23rd Jun 2002, 21:10

I'll third the motion that this was a bogus review, just another domestic fan trying to trash talk the imports. First off, the 99 Civic Si makes 160 HP in stock form. And, unless you took a box cutter to that car, none of the things that were said went wrong could have ever happened. Honda has always had top-notch reliability and quality. Not to mention the Si has has incredible engine efficiency (100 HP per liter, compared to about 70 HP per liter for the Mustang Cobra) with the Si getting 26 MPG city and 31 MPG highway, and the best bang-for-the-buck ratio in the entire industry, and as well it is the easiest to upgrade. Think about it. For about half as much money as a Mustang Cobra, you can get an Si, and never have to worry about things falling apart, and still only be 2 seconds behind the Cobra in 0-60 MPH and 1/4 mile times. And thats stock. By the way, Mr. Cobra, if you wrote this review simply to prove how inept domestic die-hards are in understanding the value of imports, then sir, you've made your point.

29th Jul 2002, 01:18

Hey buddy... you want to sell me that car?

20th Dec 2002, 23:39

I do not believe this is a bogus review. Honda's are like any car, you either get a good one or a bad one, if you got a good one you might believe it was a bogus review. I had a friend who had a 92 civic and his engine through a rod before it hit 100,000 miles, on the other hand my dad had a 92 Plymouth acclaim that had a 180,000 miles on it when it got totaled by me, and a lot of people think those are a piece of junk and a lot of them are, but his wasn't.

27th Feb 2003, 13:09

First of all, they don't make a Civic that has 140hp. What will it be buddy 127hp or 160hp, surely if you know that much about your car, you could get everything together before you write a survey.

28th Mar 2003, 13:19

I have a Honda Civic Del Sol Si 1993, and I am very pleased with its performance and reliability. My 1993 Del sol is easy to modify and take care of. I believe how well you take care of your car reflects your personality and willingness to work. Many of the people who complain about cars, and their condition really need to find a way to put their own touch into the car and not only maintain it's value, but show of your hard work...

27th May 2003, 13:02

Yeah, the Civic puts out more horsepower/liter than a Ford Mustang. You're forgetting, though, that a Ford Mustang has more liters. I bought a new Mustang GT for the purpose of humiliating Civics with big exhaust pipes. I'm sick of all these foreign-buying, anti-Americans in their Civics, RSX's, Preludes, etc. They are all slow and stupid.

27th May 2003, 20:09

Civics are slow and stupid???!?!?! Shame on you!!

My friend has a 99 Civic 4 cylinder and he took me for a ride and the way he drove it made my hair stand on end!! It felt as if it were sticking on the road nicely and the steering was nice and tight!!


13th Nov 2005, 18:07

I have had a new 1989 Legend,2 Accords in the 90's and now an 2002 Acura TL Type S all within the Honda family. I have driven and worked on a close friends 2000 Honda Civic to date just routine maintenance and I replaced the O2 Sensor. The Civic is a very nice little car. A very reliable practical and economical car. My thought on the reviews are that they are highly unlikely. You tend to have a natural progression with vehicles not go from sport cars to 4 cyls. My son has had 2 Mustang GTS a 1995 Convertible that he traded to a modified stick Turbo Coupe which he sold and now drives a 2000 Viper RT/10. He also drives a 1995 Range Rover as a second car. I am sorry I cannot picture him buying any type of Civic from having the Mustangs he has owned. The Hondas would be too bland. I just cannot picture trading a Mustang GT and buying a Civic, and Mustang owners that I knew through my son knew their engines, drivetrains etc etc. that were very literate and not one for surprises. The knew every single ounce of HP that could be achieved. A plain Civic would be possibly be concievably purchased to get from point A to B while a Mustang was being modified and not drivable at the moment. I cannot see the earlier reviews as real too unlikely!