2003 Holden Vectra CDX 3.2 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

European dynamics, Korean trim quality

Faults:

Coating on interior trim deteriorating

Clunking noise in front end

Exhaust leak.

General Comments:

Overall not a bad car. The motor is a gem with excellent economy and performance. handling and chassis dynamics are excellent

I have some reservations regarding the quality of the interior trim with the coating on the door driver's side door handle, the release button on the roof mounted sunglasses holder and around the steering wheel mounted audio controls rapidly deteriorating. Not what you would expect from a relatively new low km car. The vehicle is under warranty so it will be interesting to see what GM will say. I was considering a BMW at the time and now ruing the fact that I didn't go for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

2003 Holden Vectra CDXi 3.2V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A classy euro hatch with a Holden badge

Faults:

Cruise control switching off then not working.

General Comments:

Great car especially after driving a Commodore. Fast, fun to drive, smooth auto. Great handling and classy interior.

Multi function display is a bit fiddly to change basic functions such as air direction or turning the aircon off, but not a major issue.

A great car and fantastic for long road trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

16th Mar 2006, 03:06

Could not agree more after coming out of a commodore find the vectra an excellent car. As with all cars they get so close to a perfect car, but always miss out. Hard ride..hard seats everything else perfect!!!

2003 Holden Vectra CDXi 3.2 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Understated euro sports hatch

Faults:

Car had slight pull - corrected with wheel alignment.

No squeaks or rattles (yet).

Glitch with computer info display (fixed under warranty).

Dealer upgraded ECU with wrong firmware - resulted in occasional engine overrun when up-shifting. Quickly diagnosed and fixed with correct firmware.

NB Electronics very complex hence will need servicing at Holden dealer - preferably a larger Holden dealer with specialist Vectra trained technicians.

General Comments:

Performance from 3.2 V6 + 5 speed auto very good. Heaps of torque. Chassis very good at getting power down despite FWD - torque steer is minimal. Fuel consumption around 11-12 l/100km - slightly higher than expected.

Handling from factory sports suspension is very good - firm ride yet compliant enough over bumps. Road feel through steering wheel is good.

Brakes are excellent.

Poor rear visibility when reversing.

Driver instrumentation very good. Electronic controls (eg indicators) take a few days to get used to, but once learnt are easy to use.

Cabin comfort good - although rear headroom is limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

25th Aug 2005, 09:15

Vectra CDXi loverly should be up there with the Audis etc, in all the only complaint I have would be the tyres eg road noise.

Power Handling Ride driving feed back great.

2003 Holden Vectra CDXI 3.2 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great performance

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of power from the moment you step on the acc, you get a smooth and deep sound from the engine and it delivers even under 4000 revs. Think it can do 0-100 in about 7.7 seconds.

The driver's seat is very comfortable with 8 way adjust seat and the leather is done much better than the Mazda 6 luxury (which is the car I was considered before). The cabin is very quiet except for the excess tire noise.

It has a very good ride and we love the heated seats in cold Melbourne (not many cars in this class have this)

The only thing we didn't like about it, is for some of our taller friends, they have difficulty as the head room is quite limited at the back seats. Other than that, we believe it is a great car without the luxury price tag!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

15th Feb 2006, 04:55

I could not agree more. This is everything a Commodore should be...

21st Feb 2006, 04:09

I have a 2003 Vectra ZC CDXi V6 and love the car...great engine performance, handling and ride. Interior comforts are A+++. No problems except for cruise control not working, repaired, but keeps turning itself off.

Otherwise love the car.