Holden HX Reviews

1977 Holden HX Kingswood Worked 186 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Worked 186 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

Takes my breath away

Faults:

Some of the bushes in the suspension wore out after 27 years, Bench seat worn, replaced with Japanese bucket seats out of a Mitz sigma.

General Comments:

This HX Holden is fully done up at a cost of about $17,000. The 186 in it puts out over 200 BHP with only a 350 Holley, Has about 450 thou lift on the cam though. Excellent on gas with a celica 5 speed. This thing dose over 200 kh/h easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

24th Jun 2008, 10:06

Maybe is a project or hobby. Besides some people like classics more than plastic. Not everybody wants to be part of the boreodore club. I say good on the original poster for reviving a classic.

20th Sep 2008, 04:26

I had an HX, 1977 model, T-bar auto 202 motor, two-tone (white top, maroon bottom). Miss it heaps.

1976 Holden HX 253 red motor from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 253 red motor Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired347000 kilometres
Most recent distance354000 kilometres

Summary:

Good, reliable, classic car with plenty of character

Faults:

New fuel filter. The old one was pretty grubby.

Intake manifold was leaking coolant. It needed to be welded and machined.

New diff oil seal and universal joint.

When I got the car, there was no carpet and the dashboard and all the dash panels were badly abused. I fixed it all up myself with 2nd hand parts from the local wreckers and now it is a really attractive car.

General Comments:

I'd like to get rid of the bench seat so I don't keep falling out the window going around corners.

Power steering is a high priority.

The 253 runs VERY smoothly and delivers a good kick when you want it to.

The handling isn't the best, but I have driven a lot worse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

1978 Holden HX Kingswood Utility 3.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired459000 kilometres
Most recent distance496000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A Ute with lots of character

Faults:

Lack of compression, fixed by a 2nd hand motor.

Rust repairs for warranty needed (floor pan)

Timing gears stripped themselves for no apparent reason.

3sp gearbox crapped its self- replaced it with a Toyota celica 4 speed.

Bench seats uncomfortable - replaced with commodore buckets seats - much better now, you can turn a corner at speed and not end up siting in the passengers seat.

Replaced seat belts.

More rust repairs needed. (above drivers door)

When it rains you get wet feet.

Electrical faults are endless.

Failed third warranty of fitness in a row because of rust. (panel in front of windscreen, rear wheel arches, rear quarter panels)

253 V8's drink less fuel than the 3.3l 6 cylinder motors.

In current condition it's a Pink Sticker waiting to happen.

General Comments:

Handles like a sack of spuds.

Has plenty of torque, but really lacks top end speed.

Thank god for rear spares replacement panels - you just have to weld them in.

Does excellent burnouts - about the only thing it's good at.

Great looking old classics.

Considering giving it a 500,000 km birthday - addition of V8, lowered suspension, trip to panel beater's for respray, may be interior spruce up too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

1976 Holden HX kingswood 3.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 3.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance206459 kilometres
Previous carToyota Van

Summary:

A classic cruiser

Faults:

I have had this k wood for 4 years now and have not had a single problem with it.

General Comments:

This car is a very fine example of the early model holdens back in the day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

1978 Holden HX Monaro from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired242000 kilometres
Most recent distance269000 kilometres

Summary:

A good car if you can find a good one

Faults:

The HX was a lemon when I bought it and it caused me grief cos basically I had no help in finding a good one. I got ripped off and dazzled by a fast talker.

Anyway I had to replace all the brakes and wiring as it was all bad and the 350 kept on leaking oil and anti-freeze. There was also some serious rust that had been hidden by some clever person.

General Comments:

Once I got the majors repaired, me and the wife had a lot of fun in it traveling serious distances and doing big burn outs.

Overall a good looking car and quite fast for its weight. Handles surprisingly well, great touring car and very comfortable for me especially since I'm 6 foot 3.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1976 Holden HX Premier Utility 202 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 202 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired132658 kilometres
Most recent distance143547 kilometres
Previous carHolden HQ Utility

Summary:

A powerful and good looking car

Faults:

Idle speed needs to be tuned regularly, but this can be fixed for good if you have an aftermarket carburetter such as a Holley.

General Comments:

Great car for work and for going out.

Mechanically great and easy to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews