1998 Honda Odyssey Reviews

1998 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I'd think long and hard before buying again

Faults:

The side doors stick constantly, resulting in 2 broken handles, not under warranty. Drivers door handle broke.

Clock light burnt out.

Transmission completely failed at 107,000. While driving 40 mph, no accident occured. After many phone calls to Honda of America they agreed to pay for parts, I paid for labor, $800. I now have a 35,000 mile warranty on replacement transmission. I have been assured that the replacement is free of defects. This was prior to Honda notifying owners of the 100,000 mile warranty extension. This happened to me in September 2003.

The check engine light comes on frequently. I now have codes that reflect catalytic converter problems. I called Honda dealership and was told that it's an 80,000 mile warranty.

General Comments:

When I bought the vehicle new, just after a few weeks of driving, vehicle had difficulty starting. Trips to the dealership and was being told "you're using the wrong gas" Regular Unleaded. Then told wrong gas stations. Finally upon demand, and an independent car repair shop, vehicle diagnosed with faulty fuel pump. Replaced at no cost.

Had an outstanding vehicle for a couple of years until transmission problem last year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

13th Jun 2004, 14:00

If your mini-van hadn't been a Honda, I'd guess all of the cost of the transmission would have come from your own pocket.

13th Jan 2006, 09:46

100,000 miles on a tranny is pretty good! I see no reason for complaint.

10th Apr 2006, 22:56

100,000 miles on a transmission is sad. our Dodges have over 200,000 on the original tranny.

26th Dec 2006, 13:23

What sort of Dodge do you have??? My Grand Voyager was far and away the most miserable vehicle I ever owned, eating 7 transmissions in under 40,000 miles! Dodge dealer was a total yutz, telling me the vehicle wasn't throwing out any codes - Yeah right, there's nothing wrong, I'm just at the dealer every other month because I love them so much. Needless to say, I dumped that van and never looked back - to me, Chrysler products don't even appear on my automotive radar anymore. From what I hear, they still haven't got their act together, as the guy across the street from me needed a new tranny in his minivan at 15k miles!

1st Apr 2010, 17:23

We've had to replace the transmission on ours twice. The first time I had taken our car in for servicing, saying that something wasn't right with the engine, and that the check engine light had come on. They said they couldn't find anything wrong.

One week after the warranty expired, the check engine light came on again, and the car wasn't even drivable and had to be towed to the dealer. Now they were able to find the problem and said I need a new transmission. After many complaints on my end, they agreed to replace the transmission with Honda Canada paying 1 third, The dealer paying 1 third and I would have to pay the remaining third. My cost $2600!!!

I only realized two years later when the transmission failed again, that they had ripped me off, as my full cost the second time was only $2700.

1998 Honda Odyssey LX 2.3 Liter VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Quest

Faults:

Nothing except routine maintenance: brakes, timing belt, oil changes.

After 100,000 miles of Eastern Canadian driving with salt on roads, etc, the van still has its original exhaust system.

General Comments:

What can I say about a vehicle that has gone 100,000 miles without any problems whatsoever?

The comfort is excellent (great seats and visibility).

The handling is outstanding for a minivan; it's a pity that all vans are now large, gas-guzzling, 200+ hp V6s. This van drives like a car, is easy to park and is easy to live with.

Ours is a 7-seat version, very practical. We are hanging onto it because nobody today makes a decent replacement; my wife who drives this car hates the new larger vans, but loves her Odyssey.

To add to our feelings about this car we bought it at a $5000 discount because the new larger Odysseys were just coming out, at the model year changeover.

The engine power is perhaps a bit lacking under a full load but in most driving, is more than adequate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

1998 Honda Odyssey LX 2.3 vtec from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 vtec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A quality reliable vehicle with great resale value

Faults:

The transmission sent a check engine code at 12 months old and 10,000 miles.

The dealer had a service bulletin on it. They flushed the transmission which cleared up the problem. It has not come back since. If it does come back the transmission will be replaced for free.

The ignition switch was recalled due to some failures. I never had a problem, but I had it replaced. The salesman loaned me a car while it was being worked on.

General Comments:

The odyssey is a great van to haul the kids around town and take long trips also.

I get 23 miles per gallon around town and around 28 on the highway.

The 2.3 four cylinder has plenty of pep for me.

I like the fact that it has four regular doors like a station wagon and not sliding doors.

It handles great and is comfortable to ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews