1982 Honda Civic Reviews

1982 Honda Civic Wagovan 1.5 from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carVolvo 245

Summary:

I'd buy a brand new one today if they were still made like this

Faults:

3rd gear burnt out.

I replaced the clutch 2 times.

Rust!

Ball joints on the front went bad. This requires the control arms to be replaced.

Engine smoked briefly when started each morning.

Motor mount broke.

General Comments:

This car has been the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. When I list every problem I've experienced, they seem to add up, but over the course of 6 years, I drove this car 121,000 miles and only had to do one major repair (I installed a used transmission, new clutch and control arms). The parts cost about $300 and the job took about 10 hours.

I live in Minnesota, so I painted it almost immediately after purchase to keep the salt off the cracked paint.

I bought it for $1500 and probably put half that amount into maintenance over the six years I drove it (repairs, tires, battery, paint, etc).

It started in below zero weather and handled snow better than my wife's '98 Volvo S70. It got about 33mpg when I bought it, which decreased to about 26mpg by the time I finally sold it to a friend last month. It still runs and drives great. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2008

28th Oct 2008, 14:51

I also wish they can make cars like that again myself but only with slightly more power, I would rather buy an older model import over what they make today any day.

1982 Honda Civic 5 door hatchback from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A great beater

Faults:

Front brake rotors are warped from mountain driving.

Body has rusted badly around wheel wells and lower quarter panels.

Fuel filler pipe was badly rusted due to a poor design, surprisingly the replacement part was both in stock and cheap.

General Comments:

The 1.3 litre combined with the 5 speed gets 35 miles per gallon in the city and will cruise at 120 kph.

For a 500 dollar beater it has been a great car.

Parts are very cheap and still easy to find at the wreckers.

Replacing the stock 12 inch wheels with 13 inch wheels made a 100 percent improvement in the handling and ride.

Long hills and passing require some planning to get the car up to speed.

A quick and nimble city commuter.

At 21 years old it still feels tight and solid, especially compared to the 7 year old F150 we had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

1982 Honda Civic 4 door sedan 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Very reliable and economical car for the city

Faults:

Had to replace the floats in the carburetor once.

Had to replace the multi-function turn signal switch.

We have to keep replacing the constant-velocity joints - the boots will not stay on.

The window mechanisms keep breaking.

General Comments:

This car gets unbelievable mileage. Around town it gets about 30mpg and on the highway it gets more like 40mpg. I do drive it conservatively, though.

Excellent for bopping around the city. I have driven it cross country several times and it is fairly cramped in the cabin, but it cost me next to nothing to travel in.

This vehicle will take an incredible amount of abuse. I have taken it off-road and into terrain marked "Four Wheel Drive Access Only".

It does not handle well in snow or wind.

On dry land it is zippy and handles great. It drives like a neat little roller skate.

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned and the only vehicle that has never abandoned me anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

25th Jan 2005, 02:29

My father had an 82 civic sedan... i don't remember it much, other than it, it was very reliable, and I don't remember major breakdowns, and it served my father well, until he parked it with 260..something, I think, and it burned oil, other than that, it was a great car. I am 16 now, and wish I would have kept it 2 practice working on engines, I'm almost 17 now, and I still miss that car.

26th Aug 2007, 22:13

I own an 82 Honda Civic 4 door sedan. Amazing reliability!

My dad and I did a put a carb kit in it and the fuel mileage went from 35 to 45mpg on the highway. I drive approx. 125 kmph.

Bought it with about 90,000 km on it in 2004. Now I have about 172,000 km. Pretty much worry free the whole time.

The only fixing we do is general upkeep, replacing a few parts here and there.

I never plug it in during the winter months. With the manual choke, you never have to worry about cold starting.

1982 Honda Civic 1.4 Liter inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Liter inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

A cheap, super-reliable, economy car

Faults:

Right inboard CV joint- replaced at 130,000 miles.

That's IT!

General Comments:

This is a great little car. It's my daily driver, as I take my '78 Thunderbird and '79 Cougar to shows.

It gets 30 miles per gallon, is worth more as transportation than it's monetary value and is fun to drive. Well I guess it's just fun to drive since its the only 5 speed I have access to.

It's no race car, but it is faster than most four cylinders out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

26th Aug 2007, 22:21

If you do a carb job on it your fuel mileage should go up quite a bit.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews