany. The diesel design comes from a European 'skunk-works' involving a consortium of GM, Fiat, Alfa and Saab. The engine is literally a 21st Century creation and is as good as diesel gets, period. The turbo is a top-shelf Garret unit with variable-vane technology. The common-rail injection system is capable of multiple squirts in each cycle, each accurate to one cubic millimetre of volume.

The car is 'tight' in all respects. There is no body flex and the handling inspires great confidence. The car feels 'safe' to ride in and the suite of electronic stability enhancements lifts amateur drivers into the Schumacher class (well, protects them from the consequences of their mistakes to a large extent). It has more airbags than a 737 (grin). This is a car you would be comfortable sending your loved-ones out in.

Overall, we feel that we have made a very good choice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2006

23rd Feb 2007, 20:31

Regarding the stereo, if you want to modify it you can. I recommend exchanging the head unit with another Blaupunkt with DigiCeiver interface. This can be single din or double. you will need a facia kit, they are not hard to get. DigiCeiver allows the information to display on the car display unit. If you do not use a DigiCeiver, it will still work, you will just have your last track listing permanently showing.

28th Jan 2010, 19:37

Quick comment on the CDTI head unit - it is easily replaced. Buy a Connects2 Vauxhall can bus adapter that suits the car, and a new head unit is a plug and play proposition. You lose the track details on the cars in-dash screen, but if you buy a LCD unit then this isn't a problem. Trip computer, clock setting etc can all be managed through the steering wheel controls.

12th Apr 2010, 03:09

30mpg at 100mph!! Anything to match that?

But seriously, and even with the ridiculous wheel/tyre combo that I specified (super wide 18s), a wonderful piece of kit. Capable of covering huge distances without dropping the need to change down from 6th gear, including highway overtaking.

Much, much more capable than the SV6 Commodore that followed it into my garage.

3rd May 2011, 04:30

Selling a Hilux for an Astra is a pretty big change in type of car.

Having said that, buy an Astra and you will never look back.

2006 Holden Astra CDTi 1.9 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

A "pocket rocket" with stylish looks to boot

Faults:

Have only owned the car for a short time so as would be expected nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car has astounding acceleration, far better than my previous car, the Alfa 156 (and I thought that was fast).

Suspension is slightly harsh, but that is the price you pay for very good handling.

Interior is a bit spartan and the instrument panel old-fashioned and boring, but the level of standard equipment, including ESP, six airbags, fuel management system/trip computer and MP3 CD player, is outstanding for a car in this price range. Rain-sensing wipers would have been a nice addition.

Love the six-speed gearbox and the "sport" button which boosts acceleration even in sixth gear.

Overtaking and driving hard through corners is sheer joy. This is definitely a driver's car.

I love the looks on the faces of young guys in their "rice burners" when I blow them away at the lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th September, 2006

2006 Holden Astra CDX 1.8 Ecotech from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Ecotech Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance11000 kilometres

Summary:

Great, but not perfect

Faults:

Wheels were not aligned or balanced when I picked the car up.

Dealer failed to install rear demister. This required a visit to dealer.

Radio volume/reception is hopeless at the best of times.

Noticeable rattle in rear doors. Dealer unable to locate cause.

Air-con piping came loose in engine bay after only 6000km, which required another visit to the dealer and was rectified.

General Comments:

Easily the best looking car in the class.

Comes with more standard features than almost any other competitor.

Well priced.

Very informative, if not easy to use, trip computer.

Holden could easily have installed the MP3 compatible sound system that you get in the cheaper CD model, but chose not to.

Could do with a few more engine options. 1.8 doesn't quite cut it compared with the rest of the cars in the field.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews