1997 Holden Vectra Reviews

1997 Holden Vectra GL 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Shocker

Faults:

Cutting out - no one has been able to fix it, including Holden.

Air bag light staying on.

Engine light staying on.

Handbrake locking.

Radiator needed replacing.

Central locking faulty.

General Comments:

When running properly it is a dream to drive, but the problems outweigh that by a landslide.

Price of parts is absolutely disgusting. You would think for the price you would be getting gold plated everything.

Never again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2009

12th Jan 2009, 04:15

Come on, 230000kms, you have done reasonably well with this car, a radiator over that time is not unreasonable.

31st Jan 2009, 02:29

You're right, they are a shocker.

1997 Holden Vectra CD 2.5L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired148900 kilometres
Most recent distance149600 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Good car, great drivers car, be wary of repair costs

Faults:

Oil Sump replaced at purchase (covered by dealer).

Re-breather Line broken, did all fuel lines as the main line seemed to be wearing 149500km - $500 for all day job.

General Comments:

Got this car under recommendation from my father in law. Knew, being European, it would cost more to repair but not as much as it seems to turn out (been quoted $1500 - $2000 to replace the timing belt at 160000km, first one done at 80000km).

That said it is a beautiful little car to drive and cruise control just makes life that much easier. The V6 gives it plenty of power, but is quite miserly on the fuel and turns out to be cheaper to run (fuel wise) than my old VN, despite needing Premium fuel. The cheaper fuel costs are made up with the higher parts costs. That said this is one car where it is best practice to get a quality mechanic to do your regular servicing to prevent the really expensive issues. I'd rather pay $2000 to replace the timing belt than $5000 to replace the engine.

The seats can be a little firm but not so hard that they hurt too seriously. Took it on a 3 hour drive with no real drama. I'm 6'1" (189cm) and I find the cabin space is great, as long as no one sits behind me. Someone mentioned the odometer can be difficult to read, I just use the trip computer when I wish to see my mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2008

1997 Holden Vectra GL petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired254000 kilometres
Most recent distance259000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable but hard to repair

Faults:

Odometer is not visible.

General Comments:

Good car generally runs well, but couldn't pass a warranty of fitness as the digital odometer is barely visible. Would like to know how to fix without spending the earth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2008

1997 Holden Vectra GL 2.0L petrol Injected from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Injected Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance85655 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Sporty, fuel efficient, but is the biggest lemon!

Faults:

1997 Holden Vectra -

Lovely car to drive and sit in but...

Has a lot of problems in the Australian climate.

Had to get cam sensors done around 70000kms.

Fuel injection system done around 5000kms after that.

Exhaust replaced every 2 months (own fault for short distance driving).

Timing belt snapped at 85000, and broke engine head ($3500) No notification or news about Holden changing the belts at around 60000kms.

A lot of small things have gone wrong (electronic and engine wise)

General Comments:

Overall the 1997 GL Vectra is a very nice ride, very economical, and is and sounds very sporty. But the whole engine is a hole in your wallet or purse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

14th Apr 2008, 07:42

I can relate to the cam belt. I have owned my V6 Vectra from new and it ran trouble free until 85,000km when the cam belt broke and destroyed half the engine. $5000 later it was back on the road and has gone well for the last 30,000km since. My bug bear is the service schedule says the belt should be done at 105,000km yet I continue to hear many stories of the belt going much much earlier. A shame because otherwise it's been a great car.

1997 Holden Vectra CD 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Don't think I have made a mistake in buying this Holden / Opel Vectra

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 98000 and then again at 104500 due to incorrect installation at 98000 -insurance paid for both times.

Rear seat belts needed replacing- just worn.

105000kms - ac just stopped working -will take it in next week.

Front suspension made noises -tightened nuts and now all good.

Occasionally something makes a huge vibrating noise when accelerating the car around 5500revs? -comes from front right.

Battery just got replaced at 105000.

LCD trip display -half the pixels don't work.

Gearbox is starting to crunch when changing from 1st to 2nd.

General Comments:

Excellent handling and very comfortable to cruse in.

Interior lasts well.

Very good with fuel consumption when traveling up to 130kph.

Insurance covered most of the faults so I am pretty happy - bit worried when the insurance runs out in 2 years...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

1997 Holden Vectra GL 2.0 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Underrated eurohatch

Faults:

IAC valve replaced (15,000k).

Fuel filler pipe collapsed and replaced (30,000k).

Roof bar needed rebonding to the roof panel (30,000k).

Fuel pump, idler bearings and belts (48,000k).

Remote Key / Immobiliser communications are intermittently faulty. Still under investigation.

Steering column squeals.

General Comments:

In 1997 this was the best value for money 2.0L hatch available (v 626, Golf, Mondeo, Impreza, Xsara, 306 etc). Has been an excellent touring car with great ride, and performance for a 2.0L 4 cylinder.

Fuel economy 10.0 l/100k city, 6.8 l/100k touring.

Air conditioning/ventilation system not up to Australian conditions. Need to have the ventilation fan on at all times.

Several design faults which have been mentioned everywhere, but you can't expect Daimler Benz engineering quality for $26,000.

My first experience with unreliability exactly 4 years after manufacture.

So far the local dealership have been great, I just hope the car doesn't become a "regular".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews