1988 Holden Commodore Berlina 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Great car or for a family on a budget. Honest and reliable


The driver's door latch is loose, still locks.

Alternator warning light occasionally flashes.

Faulty oil pressure gauge.

General Comments:

This car is a great first car, especially for young guys.

Goes like a rocket.

Hooks and sounds beautiful.

Good fuel economy for a 3 Litre 6, If you are light on the gas pedal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2002

1988 Holden Commodore Executive RB30 6 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand


Good engine


Odometer/speedo, hazard lights, fuel pump external.

General Comments:

What I would like to know is what is the mileage these VL Commodores get in relation to economy.

A friend of mind reckons he got 600k to a tank full, is that possible?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

12th Feb 2002, 03:38

Yeah probably on a highway though.

1988 Holden Commodore Exective 3.0 litre straight 6 from Australia and New Zealand


Very good and well looked after VL


(Already broken when purchased)

* Window wipers water pump is clogged or stuffed, will replace soon.

* Centre console, the lid to the tape storage broken off (cleanly).

* Missing black piece of plastic, where you move your side mirrors.

* Boot release in glove box needs reconnecting.

* Back suspension, will need doing some time down the track.

* Odometer and clock both stuck.

General Comments:

My VL is basically a Red stock standard VL. At the moment there is only the stock stereo in there, but I have got 2x120 watt Pioneer 6 inch speaker and a 4x45 Pioneer headset lined up, since I don't want to cut the body I will probably stick with 6" for now.

I purchased it 5 days ago, and picked it up yesterday. In those 5 days it got taken to Regency to be looked over, because it was previously registered in NSW, (people in SA, should know about this). It got passed so mechanically its all good.

With a light grey near perfect interior, the inside of the car is great.

The VL has a lot of power, which I learnt on the way home from Adelaide. My brother was following me home in his VN. I live on a long country road (good drag strip) and we tested out the car, I was keeping up with him down the straight for a good length of time, which I was very pleased with (My brother has a 5 speed manual).

Later in the same night, I lined up one of my friends old XF at the stop lights and totally blew him away.

Compared to the Datsun Stanza I had before hand, this is a whole new world, Top speed I have got the Datsun to was 140, already I have got the VL up to 160, with more throttle left to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

17th Jan 2002, 22:20

* Window wipers water pump has now been replaced, found one at the wreckers.

* Centre console, instead of lid, found a piece of plastic of another vl which fits it.

* Boot release in glove box is fixed, found one at the wreckers and reconnected it.

3rd Dec 2009, 17:49

Wow... I drove a new 88 Commodore back in 88, 89 and 90 when I lived in Adelaide. Great car. I am an American and think it compares favorably to American cars from the same era. The straight 6 had plenty of torque, and it was reliable and roomy, although the power steering pump started to leak so I just kept dumping power steering fluid into it until I left. Great rugged car considering that most of the miles I put on it were on dirt roads.

1988 Holden Commodore SL 3.0 EFI 6 cylinder, turbo from Australia and New Zealand


A worthy street machine


Honestly nothing at all yet, it has been well maintained.

General Comments:

This car will give most street cars a run for their money off the lights or even in the quarter mile running in the high 12 seconds over 400 metres.

But this is due to several factors and what I have under the hood:

Turbo, with 14 pounds plus boost.

Stage 3 intercooler.

Blow off valve, release of presure and much.

I use Optimax fuel as it gives my car better performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

14th May 2003, 01:21

One day mate... one day.

16th Nov 2003, 18:24

I wish people would stop suggesting that people stating facts about theirs cars are lier's. Why would he lie? Do you think he has to justify something to people reading this article? hmmmm...