1981 Holden Gemini Reviews

1981 Holden Gemini TE 1.6L turbo petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance315000 kilometres

Summary:

Fun for beginners and serious modders as well!

Faults:

Clutch wore out.

Exhaust died

Heat unit got clogged (Usual Gemini problem, a good flushing or re-bore and it's fine).

Boot rust.

General Comments:

This car is great, it's a real beauty to drive. It started off its life as being stock, and even then it still handled really well.

There's not much room in the back, but who cares because you don't sit there anyway!

It's fun and economical to drive, which makes it great for a first car.

Now I have kept the 1600 Isuzu block, but have had it ported and polished, added the EFI and turbo from a Piazza and have done a few other things. My best ET to date is 13.4 seconds at Calder Park.

I love my Gemini!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

15th Aug 2005, 01:43

How much did your modifications cost you?

19th Jun 2006, 03:32

Hey, was it hard to get a turbo in your Gemini? I have a TE and want it to go that little bit faster, but am unsure on how as I am not that knowlegable.

16th Nov 2008, 01:22

Hey mate, was just wondering if you knew what PSI you were running the turbo at? And would it still be reliable without the polish and other work you did?

1981 Holden Gemini 2 seater Van (ex RACV) 1.6 lt Carby with a shaved head from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.6 lt Carby with a shaved head Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 kilometres
Most recent distance164000 kilometres

Summary:

Great first car no car is better

Faults:

The bottom radiator hose broke, but this happened when I got home.

It needed head work done because the previous owned had not looked after it by using proper engine coolant instead using water.

The Re-Tread tires exploded on the Freeway trice in the same weekend.

The drivers side windown fell out because the window regulator cable snapped.

Drivers door handle broke.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have ever had by a mile.

This car has the best Engine and Transmission package I believe I have ever driven.

The seating was vinyl, but a very good shape. Cloth seats are available, but look cheaply made the best choice is to take a set of vinyl seats and put a set of seat covers over them or if its in your budget get them reupholstered.

The engine is very underpowered in comparison to late model 4cyl engines, but is reliable and strong.

Rust can be a big issue in sedans as they were produced in Australia at the Dandenong plant and don't have the ED coating that was given to the Japanese imports.

The Automatic can be whining and no way smooth, but it can handle anything you can dish out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

1981 Holden Gemini TE 1.6 ULP from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 ULP Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

It's a BEAST

Faults:

Carburettor.

Rust in the floor.

General Comments:

If you want a good cheap car that's not a gas guzzler, they're great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

29th May 2001, 06:17

I am looking to buy a 1983 TE Gemini, it's a dark blue (new paint job), and it has rust in the boot, how can that be fixed???

I just wondering what people's opinions on this car are and what the major problems are??

10th Sep 2006, 18:42

I have a 1982 gemini sl what litre engine does it have?

18th Sep 2006, 01:31

Hello, your Gemini has a 1.6L Isuzu SOHC motor in it.

If you want some good mods/ideas for it, then go to www.ozgemini.com.

7th Oct 2007, 21:06

I have a 1981 TE Gemini that I have been converting to a Ecotec v6. The engine fits like a dream in the front. Bad idea putting it in the boot mate.

I had similar rust problems to everyone else, but the worst of it was beneath the rear windscreen seals. I had to cut out that piece from another Gemini and weld it in just to get the windscreen to sit in place. So much extra work!

14th Apr 2008, 03:00

Yes it is completely possible to NOS a standard Gemini for a 50 shot. I have a 1983 SLX with a g200 engine, custom exhaust manifold to hold a sr20det's turbo running 13psi. Only parts that aren't standard.

1981 Holden Gemini TG 1.6L Bored from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6L Bored Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance221000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcom

Summary:

Holden's are the best

Faults:

Little rust, water pump, radiator.

General Comments:

Great little car, gives V6's a go and when it comes to Fords, leaves them behind unless they're V8's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2000

7th Aug 2001, 04:09

Geminis are actually Japanese - Isuzu. So your car is not (strictly speaking) a Holden.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews