2001 Holden Commodore VX SS 5.7 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Tough!

Faults:

Nothing to speak of... engine light came on a few times, but didn't affect anything.

General Comments:

All in all, it was a great car, and I will be buying another one, if not the VX SS, probably the VZ. Looked brilliant, sounded like a V8, went like a V8, and handled beautifully!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2010

2001 Holden Commodore VX Series 1 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Absolutely nothing went wrong with this vehicle. Only money spent was on servicing. Service from our local Holden dealer was second to none, and they always fixed issues promptly.

General Comments:

Great vehicle all round, cheap to maintain compared some euro and Japanese cars, and extremely comfortable.

Also drove very well and also had plenty of power. Was also very economical due to the fact that it was fitted with factory dual fuel.

All in all, a fantastic car that was only sold due to the high km on the odometer and the fact that it was a company car.

So all you Holden and Falcon knockers, think before you speak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2008

3rd Jul 2013, 03:45

You state it had no faults, then state any faults were quickly fixed by the dealer.

Make up your mind, it either had no faults or it had faults, and you should list them for people looking to buy one.

2001 Holden Commodore VX Equip Holden By Design 3.8 Ecotec V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A sexy beast

Faults:

175000; Rattly door panel, but easily fixed by tightening 4 screws.

175000; Wheel alignment front driver wheel, camber out by 4 degree's.

Considering the car has done over 175000 KMs, these problems are expected, and are a part of general maintenance when a car gets older.

General Comments:

This car looks hot with the Holden By Design body kit. It was a limited edition, only 200 made. I suggest you look it up as it is rare and there are probably very few of them still on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2008

2001 Holden Commodore VX SS Series 2 5.7 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fast and exciting car to drive

Faults:

Fuel tank sensor faulty. Recall at 5000k.

Oil switch faulty 85000k ($250 to fix).

General Comments:

Very comfortable car, handles well, could have more power (only 225kw), and the brakes could be more effective.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2007

2001 Holden Commodore SS VX 5.7 Litre GEN111 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A quick well handling dream

Faults:

Several globes in the dash blew.

Motor for electric aerial replaced.

General Comments:

The car is a pleasure to drive, especially after fitting some mods to it. eg headers with high flow cats, a 3 inch system, and a K&N air filter.

Inside is comfortable and quiet.

The car handles very well; just keep the traction control on in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

2001 Holden Commodore Executive Wagon 3.8 V6 Ecotech from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great family car, but that's about it

Faults:

Bought this car from a dealer in January 2007, and since then the rear wind deflector seems to rattle and vibrate when going over 70km/hour.

Heads went at 118000Kms, and car is at mechanic currently being fixed.

Radio/CD player buttons are sticky or don't work.

General Comments:

The Commodore is a great family car, which is why I bought it.

Has plenty of power and really handles well.

Also it's a rear wheel drive, unlike most of its competitors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2007

2001 Holden Commodore VX Equipe 3.8 V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A good car for Australia

Faults:

Nothing except a wheel alignment, front stabilzer bushes replaced and rear spoiler brake lamp rewired due to shorting.

General Comments:

This vehicle is far more comfortable on a long trip than my previous AU Falcon. The seats are superb. The interior trim seems far more robust than the Falcon. It is not quite as good to steer as the Ford and I preferred the Falcon's engine/transmission combination, but the Commodore (mine anyway) is far better put together than the AU.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

2001 Holden Commodore SS 5.7 Gen III V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Nice to look at and drive, if you can afford to repair it

Faults:

Tires constantly wore out, Wheel alignment front and rear repeatedly needed adjusting.

Water Pump started leaking at 150,000 km. New Genuine cost $700 plus fitting.

Dash Lights always blew (one at a time)

O2 Sensors failed, resulting in extremely poor performance and economy until problem could be rectified.

Brakes needed machining.

Front R/H Stub axle bent (because of large pot hole in road)

Front Bumper keeps coming loose.

Auto Transmission would slip between 1st and 2nd intermittently.

Engine rattled bad on start up.

Would consume oil badly if it wasn't changed at 5000km intervals.

General Comments:

I have always owned and loved all things Holden. I have had FJ's EH's Commodores, nearly every Holden type made. I bought this VX SS in December 2003. In the 14 months I owned it, it has cost me more in repairs then any other car I have owned. Although the car was lovely to drive, handled well, and had more power then you could poke a stick at, I just wasnt impressed with the reliablity of it, and the subsequent cost of the repairs. Unless your in the automotive trade (which I am) paying full genuine cost for replacement parts is a joke. I did a lot of klms in the car, an average of 700km a week. But it needed the money to be poured into it to keep it going.

I drive a stock EH now, and do the same mileage (700kms a week) and for a car 37 years older then the VX it reliability is unsurpassed. Although the SS looks great, and is a better car then a lot of the other types on the market, I wouldn't buy another, and will stick to the older, better built Holden's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2005

1st Mar 2008, 17:29

I've owned a VX SS 2001 for four years and it has also cost me more than any other car I have owned.

It looks nice and handles well, but the tyre wear is terrible even with regular wheel balances and alignment's. Forever replacing tyres.

The clutch was stuffed after 5 years and I have never driven it any differently to any other car.

The oil consumption is ridiculously high, but the Holden service boys say that is normal for a V8, yeah right.

The front seat electrics keep falling off and the air bag indicator light is on constantly even after the service, they say it does happen. I wish the recommended Holden service team could actually fix the small things.

Now that the new fords look like Holdens and are racing better in Australia, I will be moving to what looks like a more reliable car. Holden had its chance, all those Ford owners were right.

Jonty.

2001 Holden Commodore VX Executive 3.8L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent car, although extremely heavy on tires

Faults:

Excessive tire wear front and rear. At 20,000km the tread on the rear tires was 1.2mm inside and 6.2mm outside. Obviously not a driver factor and more so a ridiculous independent rear suspension design fault. Required IRS kit to straighten the 5mm toe out on both rear tires and 2 degree inward camber.

Plastic molds on the outside of the doors are cracking, had to replace the entire set of moldings.

When the window is down any water from the roof drips straight in on your leg, particularly when washing the windscreen while driving or stationary.

General Comments:

The brakes are excellent and I highly responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

2001 Holden Commodore SS 5.7 GEN III from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A good looking comfortable fast car

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The car is very quick and handles really well. It excels in wet weather with the traction control making sure the car does not step out very far sideways if you plant your foot around a slippery corner.

However it is very thirsty! I have been driving around town getting around 20 litres per 100km, but the engine is probably still a bit tight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001