2003 Honda Odyssey Reviews

2003 Honda Odyssey EX 3.6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired61800 miles
Most recent distance144700 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

I like Honda products, however not sure about transmission problems

Faults:

The "D" starting flashing when on highway. Had read many reviews on the transmission for 2002-2004 Honda Odyssey, and they were not good.

I want to advise people that the problem for my van was caused by a oil pressure switch circuit malfunction on 4th gear. Code#PO 1740.

There have been so many complaints, and I wonder if all of them were transmission related, or we were just told that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2010

5th Nov 2010, 02:05

The Honda Odyssey transmissions are very weak in design, even worse than the Dodge Caravan or the Ford Windstar transmission, which is pretty bad too. Be very careful with these vans, never overload them or tow something, then you are almost guaranteed to ruin your transmission. They are not cheap to replace either...

7th Nov 2010, 02:02

I had the same problem with my 2004 Odyssey. Took it to the dealership, and was also told it was the 4th gear. I have also had issues trying to get the van out of PARK to either reverse or drive. Most of the time, I either have to "rock" the van or have another vehicle push my car forward -- just enough for the transmission to unlock so I can move the car from PARK to another gear. VERY annoying and FRUSTRATING!!!

2003 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

If not for the pervasive transmission problems, the Odyssey is a nice vehicle

Faults:

One of the rear vent windows began working intermittently about 6 months ago.

Transmission went out at 134,000 miles. After doing some investigating, I've discovered that many Odysseys before 2007 had defective transmissions. Apparently the TCM (transmission control module) frequently goes bad, which in turn, causes the transmission to fail. Repairs for both are $4700.

General Comments:

We have been very please with the car until the transmission went out.

Our model is loaded with extras and is very comfortable.

Leather seats are comfortable and extremely adjustable.

Standard stereo system is above average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2010

16th Jul 2010, 16:34

Interesting comments. My Odyssey transmission broke, but much sooner. Bad.

My old car was a Nissan Quest like your Mercury Villager. I held on to it and have had no important problems with the Nissan. Honda should be ashamed. Breaks down more than the old Nissan.

2003 Honda Odyssey EX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

Don't know why the resale is so high

Faults:

All 4 stock Michelin tires went flat within 2 years of purchase. Replaced with BF Goodrich and never had the problem again.

Rear window motor broke twice.

Driver's auto window works only when it feels like it.

Battery goes dead often.

Feeling like transmission is going out, although the dealer wont admit to it.

Motor mounts are needing to be replaced, which I never have had to do on a car before.

General Comments:

Don't buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2009

2003 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I would buy another one

Faults:

I had to replace the right rear strut under warranty. I then replaced all 4 with Monroe brand and have solved them going out 1 at a time.

I also had brake issues with pad replacement at 30K miles. I replaced all 4 rotors and pads with slotted and crossdrilled rotors and high friction pads. My one complaint still is that you have to pump the pedal once to get a firm pedal feel. They otherwise feel like Chevy brakes used to feel. Pedal all the way to the floor to stop.

General Comments:

I believe that the transmission problems were solved with this series van. We have yet to experience any issues, knock on wood, seen in the 2000 model year units.

We went from a 1994 Dodge Caravan with multiple transmissions and torque converters to an Olds Silhouette van with a bad transmission, to the Odyssey. I have to say the Olds was more comfortable to drive and had better ergonomics. The Honda has more power and is put together better. We looked at all the other vans before choosing the Honda, and I still think we made the right choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2009

31st May 2009, 12:02

"I believe that the transmission problems were solved with this series van."

That should be right. Consumer Reports showed model years 1998 to 2003 having much worse than average "Transmission Major" reliability. Then going to Much better than average in model year 2004. I think your review for 2003 is for the "year of manufacture" which would likely be the 2004 model year.

Usually it is not worth mentioning the difference, but for this car, a year makes a big difference. Readers on this site should be aware that cars are listed by year of manufacture (I think) rather than by model year.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 16 reviews