2009 Honda Fit Reviews

2009 Honda Fit from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired168 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

One of the best I've owned

General Comments:

So far, I've had nothing go wrong with the car. We paid for a base model, so it was $15,000. The comfort level is not the best. For long drives of over an hour, it gets a bit tedious. And creature comforts are minimal; cup holders awkward, no middle arm rests etc.

However, in 10,000 miles we've averaged 39.7 mpg in small town rural driving. We bought it for economy and it has more than fulfilled our hopes, and I'd buy another in a minute.

For the money, it's a tremendous deal, and with Honda's reliability and support (we had a transmission blow on our Odyssey and they chipped in for almost half the cost of the repair), we're very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2010

18th Sep 2010, 09:41

OMG, you think you got a deal by Honda paying for half the cost of the new engine? The engines are on recall. I don't know if there is a public American data base for national recalls, but the Canadian Transport Department keeps an excellent one. The Honda's have a lot of recalls (even recent!) more than the Fords. I was shocked. Anyway your van has like 10 recalls, and most are related to engine / power train. You probably should have gotten a new engine for free.

2009 Honda Fit Standard 1.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance12459 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Durable, all around car that is cheap to own

Faults:

Paint chipping on hood and side front fenders.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage. Have 5spd manual and get avg 42 on hwy and 33 city. If I keep it around 70mph or lower on the hwy, I have averaged up to 52mpg.

Needs another gear! Sits around 4000 rpm at 80 mph. Even at 60 mph it is still at 3000 rpm. I don't think it hurts the engine because it redlines at 6500 rpm, but it is loud in the cabin. Also low gears make it jumpy. I have been driving manual transmission vehicles for 14 years and almost had to relearn for this car, it can be tricky.

Very roomy inside. Everyone who rides in it thinks it will be uncomfortable, but are pleasantly surprised when riding in it. I like how the seats fold evenly flat, and the lift up option (magic Seats) in the back seat has come in handy.

Cheap to own. High gas mileage, Oil does not need to be changed for 12k miles and is very cheap to change; also tires are small and cheap to replace.

Overall I am very happy with my purchase. For the price I paid it was a great deal. I am waiting to hear back from the dealer about the paint chipping, but am optimistic about it being fixed. Car is comfortable for its size and price (I am 5'11 231lbs).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2010

10th May 2010, 19:13

I doubt your 52 MPG claim. But I only doubt it because you stated you got it around 70 MPH. I believe the Fit is capable of 52 MPG (or better) at around 55 MPH. My '08 Civic got around 47 MPG at 55. I bet the Fit could do even better.

2009 Honda Fit Sport 1.5 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 kilometres
Most recent distance600 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Great little commuter, good looks, great performance!

Faults:

Nothing so far, bought the car last week.

General Comments:

Great little commuter, handles like a go-kart!

I bought it after reading and checking all the reviews on the net, TV and books. This is my first brand new car, and I didn't wanted to miss my shot, so I went to Chevrolet first to check out the Cobalt... horrible car, poor comfort, then went to Ford to try the Focus coupe, good handling, good comfort, and then I went to the Honda dealer and tried the Fit...

WOW, I was impressed with the handling, interior space, audio system with USB port, dashboard and seats configuration, I wanted a 2009 Fit Sport manual transmission taffeta white and got it! I think it was the last one in Qu├ębec, with a $2000 rebate it was a good deal.

For the first time in my life (I'm 40), people stare at my car not because it's a piece junk, but because it looks so good... can't wait to get the windows tinted.

The only little complaint I can address, is the engine is revving at 3000 rpm at 100km/h, so it's a bit noisy. So far I get around 6.7 litres/100km... not bad, but it will get better after the break-in period and the first oil change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2009

7th Dec 2009, 17:38

Congratulations on your new Honda Fit! Thankfully you did your research and avoided making the wrong choice. Not only is a Chevy Cobalt uncomfortable, it is also HORRIBLY unreliable. And the Focus isn't TERRIBLE, but it is still a domestic after all, which will mean much lower quality and reliability. Your Honda should be an excellent vehicle for years to come! Just keep up on that maintenance! I can't even begin to tell you how many times I've seen happy Honda owners lose faith because they fell for the myth that Honda's need no maintenance.

2009 Honda Fit Sport 1.5L 117HP 106TRQ from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5L 117HP 106TRQ Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The Fit is the best for the money

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far after 1300 miles of driving, everything feels like it will last a long time.

General Comments:

I noticed that you cannot lower or raise the front seats, which is really weird for me because I tend to have that option for all my previous cars, but it has a lot of head space, so it's not that big of a deal.

The MPG on this car is good. If I really try I could get about 40MPG, but at the moment I'm getting 34MPG driving my normal way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2009

3rd Jul 2010, 11:48

My Aunt had blue 2010 Fit, and she has no trouble with it so far. That's good news.

17th Jan 2011, 19:21

The Fit is a good car, but I would rather have a Toyota Yaris. It costs about the same, but is actually a few seconds faster, and bit more fuel efficient. Also, I think the Yaris looks better than the Fit.

19th May 2012, 18:43

The Fit is far more practical, roomy and has 11 more horsepower. As far as looks goes, I prefer the Fit.

29th Dec 2012, 17:40

I don't think your Yaris will carry anywhere near as much cargo as my Fit. I go to track days and take helmets, canopy, track stands, generator, tools, riding gear, cooler, and a small table (foldable). Last time I rented a Yaris, I had a hard time getting 2 carry-ons in the back!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews