1984 Honda Civic Sedan 1.5 from North America


The last of the forgotten Civics, remembered by few and praised by those few


Head gasket blew once after about thirty thousand miles of REALLY hard driving.

Blew again two years later, also after REALLY hard driving.

Had to replace most components in cooling system.

Have problems with front suspension every few years.

Had one incident where the alternator went bad (probably due to heavy power consumption from 600-watt amplifier).

WAY too many vacuum lines, so keep hose clamps handy.

General Comments:

This car is generally reliable, as long as you take care of it (much as I didn't). Faults lie in cooling system, vacuum system, and front suspension.

It lacks a great deal in performance. The five-speed gives reasonable pep around town, while the three speed is utterly useless in that regard. Highway travel is surprisingly easy on the engine and the car feels like it comes out of its shell here.

Hard suspension without the performance that usually comes with that. Bumps and alignment problems are transmitted strongly through the thin steering wheel (at least with the non-power steering versions).

The car will comfortably accomodate four people with very little ammenities. It has been a challenge for me to add some of these ammenities (such as drink holders). Good size trunk space as well.

I have seen many of the faults in the cars design and have begun to improve my car with the following additions:

-Added 6x9 spacers to accomodate 6x9 speakers.

-Replaced stock stereo and front speakers.

-Built custom center console (empty space between dash and floor!).

-Added drinkholders and armrest for this console.

-Added thicker steering wheel (I think it was from a newer Integra, anywhere from 86-93).

-Added shift boot, cut the shifter down, and added new shift knob to hide the disgusting automatic shifter.

-Added newer Civic floormats (the ones that say Civic).

-Added drink holders to rear extension of center console.

-Added 16" QT wheels + 40 series tires.

-Lowered car 3" front (adjusted torsion bars), 2.5" rear (cut springs).

-Added front lip to bumper (from 86 Integra).

-Added sideskirts (from older Grand Am).

-Tinted the windows to 20%.

-Gutted air conditioning system, including air conditioning radiator which blocks main radiator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

3rd Apr 2003, 11:15

I am appalled by the last comment made on your review. People "come along and stick things onto perfectly good cars" because It is a free society. There is nothing wrong in driving an older vehicle, asides from the lack of snob value people like yourself seem to revel in. The more financially prudent amongst us realise that New Vehicles are a great way to lose a lot of money fast.

7th Dec 2004, 04:53

I have to disagree with the dude. If you bought a car (second-hand 'cus you don't have the money to buy a new one) and you realise now that it's pretty crap (which the Civic Shuttle is, in terms of performance and interiors) and you do have the money to make it better, then why not?

By the way, this car is pretty dam slow. If your age starts with a 1, don't buy it.

PS: it says here, in the spellchecker that shows up when you post a comment, that the word 'realise' is not a word. Great.

27th Oct 2009, 21:13

I have an 1984 Civic DX and I think they do well on gas myself. I bought it for about 400 dollars and is worth it. The only things I've had to replace is the front left axle, the distributor cap and rotor, and the timing belt. Also there is nothing wrong with personalizing your car. It's not the car that makes the owner, it's the owner who makes the car!

1984 Honda Civic Sport 1.5 from UK and Ireland


A cut price, pocket size, giant killer!


In the two months I've had the car, I have been amazed at the fact that I've had nothing to do to it.

Even checking the oil has become frustrating, because it never needs topping up.

Despite some very fast and frantic driving the little wonder hasn't given me any complaints.

General Comments:

Never have I been so impressed by a car. I was lucky enough to find a mint 24K mile example with full service history.

(Yes, the car is 1984. Yes, it has only done 24K!!!)

The engine literally purrs all the way through the rev range. It goes like a guided missle and sticks to the road like a limpet on steroids.

It always starts first flick of the key and will quite happily out perform numerous hot hatches, whilst still returning over 35mpg.

It cost virtually nothing to buy and run. It's fun to drive and is built better than any of my previous Volkwagens.

I simply cannot praise the car enough. It's a driver's car, which is cheap to run and reliable. A small miracle !!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2000

7th Dec 2001, 18:54

I have a 1984 civic which I bought for $80 (real rough) and used it as a paddock racer. Funny thing is the thing just won't die. My mate and I have constantly thrashed it for 8 months round a field and with 286000 km on the clock its a wonder it just won't blow up. All up its an excellent car and much more reliable than a corolla.

Long live all civics.

31st May 2002, 16:03

I have a 1984 Honda Civic. It runs like a hero.. It is very reliable.. My car has 130K, but still running fine.


29th Aug 2002, 02:33

I have a 84 and a 86 Honda civic hatchback, and I will agree that the both of them are great cars. Even thought the 84 was pulled off the road, I used it to fix up the 86 and its great for gas and speed. High kilometers 334k, but still very quiet car.

27th Aug 2003, 10:36

I live in the states and I just bought a '84 Civic 1500S with 76,000mi on it. It is the best car I have ever had. Light, fast and cheap! What more could you want. The back seat reclines, and folds down; to swallow up more cargo than you could imagine.