1980 Holden Commodore Reviews

1980 Holden Commodore VB 173 in-line 6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 173 in-line 6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Camira

Summary:

The car is great on all levels, but costs more that usual on fuel than most cars

Faults:

Right hand front indicator clips all broken.

Aerial broken.

Kilometre counter stopped.

Clutch pedal squeaky.

Parcel shelf faded and cracked.

Boot seals leaked.

Door trim came off.

General Comments:

This car is great in the engine bay, but not as much the rest of the car.

The car has no A/C and fake leather interior, which makes it almost impossible to drive if left in the sun on a hot day for over 30 minutes.

The engine runs well for its age and the gearbox is still good.

I bought this car for $750, being the second owner since being built.

The interior is still in good condition, and the car has been shedded most of its life. The original paint is still good except for a few little scratches and dents. There is no rust whatsoever on the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2009

1980 Holden Commodore vc 1.9 litre four cylinder blue from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 litre four cylinder blue Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap good looking classic

Faults:

It blew a head gasket at about 120 000, which meant a top end recondition.

The trailer plug lost a grub screw, so now it falls out.

The right hand blinker won't turn off automatically.

General Comments:

My VC is in absolutely fantastic condition, this seats a perfect, the body is perfect... hell it even has the original brake pads.

The original four cylinder engine only has 58 kilo-watts of power, which isn't much, but it's a very smooth ride.

On a recent holiday, I only used half a tank doing 90km/h for 400km...it works out about 8 and a half litres per 100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

1980 Holden Commodore Vc Sl/e 4.2 V8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.2 V8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 kilometres
Most recent distance94000 kilometres

Summary:

A Perfect street car

Faults:

The differential has smashed into pieces after being neglected to owners that liked sand dragging.

Air conditioning has blown the hoses.

Headlight wipers refuse to work.

General Comments:

This car handles superbly on corners and in heavy braking situations, Loves the hills.

It is easy to steer (power steering) and I like the fact that I won a poor mans Hsv.

All thoe it is 22 years old it still is a luxury motor car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2002

1980 Holden Commodore L 2.85L 6 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.85L 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired190652 kilometres
Most recent distance277458 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

-Brakes needed bleeding

-Vinyl roof lining needed replacement twice

-Radiator Replacement

-Fuel Ignition Coil needed replacement

-Needed new shocks

-Boot lock replaced twice

-Gearbox needed fixing, but not replaced.

General Comments:

Good car for $275.00 and I would consider buying one again. This car just proves that people trust holden.. I can see why now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

20th Jan 2009, 12:04

I totally agree with you mate, because we have always had Holdens and they have never set a foot wrong apart from servicing and general wear.

I couldn't care less on some of these comments that people have been complaining about reliability, because as far as I'm concerned Holden is the best car manufacturer on the planet, and with tender care and attention will last you an awful long time.

1980 Holden Commodore Vc sl/e 4.2 253 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.2 253 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired216152 kilometres
Most recent distance216961 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A nice looking car indeed

Faults:

The interior carpet is well beyond its used by date.

The differential Blew up at 216,320km.

General Comments:

My car is great in rain.

How ever it would be nice if I got the electric windows fixed.

It was definently a bargain at $1200.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

1980 Holden Commodore VC 2.0 petrol 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance260000 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall vanguard

Summary:

A cheap car to run, but also cheap construction

Faults:

To be fair to the car it was driven by a previous owner who neglected it. When bought it has a defect sticker.

The engine was also an exchange motor. I have no idea when this was exchanged.

Gearbox is sloppy and is starting to whine at high speed. This will need a rebuilt.

Speedo is defective I have since fixed. It was the older type cables you would expect on a 1970's model holden.

Indicator switch had snapped on the shaft a common problem I am told.

Engine temp gauge has stopped working.

Carpets have totally fallen apart in the front interior section.

Extensive rusting in doors and boot area. The main reason for rusting in the doors is hardening and cracking of upper door seals.

Bushes in Pan-hard rod where worn as well as several front steering bushes.

General Comments:

This model VC seems very cheap construction with the 4 cylinder imported engine. Overall built quality is poor. Welded door hinges make body work hard.

Finding second hand parts is hard as it seems the same parts are broken on all Commodores.

But I am happy with its performance on the open road, Its cheap to run. I spend about $50 a month on Petrol running around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

1980 Holden Commodore VC 4.2 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.2 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 kilometres
Most recent distance322000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Gemini

Summary:

With wheels, engine, paint job, tunes, and some tender loving care you can have the meanest thing

Faults:

Only one problem has gone wrong with this beast, my wife wants to drive it!!!

Plus a new differential at 125,000.

General Comments:

Oil and air filter change every 4 to 5 months, as well as overall maintenance. This car was a real find.

4.2 litres is more than enough for an ageing bloke like me.

Calais interior, what else!!!

Do not thrash your car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

1980 Holden Commodore VC 4.2L V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.2L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175800 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres

Summary:

A perfect first car, power, comfort and affordable

Faults:

Broken axle.

Reconditioned transmission.

Ignition replaced.

General Comments:

This car, for its age, goes bloody quick. It gets me where I need to be, it is still more comfortable than other cars even though it is 21 this year. More than enough power. Handles beautiful due to new shocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews