Holden Jackaroo Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1992 Holden Jackaroo 3.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

Great comfort: very poor engine management

Faults:

Replaced computer and most electrics at 130000 km.

Timing belt tensioner very poor design replaces at 175000 km.

Replaced clutch kit at 130000 km.

General Comments:

The engine management system on this vehicle does not work well.

As you slow down it gives a definite jump in acceleration at 1500 RPM.

The engine revs often take 10 seconds to reach idle after stopping.

When rolling with the clutch depressed the engine revs fluctuate dramatically between 500 and 2500 RPM. Very awkward when reversing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

12th Jun 2008, 06:43

I own a 3.2 ltr Jackaroo that has 220,000 ks on the clock and I swear by it. It has a few little problems like gremlins in the electrics, but like any car you buy, you have to expect some problems with them once they have clocked anything over 100,000 ks 130,000 ks.

No clutch will last any more than 150,000 ks, and if it's a 4x4 you won't come close to that unless it has only done highway work.

Mine I know had a new clutch at 145,000 ks.

If you are having trouble with fluctuation, try replacing the oxygen sensor, as that can cause it. It will cost around 120 for non genuine. The oxygen sensor tells the computer how much fuel and air to mix. It's located on the exhaust near the cross member.

23rd Jul 2009, 02:07

Could some one please advise us of a good mechanic to service a Jackaroo in or near Cranbourne Victoria?

Could some one please advise the cost of having a standard service done on a petrol Jackaroo?

Could some one please advise us of the cost of petrol per klm?

1985 Holden Jackaroo LX from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Fun and reliable

Faults:

Water Pump.

CV joints.

Wheel hub needed replacing.

Vinyl and cloth seats had begun to wear.

General Comments:

Good reliable car. I had the 2 door version, which was a bit of a pain getting kids in and out of car seats.

Rear seats not too comfortable for adults on a long trip, a bit on the thin side, padding wise.

Good on petrol especially on open road.

Unfortunately I got arthritis while I had this car and being a manual with no power steering, I had to give it up, otherwise I would still be driving around in my bright red Jackaroo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

3rd Nov 2010, 07:58

Where could we get parts for our 1985 Jackaroo, glove box lock, left hand door handle?

1984 Holden Jackaroo LX from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Summary:

Ould have been good but mine a lemon.

Faults:

Entire windscreen surround rusted out.

Truck clutch had been put in and had to stand to change gear.

Gearbox crashed.

General Comments:

I enjoyed driving the Jackaroo, but because of all the problems I traded it in.

Good fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

1992 Holden Jackaroo LS 3.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired214000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

Has the power of a 3.8L Commodore, with the size and room of a troop carrier

Faults:

Aerial fell out of socket.

Motor runs fairly; hot home made cold air induction helps.

Squeaky brakes that nobody knows how to fix.

Broken central locking on the back driver's side door (Holden can't get part).

Is in need of EFI service now.

General Comments:

Very good power for such a large car.

No rust anywhere.

No major problems, especially considering the car is 10 years old.

Goes like a rocket, even on the beach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

1987 Holden Jackaroo DLX 4x4 Short Wheel Base 2.3 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance288032 kilometres

Summary:

Fun off-road machine

Faults:

The exhaust manifold cracked 2 months after I bought it.

It needed a new carby after one trip to the bush.

The power steering pump failed and the seal blew after 10 000 kilometres.

Needs new suspension bushes regularly.

General Comments:

After buying the short wheel base Jackaroo from a farmer there were several things that needed replacing. This consisted of a new fuel pump and carby, gearbox seal and bearing, suspension bushes (front and back), a serious tune up and a power steering pump. All up it has cost me around $3500.

At this point it hasn't missed a beat. The addition of some wider tires helped considerably in off road performance. The suspension travel is limited due to the firm rear leaf springs and independent front suspension, but it otherwise goes quite well off-road in sand.

It's not the most powerful motor the 2.3 litre 4 cylinder, but the addition of some extractors gave it some well needed power, now producing somewhere around 90kw's. If you want a cheap and easy to drive 4x4 that's cheap to run and provides plenty of laughs, the Jackaroo is a good bet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews