1996 Holden Vectra Reviews

1996 Holden Vectra CDX 2.4 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

A headache

Faults:

Driver's door seal broke.

Driver's door does not close properly.

Major leak inside car on front passenger side. Returned car to dealer to fix the leak. The dealer advised that simple problem and remedied. Now water is literally pouring onto floor whenever air conditioning unit is in operation. Also heater does not work and window is constantly fogged. Have to take the car in for repair, but warranty has expired.

Motor hesitates whenever it is put under heavy acceleration.

Problems with electrics. Dashboard lights keep blowing and some digits on electrical display unit to not light up.

General Comments:

The interior and exterior look nice and the car has a powerful engine. However, the little problems are a constant niggle and the repair bill keeps going up.

I am currently trying to sell to some other poor soul.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

22nd Jul 2003, 19:11

For what, can I see here, it's the fact, you bought a pretty bad shape secondhand car.

By the way, there isn't 1996 Vectra CDX and much lees equipped with a 2.4 engine.

30th Jul 2003, 21:23

I purchased a 1996 2.5l v6 1 month ago and it has been wonderful car. no problems at all so far.

23rd Nov 2003, 13:46

Totally Agree with the author of the second comment.

Without a doubt, this reviewer bought a pretty bad shape secondhand car.

By the way, there isn't Vectra 2.4.

I just purchased my 1997 Vectra GL 2.0 16V Manual, four months ago and the car have been faultless, so far.

12th Jul 2004, 10:13

I recently purchased a 97 CDX v6. It's a fabulous driving experience - superb German engineering that is really underrated... I think that the author of the first comment just happened upon the production line *lemon* :)

1996 Holden Vectra 2.00 2.00 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.00 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mitsubishi V3000

Summary:

Very pleased until today

Faults:

Early cam belt replacement necessary at 70k.

Rattle in top end of motor, serious, to be transported to service next week. Sounds like something broken and expensive. Cam belt OK.

Parts are ridiculously expensive.

Exhaust system replaced at 90000km's

Quoted $800.00 from Holden dealer.

Independent did job for $230.00.

General Comments:

Delight to drive

Goes where it's pointed.

Very, very, economical for fuel.

Spacious for small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

1996 Holden Vectra GL 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres

Faults:

Cam belt broke twice.

Head had to be totally rebuilt once (over $6000 worth of damage).

Universal joint seals broke down after 30,000km.

Three central locking locks seized.

One electric window motor broke down.

Central Locking remote broke down twice.

General Comments:

This car drove well and had excellent braking. It was however very expensive to run and so unreliable I feared it would break down on every trip. The dealer was excelent and kept doing the repairs under warranty and saying "This is the first time we have seen this fault" - yeah right...

The car interior was small and the mag wheels corode on to the hub (I needed a rubber hammer, penetrating oil and brute force to remove a wheel after a year).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

1996 Holden Vectra GL 2.0 litre DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance119000 kilometres

Faults:

A few minor faults.

Squeak in drivers seat.

Faulty cam sensor.

Faulty front stereo speaker.

All fixed by the dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

Excellent car, I really enjoyed driving it.

During my ownership it was very reliable and inexpensive to run, due to its good fuel economy and low service costs.

The only fault with the car was its all black interior which made it unbearable to drive on hot days.

I have since sold this Vectra and bought one with air conditioning!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews