Honda Insight Reviews

2010 Honda Insight EX from North America

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired138 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

It does everything well

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, but it is brand new, so I really don't expect anything to go wrong.

General Comments:

I bought the car for the gas mileage, and so far it is either at the miles per gallon listed on the sticker or better. The first tank was around 40 mpg. Since I started paying attention to my driving, I have been averaging about 45 mpg on my drive to work. I also increased the tire pressure to 35 psi. This is supposed to help the MPG.

I like the styling of the car, the seats feel good. It is a little noisy on the highway. Maybe just the highway or the tires.

It is a very light car, and you can feel the wind moving the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2011

13th Feb 2011, 14:43

Why didn't Honda do something original with the styling of this car? It looks so much like a Prius that I'm surprised Toyota doesn't sue. I thought Honda was known for well designed cars, but they're getting uglier.

18th Feb 2011, 11:37

I like the styling of the new Insight much better than the new Prius. I have owned both of them.

And one other comment, the gas mileage on my drive to work has gone up to 48-50 MPG.

2001 Honda Insight petrol electric hybrid 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Fun, economical

Faults:

Distorted driver window seal - (prospective buyers beware, it's a common fault) - replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Performance

This car is extremely economical, and it performs as well as the 1.6 Toyota Corolla that it replaced. Mainly due to the torque generated by the electric motor at low rpm.

Ride and handling

The ride is not great because of the stiff suspension, but that means reasonably good handling from a car that's designed for economy.

Economy

I am getting 75mpg (imperial) at the moment, but am still learning to get even more.

Comfort

The cabin is minimalistic, but adequate, I would say similar to a corolla, but with lower seats. Overall, comfort is not bad for such a small car.

Costs

The initial outlay is higher than any other small cars, but becuase of the extraordinary economy and the fact that I drive into central london regularly, the insight is an unbeatable little car for me.

The car also has a 8 years warranty on the IMA (electric) part too. The only downside is that I will stick to the main dealer for servicing because it is such a rare and specilist car. $$$$

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

2000 Honda Insight from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

The Insight is a great eco-friendly car

Faults:

I have had no problems with this auto. It is trouble free.

General Comments:

As the price of gas goes up, my mileage gets better because it takes a little bit of effort to reliable get over 60 mpg. when the gas got to over $2.50 (SF Bay area) my mileage improved to 68 mpg for the last tank. My driving is 75-25 city-highway. A little care to not press hard on the gas pedal has beneficial effects on efficiency. The instantaneous fuel efficiency gage along with the easy to reset trip meter makes it easy to keep track of my current driving habits and how well I'm doing for milage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

30th Apr 2006, 17:02

Honda Insights save the environment. I'd like to have one, but they're a bit too expensive.

1st May 2006, 09:09

Actually, they are quite cheap as used cars.

The model is a failure since people want four seats like the Prius.

I have seen $20K+ plus Insights for sale for $15K a year later.

Nothing wrong with the car, just marketplace whims.

2000 Honda Insight 995cc petrol Electric Hybrid from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 995cc petrol Electric Hybrid Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carSeat Arosa

Summary:

Exciting, economical coupé that looks like something from a Gerry Anderson series

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very economical: I calculate that savings in road tax and fuel add up to £500 a year. I've got 84.9mpg overall since I bought it.

It's fun to drive if I choose to drive it like the coupé it is, and the instantaneous readout of fuel consumption, second by second, gives me the information I need if I choose to drive for economy.

The cargo deck is huge, and has four lashing points to secure things with.

Rear three-quarter (five o'clock) visibility is a little limited, and I have to position the car carefully and make good use of the mirrors at acutely-angled junctions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews