1993 Holden Berlina 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand


Very beautiful


My fuel pump went at 20,000ks after purchase.

Central locking.

Rack and pinion.

Front brake pads.

General Comments:

I love my car, and I will never trade it in on anything. It has serious grunt for a V6 auto, it's excellent to drive, and it's so comfortable.

Don't like the heater; it doesn't start working properly until the engine is completely warmed up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2011

15th Dec 2011, 03:49

As to the heater, that's normal if the heater relies purely on coolant to heat the core. I had a little Charade, and if I had the heater on too soon in winter, the engine temperature would fall.

1993 Holden Berlina VR 3.6 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Fast, loads of room, Widely supported model, cheap parts through Holden wreckers


Transmission required rebuilding at 235,000K's $2000.

Differential is slipping at 246,000K's.

Coil pack required replacing at 240,000k's $400.

Power windows in back haven't worked since purchase.

General Comments:

The Berlina has ABS & IRS installed so it handles really well.

Climate control, power windows and trip computer are nice added extras.

Once beyond the "to be expected" repairs that had to be completed this car is an awesome second car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2005

1993 Holden Berlina LX 5.0ltr V8 from Australia and New Zealand


The v8 engine is a must for this model


Radiator leaks.

Broken water pump.

Headlight globes were always blowing every couple of months.

Headlight switch on dash broke twice.

Drivers side power window failed 2 or 3 times, fixed by holden then central locking failed, due to incorrect placement of power window parts.

Factory tint poor quality.

Paint extremely poor quality.

General Comments:

Very fast v8 engine.

Extremely comfortable and reliable fully optioned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

24th Apr 2005, 10:34

If you have Headlight covers /protectors remove them and your lights will stop blowing so often. Tell me if I'm wrong.

1993 Holden Berlina 3.8 Litres from Australia and New Zealand


A Top motor vehicle with many years left in it


Nothing major to this date. interior light switch needs to be replaced at some stage.

General Comments:

A top vehicle that has given me 16000 Km of trouble free motoring at this stage. Excellent fuel economy on the highway (with a best ever average of 6.9 litres/100km) in good conditions. town fuel economy is also good at approx 13 litres/100km. can get under 10 litres (most of the time) on the highway which is excellent for a 6 cylinder vehicle. in the time that I have had this car the only money that has been spent on it is servicing costs and driving light installation. Also an excellent cruising vehicle

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

23rd Jan 2008, 23:08

Just an Update on this car, I still own it and it continues to be virtually trouble free. it has now covered 231000 km and the only non maintenance that has been carried out was a new fuel pump at approximately 182000 km. it has also had the A/C regassed as well. Still a top performer and quite capable of doing long distances. I took it from Blayney to Warrnambool (aaprox 12hr drive) with no trouble at all.

9th Jun 2008, 03:48

Just another update on this vehicle. It has now covered 242000 km and I have just spent approx $1000 dollars on the following: new brake discs, a new power steering pump and reservoir, and a new heater tap and thermostat.

The car still continues to give excellent service.

25th Feb 2009, 03:25

The third and final update on this car before it is sold. It has now covered 264000 km approx and starting to cost big money (eg 2000 dollars for a new tranny), hence the reason for the decision to sell it.

1993 Holden Berlina Series 2 3.6 V6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand


Nice car lots of leg room, I am 6' 4


Within 2 weeks of purchase I was involved in a road rage incident. The left power mirror was smashed.

Two months after purchase, another car rear ended me. Insurance covered it.

Six months after purchase, a low life attempted to steal the car from under a very bright light.

As of 2003, car was successfully stolen.

General Comments:

Although it was a dream to drive, especially with cruise control.

It was jinxed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

15th Jan 2009, 21:41

Bad luck, I guess that it was so good the universe just didn't want you to have it?

1993 Holden Berlina VR 3.8 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Good all around car that can easily be done up


Transmission went and turned out to be burn out back clutches in 3rd and 4th.

Voltage Regulator burnt out. Bearings in alternator collapsed and alternator caught on fire.

Fuel Pump seized up and burnt out.

Water Pump leaking and car was over heating.

Fuel Regulator failed and car took ages to fire and ran rich.

HT Leads failed.

Sump and engine pan gaskets badly leaking.

Oil cooling hoses kept on breaking.

Power steering rack badly leaking.

Central locking not always working properly, sometimes only locks 3 doors.

General Comments:

Good all round sturdy car, very economical in long distance only.

Plenty of spare parts (cheap) available from non-dealer places.

Great Power, cold air-con, and very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

8th Jul 2004, 19:53

Wow, What did you put the poor thing through? the VR is one of the strongest cars Holden have built... You a P plater?

5th Oct 2004, 19:27

You managed to do 84,000 kilometers over a year, or thereabouts. Little wonder some things went wrong.

17th Feb 2005, 20:05

I think vrs are a good selling car.

1993 Holden Berlina 3.8L V6: 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand


A luxurious beast


My Berlina is a very thirsty car it likes to drink petrol.

The paint on the car is a little faded, but I think that is mainly the previous owners fault for not looking after the car as well as he could of.

General Comments:

This car as a stock car is a beast I am very happen with the performance in both take off and cruising at higher speeds (on the highways). It handles like a dream take the corners smoothly even at slightly faster speeds than recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003