2007 Honda Pilot Reviews

2007 Honda Pilot EXL from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Not bad for Highway driving and road trips... not in the rain however

Faults:

I leased a Pilot last year and within the 1st year realized just a few little things that bothered me. First thing was that the back window in the cargo area does not open. I have a dog and would like to cracked when needed. The front bucket seats make it difficult if you drop anything between them. My blackberry fits perfectly there and is almost impossible to retrieve. The car is very peppy and tends to want to slip when you accelerate on wet surfaces. Nothing crazy, but just to get on the freeway for example. Front wheel drive no doubt the culprit. Other than these little (picky things) it was a great car do drive down the freeway during the worst storm last year. It does not get blown around the freeway which I did like..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2007

3rd Jan 2008, 15:57

In regards to the rain, I think your issue is realted to the 2 wheel drive Pilot- the All Wheel Drive model should not slip in this manner.

7th Jan 2008, 13:20

Your problem with slipping is probably more related to the tires than the vehicle. We own a 2006 Pilot, and swapped out the Goodyear Integrity (energy) tires to a more aggressive model for snow and ice. Even with a 2wd, we don't slide.

2007 Honda Pilot e-LX 3.5 FI Gas from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 FI Gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles

Summary:

Very nice quality and good engine, but too many little faults to be a good SUV

Faults:

No problems at all mechanically.

General Comments:

This Honda Pilot has all the options including GPS navigation with integrated back up camera and voice command. The Pilot is high quality and drives fine. However, there are a number of design issues and faults that I was not aware of until some time spent behind the wheel. Some of the short comings are:

Radio controls are not in traditional locations...confusing.

Front seats are quite firm and too short for thighs.

When the gas tank is 1/2 to 3/4 full, the gas sloshes when starting and stopping... apparently no baffling.

Way too much interior road noise even for an SUV.

Fuel economy is okay, but no where near the advertised 22 mpg highway. Fuel gauge is inaccurate... goes down quickly from full to half, then slows.

I paid almost $1000 extra for receiver hitch option installed by dealer. Includes hitch, transmission cooler, and power steering cooler. Miserable tow vehicle even towing 1,500 lbs. Fuel economy drops to 12 mpg and engine is at 4,000 RPM most of the time in 3rd gear... even on flat roads. Now I understand why the power steering cooler! Continuous high RPM would overheat the power steering pump.

Rear lift door does not extend high enough even for normal height male... I have the bumps to prove it! Shutting the lift door is a challenge... too much spring.

The 2007 Pilot is a nice car and the engine is smooth, quiet and powerful, but I would rather have a Chevy Tahoe or Trail Blazer. Honda hasn't figured out how to build an SUV yet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2007

5th Dec 2007, 08:59

I would not even put the Trail Blazer under any consideration in any circumstance. It is rated as one of the most poorly built and designed vehicles.

10th Dec 2007, 19:45

I wrote a review on a 2007 Honda Pilot and while it's a good contender in the class, it has just as dated styling as the Trailblazer, it's mildly underpowered and nowhere near perfect. The Trailblazer isn't awesome either, but is definitely worth considering next to the Pilot. You sound like one of those 'import only' types who will overlook any vehicle just because it's American.

11th Dec 2007, 14:24

Nope. I just read the list of 20 worst vehicles by Forbes. Trailblazer made the list for poor quality. At least the Pilot is well built. I would personally buy one of the new GM Suv's. A new Pilot should be coming out sometime in 2008 as a 2009 model.

11th Jul 2008, 23:21

Actually, I would be surprised if any import could compete with an American vehicle, they are still and always will be far superior then the imports. Much experience has brought me to the conclusion that many people will write off an American vehicle only because of what they hear, and not from what they know.

12th Jul 2008, 12:49

Well you know, it depends on what the intended use is. I know a couple of people who love their Honda Pilots. In both cases, the wives drive them to work in city or suburban conditions, so they are fine for driving in inclement weather, maybe a couple of inches of snow, having a little more room than a sedan for groceries and "stuff." They use them as light duty station wagons, which is exactly what they are. If that's all you need, great.

However, if you are thinking of towing something, driving on National Forest service roads to go camping, or going anywhere that you might encounter mud or soft ground, you'll find quickly that you're only fooling yourself to think of a Pilot as a real SUV or 4x4.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews