1984 Holden Commodore Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1984 Holden Commodore VK 3.3 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles

Summary:

A will-be-one-day classic!

Faults:

Problems with compression, had to have the head rebuilt.

Replaced 3 water pumps in 12 months.

Problems with EFI computer, had to replace with a reconditioned component.

Exhaust leaks from extractors have cost quite a bit!

General Comments:

Car performs beautifully (provided theres no engine troubles), great looking car, not real quick off the mark, but quicker than the few carby model VK's I've driven!

Cost to run is a little high, it's my first car and I wouldn't recommend them to a younger person with limited cash flow... but... love the car!

Extractors and sports exhaust have made a huge difference to the quality of sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

1984 Holden Commodore Berlina 3.3est from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3est Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired309000 kilometres
Most recent distance350000 kilometres

Summary:

I don't regret buying it, coulden`t get better value for money

Faults:

This is my first car and I believe it's a excellent learner.

It's a easy vehicle to fix for the home mechanic, parts are easy to source from wreckers, but getting some parts new can be difficult.

Problems include a leaky water pump.

Ceased air pump.

A few started motors.

I had to rebuild the motor due to lack of oil changes previously, oil pick up got clogged and eventually dislodged and chewed up the bearings, total rebuild cost about $250.

It can be very expensive to run with very high fuel consumption (super grade fuel).

It's a great cruiser and very comfortable.

General Comments:

A mechanically strong reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

1984 Holden Commodore VK 3.3L straight six (LPG) from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L straight six (LPG) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance241000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap, relatively powerful and very reliable 1st car

Faults:

Timing Gear(about $350).

Fly wheel (another expensive job).

Front struts & rear shocks worn out (Recently had them replaced).

Hole in radiator.

Steering rack due to be replaced. (Hopefully that is the end of this list for awhile)!

General Comments:

The odometer had been tampered with and has stopped at 241,000km (It's probably done 5000,000km)!

The "Beast" handles much better with the new gas shocks!

I run it on gas, so it is very cheap to run. The money saved on petrol over 5 years would easily cover the major repairs.

This has been a great first car, I try to look after it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

1984 Holden Commodore SL 3.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114896 kilometres
Most recent distance115971 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Cheap, comfortable, Holden Power!!!

Faults:

I got it quite cheap, but it needed some work to get it running sweet.

Replace radiator, the previous owner put one in for a manual car. The transmission fluid was black.! $80 later worth of trans fluid done the drain for a flush it's good and now red in colour!

I had the transmission looked at and reverse was totally stuffed, but I knew someone who would do me a good price.

The thermostat was put in the wrong way, but I ran it with no thermo for a few days and then put in a new one.

Puttting brakes in this weekend, but they are cheap.

General Comments:

For the amount of k's its done, and I believe it is original, its it excellent condition.

The seats were really dirty and warn in places so put some groovy looking seat covers and it really lifts the whole interior of the car.

Typical tiny rust in bottom of door.

The engine is perfect (thank goodness)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

1984 Holden Commodore SL Station Wagon 3.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance238600 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

On a budget, try this

Faults:

Difficult to start when acquired. Eventually traced to missing tooth on distributor drive (plastic) gear, rotor not lining up.

Starter motor failed - possibly damaged by faulty distributor.

Radiator, exhaust, shock absorbers, differential and rear uni joint, fuel pump, indicator stalk, odometer and alternator all repaired - reasonable considering age of car.

Still to fix - Air conditioner compressor seal leaks.

General Comments:

Cruises easily at all legal speeds on highway, tends to be sluggish up steep hills - particularly if 3 speed auto drops down to second gear.

Comfortable seats and ride, handles well and safe roadholding.

For the budget buyer these early model Commodores offer low initial cost, cheap spare parts and servicing (do it yourself) costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1984 Holden Commodore VK Berlina Black 3.3L E.F.I. from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Black 3.3L E.F.I. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired211453 kilometres
Most recent distance211459 kilometres

Summary:

High potential bargain, with Australian heritage

Faults:

Firstly the odometer is stuffed, so who knows how many kilometres it has done, common fault with analogue odometer in this model.

Two piece tail-shaft bearing went, ouch expensive, approx $250 to repair.

Electric fuel pump suffers from vapourisation on hot days, after a hot summer I replaced it with a higher pressure after market piece for less.

Engine mount ripped right off the rubber, wear and tear, cheap to replace.

Too many general maintance items to list.

General Comments:

With mild suspension modifications, eg. new shock absorbers and springs, the thing is ready for the race track, with 225/60 R15 tyres that is.

With minimal amount of money you can give the motor a nice reconditioning with increased horsepower, add a manual transmission and you got something every businessman in a VT Executive hates.

The E.F.I. is great giving 25% power increase over the Black 3.3L Carby version.

It is my first car and don't think I will every sell it, recommend it to every low income teenager.

Bargain for price, even Calais are great value and hold resale value better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

29th Jun 2001, 02:43

Can't give you numbers on fuel consumption, but I have a mate who has owned both, carby and E.F.I., he says the E.F.I. is more fuel efficient. But probably not worth switching over, too expensive.

13th Jul 2002, 06:14

I can't believe some of the things I read on this sight.460 kms around town from a VK Commodore!!...You must be joking??.. and 700kms on the open road... try taking 120lms of both those figures and you'd be closer to the mark!.

I did road trip with my brother in law in 1986.His Commodore was about 12 months old at the time and had only covered 15,000kms.We averaged about 10L/per 100 kms over the entire trip. That was driving the car sensibly and keeping close to the posted speed limits.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 10 reviews