1998 Honda Integra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1998 Honda Integra Type R 1.8 vtec from Belgium

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 vtec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance103000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

As in my best dreams

Faults:

My clutch-plate broke at 90,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This car handles like nothing else I've ever driven.

Especially in dry weather it jumps forward and revs into 9000 rpm.

The cabin is very racy and has everything you expect from a sports-car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

1998 Honda Integra Type-R 1.8 VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28500 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

My word

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car has a problem. One, BIG mother of a problem.

OK there are lots of little problems; it's a tyre muncher with an enormous appetite, it spawns a meticulous desire to keep the interior spotless that I have never experienced before; I worry about it incessantly wherever it is parked; it's a complete nightmare to keep clean; it is bloody loud; see previous point, but replace "loud" with "uncomfortable", see previous point, but emphasise tenfold if you're a passenger.

But in all honesty, if you didn't expect the above paragraph to ring true when you first beheld the car's inimitable beauty, then you should be wearing a cone-shaped hat.

As if the exhilarating performance, lush stylings and head-turning appeal of this car would not only warn you of these tiny niggles, but compensate entirely for them before force feeding you more delight. As if the fact that complete strangers stop me and tell me in the street that I have a beautiful, car and politely enquire from where I bought it doesn't offset the backaches and "Bridgestone customer of the month" gripes.

As if the fact that my nephew dreams of the day he's old enough to drive it, and dismisses my Dad's three-times more expensive 7 series BMW as "boring" doesn't say it all. As if anything can match the joy of seeing my mates pull faces that suggest their sphinctral muscles have ceased to function as I engage the VTEC. And as if I give a monkey's muscle that my girlfriend hates it.

Oh yeah, I forgot. The big problem? I've got to replace it one day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2003

7th May 2003, 15:04

Gee do you like the car?

24th Aug 2003, 11:43

Hmm. the ITR isn't even slightly beautiful IMO. In 3 years of ownership I had only one young lad stop me and ask about the car.

Also even in manic driving I got 8-10k miles out of front tyres.

I agree with all that 'uncomfortable' stuff though.

Glad I owned it, but not sorry to have replaced it. I'm glad you so obviously enjoy yours though!

22nd Dec 2003, 00:48

It all depends on what you drove previously. I drive an ITR and from some angles it looks like a Civic. I don't think it's a head-turner in the way that, for example, a 2002-spec Celica might be. The joy of this car is in the relative subtlety - to the knowing few, it is an icon!

22nd Nov 2005, 07:37

These car looks wicked in white with black. the daddy of fwd for handling.

18th Dec 2006, 06:10

Hahahahhaah well worded! fair compliments to your car mate. I'm getting one soon so I hope I like it as much as u!

1998 Honda Integra Type R 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired83 miles
Most recent distance85 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Certainly one of the best all round cars ever made!! Well done Honda

Faults:

None

General Comments:

The performance is unbelievable especially from a 1.8. Revs to 9000RPM! Very fast, exhilarating acceleration.

Car just grips (depends on tires though) and gives the confidence to push harder. Handling is second to none for a front wheel drive car.

Some say too loud and no sound proofing - I don't agree. Sound from the engine is brilliant, don't need any ICE.

Seats are wonderful. Easy to get dirty, but they strap you in. Also they look wonderful.

Bumpy on rough surfaces and gears hard to engage first thing on a cold morning. Hard to park at times as the car is long and rear spoiler restricts view...can't see police cars.

Overall, not a perfect car, but possibly the best car you can get for the money. Cheap to run, looks good and will out race many cars. Extremely fun to drive, definately one for enthusiasts. Probably the best overall package in terms of cost (to run and buy), performance, fun factor, usability (passenger space, boot, town driving) and uniqueness - you will not clash cars with others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

1998 Honda Integra Type R 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

If you're on the look out for a bullet proof, normally aspirated sports car, you cannot go wrong.

Faults:

Passenger door central docking stopped working.

Driver's seat belt catch has recently become jammed, you can still "clunk click" but until the next service its a rather awkward two handed excercise.

Brake pads needed replacing after 7000 miles, and the disks had to be skimmed.

General Comments:

Mechanically the Integra has been as smooth and unflappable as Sean Connery on a stag weekend... only quicker!!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

1998 Honda Integra Type-R 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza WRX

Summary:

Best kept secret on the street

Faults:

Annoying clutch.

Seats a pain to keep clean.

Tyres self destruct at 5000 miles.

General Comments:

Fun, fun, fun. Quicker than anything in the dry. Scalped far more exotic stuff. Could be any Honda under 6000 rpm. Harsh suspension until you hit 80+. Keep it on the limiter and fit a Mugen exhaust or for lunacy supercharge to get 240BHP. Noise above 7000 rpm should be sold at nightclubs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

12th Apr 2001, 09:33

I know this will sound like heresy, but what's the space like in the back and in the boot?

P.S. If your tyres wear out quickly, try Goodyear Eagle F1s. They have superb grip in the dry and wet, and last about twice as long as most other performance tyres e.g. S02s, Toyo Proxes.

1998 Honda Integra Type-R 1.8 VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 VTEC petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Clutch pedal squeak from worn bush.

Front tyre wear after 8-10k miles, rear 20k+.

General Comments:

Outstanding grip, ordinary performance up to 5800 rpm. Hard ride and noisy if not used to it, but you don't notice after owning for 5 minutes.

Recommended if you don't have a big family!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2000

1998 Honda Integra Type-R 1.8 VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 VTEC petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet - but it's only done 2,000 miles!

General Comments:

Great fun. Handles like a racing car which is too scary for me to push anywhere near the limit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews